Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

7

No, trading with the bank even with your ports (2:1, 3:1) is not allowed. If that rule did not exist, it would be very unlikely to have more than 7 cards in your hand. Taken from the rules (http://www.catan.com/files/downloads/settlers_5-6_rv_rules_100107.pdf): • Special Building Phase – Your opponents may build as outlined below. The Special Building ...


5

No, you can only trade with the bank in your own trading phase. The special building phase is just for building!


5

yes. Taken from the 5-6 players rules pdf: http://www.catan.com/files/downloads/settlers_5-6_rv_rules_100107.pdf emphasis mine: • Special Building Phase – Your opponents may build as outlined below. The Special Building Phase occurs just after the end of your turn (i.e., between player turns). All the other players may participate in the Special ...


4

Yes, it's correct, in that to use everything in the box, you absolutely need the base set and On the Brink. There are things in there that directly add on to things from On the Brink, and would be useless without it. But you can still use most of it without On the Brink. You can add in the roles and events, and you can play the lab, solo, and team variants. ...


4

Boardgame Geek's Carcassonne family page; which collects information on all of the Carcassonne games. You can also search for "Carcassonne" and get a list of all the games and subscribe to the individual games of interest. Just sign up, click "Subscribe" and you will stay up to date on all Carcassonne news.


4

As it says in the rules for Shattered Empire, if you're using the Age of Empire variant, you have to use the Imperial II strategy card rather than Bureaucracy.


3

I have the Forsaken Lore expansion and haven't yet seen that it increases playtime, but it may increase difficulty (much in the same way that playing against Cthulhu in the base game is a little more challenging than say, any of the other Ancients). I have played the Forsaken Lore expansion now a couple of times and it's just as lengthy as the base game.


2

No, you may not trade 4:1 with the bank during the special building phase. As per the 5-6 player rule book: Also note that players are not allowed to do any trading with other players—nor are they allowed to use Maritime Trade—during this phase The 4:1 trade is defined under Maritime Trade in the base game rulebook: b) Maritime Trade You can ...


2

I found almost all the answers on boardgamegeek.com. That page is very handy for this purpose. The Werewolves of Millers Hollow The Werewolves of Millers Hollow - Original Game The Village - Expansion which also contains Original Game. New Moon - Requires Original Game (or The Village) Characters - Requires Original Game (or The Village) Special edition - ...


2

In terms of complexity, it doesn't add much. It all depends on your GOO (Great Old One), in fact, to determine what rules you're playing with in the end. And the additional rules don't make the game harder or more complex. They actually give the players other avenues to solving mysteries. Plus, setting up or tearing down the expansions doesn't add that ...


2

In the rules for Bridges, Castles and Bazaars you can find the following text: Once all tiles have been claimed, the players will each place their tile (and a follower, if they wish) in clockwise order from the player to the left of the active player. No follower may be placed on the bazaar itself. Later on it's said that there can be no chain ...


1

I have played all combinations of sets up through and including Realms Unraveled. Here are my thoughts: Immortal Heroes will mix in fine with RoTF and CoTG. Immortal Heroes played all on it's own would grow stale quickly Immortal Heroes and Storm of Souls together is an fun block in and of itself - maybe more fun than CoTG and RoTF. If you have an ...


1

When using castles, if a 'clam city' is completed you then make the decision to either score it as a city or turn it into a castle. If it becomes a castle, then no scoring relating to cities applies to it (and scoring for the castle does not occur until and unless a neighboring feature is completed). Since the scoring of siege tiles only applies to cities, ...


1

I'm a member of Carcassonne Central. We have about a dozen forums for discussing various aspects of Carcassonne including breaking news, new expansions, general gameplay tips, tournaments and various other projects etc. It's well worth a look if you want to meet with other Carcassonne enthusiasts/ addicts around the world, and it's very friendly too!



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible