Hot answers tagged hand-and-foot
If you have four cards to meld in your hand, and if you don't play them, then how is your partner going to add the three cards he potentially has in his hand?
Problem #1 - No clear answer There are a wide variety of variations on Hand and Foot. The versions I've played with people who "know the game" have always allowed a clean and a dirty of the same rank, and never allowed wild canastas. (The two variations I've learned both use the term Canasta for a completed meld; some versions of the written rules use the ...
Hand and foot, being subject mostly to oral transmission in a predominantly written culture, has suffered memory errors galore. Since it's origin is clouded by oral transmission, an "official" set of rules is a practical impossibility. The basic idea is that it's "Tripled deck Canasta", and that you have the hand and the foot, you play from the hand until ...
Try http://www.hand8foot.com/rulesandscoring/ , might be helpful for you
I've played a variant where you are allowed to go out if in your foot by laying down 4 or more black 3's without a discard. This counts as 400 extra points. You wouldn't be able to use them while in your hand, so you'd still have to discard them to get to your foot first. In our games, typically the first person to reach the foot wants to pick up the pile ...
Assuming you're playing with the Red (100) Black (5) variation (there are not official rules for hand and foot), then the purpose of the 3's is to add a bit of randomness to the game to offset player ability. If your goal is to remove this randomness, then you can simply treat all 3's as normal cards and the game will 'work' just fine. I have played that ...
Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible