Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

22

The Master Spy is quite hard to kill! Boardgamegeek posed this question a while ago and got this response from Wizards of the Coast. there is no way to play a card to get the master spy to the front of the line without him just going back after the cards effects. For further reference, a secondhand account but the ruling was during a WoTC run game. ...


12

Yes, you end the day if you collect Robespierre via the Rival Executioner. The game only has one verb for the process of operating the guillotine: "collect." When a noble is collected, you do all of the side-effects of that noble. Guillotine is a mix of tactics and luck, so drawing Robespierre due to the Rival Executioner is well in line with the way the ...


12

The consensus on this "Official Guillotine FAQ" thread is that yes, you can play After You... with Callous Guards in play. After you does not change the order of the line, nor does it "add" or "discard". Ergo, you're fine to play it. It's a consensus that no one has stepped forward to challenge for a couple of years, at the very least!


9

Pat's response is spot on, I think (and bonus points for the official response). However, you can still influence whether you get to kill the spy. The most obvious way would be to use a "Double Header" to kill two nobles if there are only two left in the queue. Also, if there are as many cards left as there are players, then you could try playing a card that ...


8

Each turn you may play an action, and then must collect a nobel. Unless the action caused the Day to end then you must collect a nobel of your own after playing the card. (Guillotine was designed and published by Wizards of the Coast and it comes as no surprise to me that the mechanic is so reliant on wording. It certainly makes settling arguments ...


8

I concur with Pat's answer - I have my copy of the rules in front of me, so can quote chapter and verse! Play continues in this manner until there are no nobles left in line at the start of someone's turn. That day is then over and a new day begins. ... The player to the left of the person who started the previous day is the first player for the ...


7

Page 9 of the official rules states that players are allowed to check your nobles to see how many points have been scored.


5

I actually found a funny way in which he can die early. The card that reads "choose a player, the nobles will be randomly rearranged just before that player takes his next noble"(roughly). My opponent, sneakily chose herself. the spy moved to the back of the line. then... the cards got randomly re-arranged and she got lucky. I see that the wizards may ...


4

In my personal opinion, "face up" is intended to mean "all information is visible to all players". Otherwise, you could also place them face up on the table but under a nontransparent cloth, which would give even less information than placing them face down.


4

No, My recollection is that when the day ends, the current players turn is over. The next player is the player to the left of the person who started the last day. That player will fill the line with nobles and take their full turn. Unfortunately I cannot locate my copy right now and the rules don't appear to be online, so I can't give you a direct rules ...


4

As the card doesn't tell you to do anything special with the other 2 cards they should remain on top of the deck in their original order. This is supported by an answer to a similar question here.


3

Yes, you have to follow the rules and end the day. This is a very simple, but extremely fun game due to it's luck and unpredictability, if you take that away, you are taking the soul of the game away. There's always another round to play and many more chances to play again.


3

The day doesn't end when the line becomes empty. It ends at the beginning of someone's turn if the line is empty. After your friend plays Escape!, the line is randomized and two nobles discarded, resulting in an empty line. Your friend tries and fails to collect the first noble in line (there no longer is one). Then the day ends, a new day begins, and ...


2

I have always been of the opinion that it is impossible to kill him until he's the "last one left standing" because he ALWAYS moves AFTER the action takes its effect. We played tonight and a friend played the card that shuffles the line just before his wife would collect her noble. Naturally, she played an action card that had no effect on the line due to ...


2

Yes, as others have said. The trigger word is "collect" which applies regardless of where you collect the noble from. It's also worth mentioning that there are other cards that also have effects regardless of where you collect them from, such as the Fast Noble, who allows you to collect an extra noble from the line.


2

I believe you are in the wrong. The "adding or discarding nobles" is included in the definition of altering the line, but this is not presented as a definition. "After you..." is an action card, and it has an effect on the line, changing it. Thus it qualifies as an "action card that alters the line," and cannot be played due to "Callous Guards". "Callous ...


1

Part 1 Yes, you do get an extra noble from the deck when taking someone else's Rival Executioner with Clerical Error. If that collected noble has a "when you collect" ability, it will trigger as well. Rationale: Based on the ruling regarding Robespierre, we can conclude that nobles with a "when you collect" ability trigger when that noble is collected, no ...


1

To answer your first question, the answer is yes. All nobles that have effects that trigger on collection would have their effects happen again. For your second question I believe that there is typically a 'to the best of your(the cards) ability' with most games. So with Master Spy, he can't move to the end of the line because he is not in the line ... also ...


1

My conclusion is that Confusion in Line can move the Master Spy to a different position in line without him moving back. This conclusion is based on the principal that consistency of rules trumps authorial intent. The explanation follows. As noted in this question, there is an official answer from Wizards of the Coast here: An Action Card is played ...


1

Your friend doesn't collect a Noble, because that is the second step after playing an action card and Escape caused those nobles to be discarded. (Note: Your friend should draw an action card, since the next day doesn't begin until the start of the next players turn.) The order of play is: Play an action card (optional) Collect the first noble in line ...


1

There is only one way it makes sense and its that he moves to the end of the line so you can't collect him. Otherwise there is no point in them even changing his specific rule. The card is resolved, then he moves to the end of the line making him impossible to catch without waiting it out or not playing action cards.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible