Hot answers tagged

6

In Gin, you don't get any hard information on what is in your opponent's hand until the hand is over. This means you have to make use of whatever information you can get. The primary source of information is the discards. To be successful you need to keep track of both What your opponent discarded What you discarded Pay attention to both suits and the ...


3

It is important to note that knocking and going gin are not mutually exclusive. From Pagat: Knocking with no unmatched cards at all is called going gin [...] And Wikipedia: Knocking with 0 points of deadwood is known as going Gin or having a Gin hand [...] If you announced a zero count, then you have gone gin. If you announced a non-zero count, ...


3

The sequence of play should be: You knock You announce your count (or gin) You can do this silently by laying down your cards organized with the extras clearly off to the side in an unmatched group. Your opponent lays out there hand, laying off on your cards if you didn't gin. The important questions are then - Did you announce a count? Did your ...


2

Your opponent Undercut you and scores 10 points plus the difference between your score and theirs (+2 in your case). Actually, unless you knockout on gin (zero points), if your opponent ties your score you are undercut. From pagat.com: If the knocker did not go gin, and the counts are equal, or the knocker's count is greater than that of the opponent, ...


2

Here's one answer from http://ginrummytournaments.com/pdfs/Rules_2012.pdf. Tl;dr if you could have knocked then you can accept his knock and undercut; otherwise game continues, he plays an open hand, and he must knock at first opportunity. IMPROPER KNOCK: If a player makes an IMPROPER KNOCK, with his count being higher than the knock card, his hand ...


1

The announced play is illegal, and a legal play should be made instead. Here is what the rules from Pagat.com have to say about Knocking: ... This is done by discarding one card face down on the discard pile and exposing your whole hand, arranging it as far as possible into sets (groups of equal cards) and runs (sequences). ... According to that rule, ...


1

Your opponent gets 25 points plus 0 points. You do not get a chance to undercut. According to Pagat: A player who goes gin can never be undercut. You do not get a gin bonus because you did not declare gin. You don't have a chance to declare gin because play ended. Play ended because your opponent knocked. Again from Pagat, emphasis mine: You can ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible