Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

12

The rules are not definitively on your side but you definitely should have appealed the ruling. According to the MTG Infraction Procedure Guide section 2.3, the default penalty for drawing an extra card is a game loss. However, it also says: If the player received confirmation from his or her opponent before drawing the card (including confirming the ...


10

Short answer: your creatures lose flying. Since both Oblivion Rings are destroyed at the same time, their triggered abilities "When Oblivion Ring leaves the battlefield, return the exiled card to the battlefield under its owner's control." are put on the stack. They are put on the stack in APNAP order: 603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since ...


10

Yes, you can redirect Guttersnipe's damage to a planeswalker, due to the rule you cited. (That's an actual rule, not a ruling or someone's interpretation.) Guttersnipe is dealing noncombat damage to a player, you are that player's opponent, you control the Guttersnipe, and you may therefore redirect the damage. But saying "planeswalkers are classed as ...


10

It won't work. Dark Depths' "Dark Depths enters the battlefield with ten ice counters on it." ability is not a triggered ability; you can tell because it doesn't use the words "when," "whenever," or "at," which are part of the definition of "triggered ability" in the Comprehensive Rules: 112.3c Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. ...


10

When you have basic questions like this about how cards work, the basic rules are a good place to start. Here's the section about planeswalkers, which directly answers your main questions. Planeswalker Planeswalkers are powerful allies you can call on to fight by your side. You can cast a planeswalker only at the time you could cast a sorcery. ...


10

No, Lava Burst cannot damage a creature with shroud or an opponent's creature with hexproof. An opponent's creature with hexproof or shroud can't be the target of anything you control, period. The "cannot be prevented" text only means that prevention effects do not prevent or change that damage. The relevant rules here are: 615.1. Some continuous ...


9

Since this is a basic rules question, a quote from the basic rules: In your combat phase, you choose which of your creatures will attack, and you choose who or what they will attack. Each one can attack your opponent or one of your opponent’s planeswalkers, but not any of his or her creatures. You say it'd be easier to just attack creatures. Sure - ...


9

You can only activate Crypt Rats on the battlefield. You can activate Rot Farm Skeleton from your graveyard because its ability specifies "from your graveyard." As a rule of thumb, you can only activate an ability from the battlefield unless its text would only make sense in another zone. From the comp rules: 112.6. Abilities of an instant or sorcery ...


8

Yes, the token comes into play under the control of the player who played Gild. This is specified by rule 110.2a: If an effect instructs a player to put an object onto the battlefield, that object enters the battlefield under that player's control unless the effect states otherwise. Gild's effect instructs you (the player who controls the spell) to put ...


7

You must choose two targets, and the targets can be creatures and/or players. You can target two different creatures, You can target two different players[1], or You can target a creature and a player. This is confirmed by a ruling for Pinnacle of Rage: "You must choose two legal targets to cast Pinnacle of Rage." 114.3. The same target can’t be ...


7

Start by accepting that your deck won't be as straight-up competitive as it could be without Mox Opal — it's a staple, and cutting staples, especially for budget reasons, inevitably involves giving away some percentage points here or there. Maybe you can gain some improvements in unusual matchups, though. What does Mox Opal do for you? Consider what ...


6

Attacking with Master of Cruelties and other creatures is an illegal action, so they should just undo it and declare attackers again. Specifically, from rule 508.1c: The active player checks each creature he or she controls to see whether it's affected by any restrictions (effects that say a creature can't attack, or that it can't attack unless some ...


6

Given the situation you described (2 Slaughter Pacts and 15 lands in hand, and a Lightning Storm on the stack), you can definitely win. I assume that you started by targeting your opponent with Lightning Storm. Then you still have priority, so you cast Slaughter Pact targeting the Spellskite. You also discard 7 lands to Lightning Storm's ability (failing to ...


6

"Sacrifice" and "Destroy" are 2 separate things, though they both result in sending a permanent to the graveyard. You can only ever sacrifice a permanent that you control: 701.14. Sacrifice 701.14a To sacrifice a permanent, its controller moves it from the battlefield directly to its owner’s graveyard. A player can’t sacrifice something that ...


6

When a permanent that's a copy of something else leaves the battlefield, it immediately reverts to its original form as printed on the card. Anything that happened to it while it was on the battlefield has no influence whatsoever on it once it is in the graveyard or anywhere else (unless its effect says so). Artisan of Forms stops being a copy as soon as it ...


6

Yes, you can make these work well together. The ruling on Wild Beastmaster actually answers your question: The value of X is determined when the triggered ability resolves. ... So you can have this sequence of events: Declare attackers including Wild Beastmaster (and maybe other creatures). Wild Beastmaster's ability triggers and goes on the stack. ...


5

The format you're playing is very important to answer this question. Playing Standard, for example, limits your options to the most recent few sets, while on the opposite end of the spectrum, playing Vintage or Commander opens up nearly every card ever printed. Against removal, you can go for creatures with hexproof/shroud (Thrun, the Last Troll/Scythe ...


5

How long you wait doesn't matter[1]. I decided after a minute or so to play as creature so i had one to block. I then said shortly after probably 3-5 seconds i will attack with my inspired creature. Let's assume you retained priority after casting your creature[2]. At this point, you're still in your main phase -- the stack isn't even empty -- but ...


5

My opponent tried to back out of his play by declaring that he had not yet paid the costs for Devour Flesh. The rules don't allow him to back out in the scenario you described. The following are the steps to casting a spell: (601.2a) Place the card on the stack. (601.2b-d) Make some choices including targets. (601.2e) Determine the total cost to ...


4

Your Vastwood Hydra comes first if your opponent waits for the ability to resolve. You distribute the counters upon resolution of the ability. This means that your opponent must choose to Shock your followers, before the Hydra ability resolves. The Hydra's ability doesn't use the word "Target", so you need not declare which creatures get the counters until ...


4

Devotion came out in the Theros block so any card with "Devotion to" will be in standard until about fall 2015 when the Theros block cards will no longer be playable in standard. Some of the cards you will be getting for these decks will have been printed in the Return to Ravnica block (Pack rat, Nightveil Specter) and you will only be able to play these in ...


4

Soul Link's ability is a triggered ability. From the comprehensive rules: 510.2. Second, all combat damage that’s been assigned is dealt simultaneously. ... 510.3. Third, any abilities that triggered on damage being assigned or dealt go on the stack. State-based checks occur before the triggered ability is resolved, so Player A loses before ...


4

It enters with 2 -1/-1 counters. Wickerbough Elder enters the battlefield with a -1/-1 counter on it. is equivalent to As Wickerbough Elder enters the battlefield, place a -1/-1 counter on it. Similarly, Persist is also an ability that redefines entering the battlefield (ETB) to add the placement of a counter on the card. Both are replacement ...


4

Ambush Commander only affects its controller's Forests, but otherwise, yes. Evacuation will return them to their owners' hands. This doesn't come down to a single rules citation, but ultimately Creature Lands still count as creatures due to this rule: 608.2h If an effect refers to certain characteristics, it checks only for the value of the specified ...


4

The creature will remain on the battlefield for the remainder of the turn that it came into play. The last phase of each turn is the ending phase, and the first step of that phase is the end step. When that step starts, the triggered ability "Exile it at the beginning of the next end step" will trigger and you will exile the creature. The next part of the ...


4

As far as I know, there is not a "catch-all" resource that can answer any intermediate question that anyone could possibly dream up. However, I think that you are looking for what I would call "intermediate building blocks". Here are some building blocks that are relevant to nearly any deck build, but are not so hard to understand for an intermediate ...


4

The ability is removed from the stack, and you do not get your creature back. See: 603.3 603.3 Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that's not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 116, "Timing and Priority." The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ...


3

A permanent with the Mountain land type. Sacred Foundry can be enchanted with Chained to the Rocks. "Mountain" could mean mean two things: An object whose name is "Mountain". e.g. Mountain An object which has the land (sub)type "Mountain". e.g. Mountain and Sacred Foundry When a card refers to something that can be a name or a type, it always refers ...


3

It can be any card with the land type "Mountain." For example, all of these are valid targets for Chained to the Rocks, as long as you control them: Sacred Foundry, Badlands, Snow-Covered Mountain, Madblind Mountain, any land card affected by Prismatic Omen. In Magic, cards that key off of a card's name will specify "name" in the rules text. See Relentless ...


3

So, we know you are looking more for a heuristic for how to play your deck as is (or with minimal changes) against an attrition based opponent playing a pox/gate like deck. The aim of your opponent's deck is to slow the game down as much as possible, so it can abuse its central cards to gain an incremental advantage (usually though the difference in how ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible