Hot answers tagged hive
From Wikipedia on Openings, Bee - Spider - Spider (in a V formation with the bee at the point): This is an aggressive quick-strike opening that allows the player the fastest possible opportunity to move (on the third turn if necessary); the Spiders can thus quickly block the opponent's opening pieces. In addition, if the opponent answers with the same or ...
The rules say you can't move any pieces until you've played the queen. I don't know, it may still be possible to have no legal moves, but the scenario you gave isn't legal.
It varies by edition. There are at least 4 versions of the game. Version 1 was stickered wooden pieces; I do not know the size, but I suspect them to be rather close to the Bakelite. At least two different sticker sets were used by Gen42 games. Version 2 was bakelite pieces, hexagons 37mm face to face, and 12mm thick. Version 3, "Hive Pocket" is also ...
No, the one hive rule is continuous, even during a move. At least in the version of the rules that I have, the second example under the One Hive rule states Moving the black Queen Bee to a position where it re-links the Hive is also an illegal move as the Hive is left unlinked while the piece is in transit. This would apply to your beetle move as ...
I am pretty sure that all piece movements are considered to be of a sliding nature around the outside of the hive as the baseline movement. The clarification on Spider isn't specific to Spider, that is just where they mention it. A basic move (as the Bee or Beetle not going up or down does) is defined as moving around the outside of the hive, making that ...
You can't. It has to be placed like all other pieces: NB When it is first placed, the Beetle is placed in the same way as all the other pieces. It cannot be placed directly on top of the hive, even though it can move there later. From the bottom of page 5.
If a beetle is not climbing up onto or down off of a piece, it moves exactly like a Queen Bee. A beetle cannot move into a space it cannot physically slide into. reference: http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Hive_FAQ#toc10
I've realized that my question was posted out of a misinterpretation of the rules that made me think that BLACK is one hive and WHITE is another, and that all white pieces had to be connected while all black pieces had to be connected. I realize now that the one hive rule pertains to all pieces regardless of color needing to be connected in one big happy ...
No, just the total number of placements is far too huge to "solve", and that doesn't even start to take into account movements occurring between placements.
Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible