Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

19

After reading the rules carefully, I found that this is mentioned in the Creeper section: Note that this is true any time you draw a card; for example, with 'Everybody Gets 1' you must keep all Creepers you get while drawing the cards you'll be giving to other players. If you drew Creepers during Everybody Gets 1, you would keep the Creepers you got, ...


17

Do you play it and win instantly or do you wait your turn? The cards have to be on the table, so in this case, sounds like you need to wait until your turn - you can't play the necessary Keeper when it's not your turn. Once you play it (on your turn), you win instantly. In a different situation, though, you could win instantly, for example if the Goal ...


13

I had to pull out my deck to check this one, but I believe you win in this case! The reason is the wording at the top of every action card (emphasis mine): "To play this card, do whatever it says, then place it on the discard pile." So, technically, action cards are still in your hand until you've performed the action they tell you to do. So when you ...


13

The Fluxx Wiki has lists of the composition of the various decks linked off this page. Here's my attempts at answering your specific questions: Cards in v2 not in v3: Doughnuts The Eye The Pyramid Taxes Coffee & Doughnuts Death & Taxes The Great Seal The Mind's Eye Money (No Taxes) Pilfer the Trash Trash Hand Limit Trash Keeper Limit Brain Bonus ...


13

Option A, the player should draw an extra card. Here's why: The Poor Bonus happens at the start of a player's turn. Since the player already drew for Poor Bonus, and removed the Poor Bonus after the draw, that card is fully resolved. But the Draw X cards always say to draw extra cards during a turn, so the player would need to draw one more card to meet that ...


11

You won. From the Fluxx rules: Winning the Game The game continues until one player meets the conditions of the current Goal. That player wins immediately, regardless of whose turn it is. The word 'immediately' doesn't match with what your opponent was trying to tell you.


11

Does Player A win or does the game continue? In case of a tie, continue playing until a clear winner emerges. There's clearly a tie in the number of Keepers, so you must continue playing. Player A is not the player with the most Keepers. He's merely a player with the most Keepers. It is explicitly stated that the game does not end in the event of ...


10

Yes. This is answered in the online Fluxx FAQ: Q: Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play I change the rules to Play 3. Do I play one more card or am I done because I played 2? A: All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play 1 more card because the rules at that point had become Play 3.


10

The Finger of God is a Keeper which, if in play in front of you, allows you to "smite (i.e. discard)" any Creeper, at the cost of returning Finger of God to your hand. The question here is what "smite (i.e. discard)" can possibly mean. If you're technically-minded, "discarding" in Fluxx would seem to refer to the act of discarding a card from your hand. ...


10

Ecofluxx has a much bigger emphasis on "X eats Y" goals; where if you have X and anyone has Y, you win. It theoretically makes it a little easier to win the game. It also has a card named Extinction (I think?), to permanently remove any one keeper from the game. Monty Python Fluxx has a lot of cards that say "Do this on your turn to earn extra rewards", ...


8

In my group, Fluxx tends to end by accident, regardless of number of players. Actively trying to win pretty much ensures that you won't. Having lots of players (I think my largest was 10) doesn't seem to change that. I've had large games end in 5 minutes and I've played in games where we got bored and quit. I see what you mean by your question though. ...


7

One thing that may be worth clarifying (for new players) is that, if you've played one card already this turn and your second play is "Play 4", you don't play four more cards; you play two more cards. Likewise, if you start your turn with "Play 4" in effect and your third play is "Play 2", you don't play any more cards; you have already played more than ...


7

This is the answer from Loney Labs (Alison Looney) We would rule that you can use the power of a Keeper as soon as you play it. There's no way it would depend upon keeper or hand limits, or play rules. Your turn is not over until you have taken all optional extra actions, including those based on special Keeper powers and extra actions on ...


7

There's a modicum of skill involved. You can do some things to increase the odds that random draws will go your way. Any or all of these could be used to augment Basic Player's behavior. Recognize that some keepers appear more often in goals. Prioritize The Brain and generally anything to do with food. Playing keepers toward the current goal is usually ...


7

The most logical way of doing it would be to end the turn with 3 cards in hand. This is because "Get on with it" always requires you to have at least one more play, and it still causes your turn to end. There is no reason for a Play All to effect the card any differently than any other Play X rule.


7

What will happen is Player A will pass his hand to Player B (should be 2 cards since Player A would have had 0 cards to start the turn, drew 3 and played 1) and since no other player can have cards due to the hand limit Player A gets no cards in return. Once the cards reach Player B's hand the hand limit will kick into action and force him to discard both ...


6

You certainly can just shuffle the decks together, try to play a game with them, and see what happens. The core rules of Fluxx are always pretty much the same, after all. However, everything I've heard from people who've tried something like this suggests that, for maximum enjoyment, you'll probably want to start removing cards that don't work well in the ...


6

Normally, if a player has a creeper in play that player cannot win even if they meet the requirements for winning. If the requirements for winning also require 1 or more creepers (such as in the War=Death goal) the player can win if they have those creepers, and must have those creepers in order to win, however if the player also has any other creepers ...


6

I would say option A. The card drawn from poor bonus is described as an "extra card", so I don't think you would think of it as "poor bonus is in play, so for me, draw 4 is really draw 5." Rather, it's "draw 4, then draw an extra card". However, I do not believe this is something that is specifically addressed in the rules, so you would either need to ...


5

No. The Goal will specify which Creepers are allowed for that Goal to succeed. Any surplus Creepers do not have their "unless a card says otherwise" triggered, so you cannot win.


5

You always draw cards before playing cards. EDIT: The general turn outline is: Draw cards (in following the current draw rule) Play cards (in following the current play rule) Discard cards (to follow the 'card limit' rule, if applicable)


4

Yes, putting a keeper on the table in front of you counts as a play, but having a keeper on the table that you previously played is not a play. (I'm not sure I understand your first paragraph, so I'm trying to answer what I think you're asking) If the current rule is "play 4" you do have to play cards from your hand (including rules, actions, and keepers) ...


4

May is optional. While I could find no direct rules citation there is this question from the Rabbit Wiki: Q: When a card states that you "may" play 1 extra card (e.g., Rich Bonus or Party Bonus), and inflation is in play, it is treated as you may play 2 extra cards. Does this mean that you have to choose between playing 0 and playing 2, or can you also ...


4

Yes you can. The action clarifier makes sure the card is not overpowered--there have to be reprecussions. For the card "Excalibur," the reprecussion is that you can only play it on your turn. For "Finger of God," the reprecussion is that it goes back into your hand. Since you have to wait until your next turn to play it again, it is what keeps it in check.


4

It can count as the Finger of God for the purposes of Goals AND for having the ability. That means: I actually thought the answer was no, but in hunting for a source, I was corrected! So, yes, the card does have the Finger of God's ability as well. (The official FAQ seems to be down, but it was mentioned in this post on BGG.) This seems contrary to the ...


4

From a discussion on BGG http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/917715/multiple-creeper-question Q:Can a single keeper have more then one creeper attached? Evil/Malfunction, two Brain Parasites, etc. A:Yes, as long as both Creepers are allowed to attach to the card, there can be two Creepers attached to the same card. Q:Also, do you choose which ...


4

Your sister is correct. The Fluxx rules do say that "as soon as someone meets these conditions, they win!" I don't think this should be an issue, it requires her to find the "play all" (or play 3, etc.) card and there are plenty of ways you can disrupt her strategy: Change the rules so that there is a hand limit Change the rules to increase the play limit ...


3

New Rules take effect immediately. Your turn is over after you have completed all the required rules and you have chosen not to perform any optional actions. The Online FAQ and the rules both tell you that new rules take effect immediately (I didn't quote the rules pdf, but look under New Rule:, and also gives blue example boxes) Q: Suppose the rule is ...


3

I would say that the effects are an inherent part of playing the card and that there is no 'gap' between playing the card and the card taking effect. For the purposes of games like these, there are certain states that are used, such as 'in your hand' and 'in play'. There are no intermediate states such as 'in the process of being played', as that would ...


3

Can? Yes. Should? No. The only Fluxx sets with significant goal & keeper overlap are Fluxx and Family Fluxx; certain keepers are duplicated. Those two can be mixed, and mixing those two isn't a clear "Should not"... but the others, they definitely fall into "should not." Such mixing definitely lengthens the game, as needed keepers are harder to ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible