Hot answers tagged

25

Your opponent was right. From the magic comprehensive rules (http://magic.wizards.com/en/gameinfo/gameplay/formats/comprehensiverules): 509.1h An attacking creature with one or more creatures declared as blockers for it becomes a blocked creature; one with no creatures declared as blockers for it becomes an unblocked creature. This remains unchanged ...


20

Yes, the creature would die. When you cast a spell, you move it from your hand to the stack, and other players get the chance to react to that spell. State-based actions would cause the creature to die. Rules references: Casting Spells 601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its ...


20

A player at 0 life loses the game permanently. Everything they own (including e.g. permanents that are under someone else's control) vanishes from the game; neither the player nor their stuff is a legal target anymore. From the Comprehensive Rules: 104.3b If a player’s life total is 0 or less, he or she loses the game the next time a player would ...


18

You'll wind up with your Awoken Horror plus two zombies. Awoken Horror will not bounce your zombies, because the whole transformation/bouncing process will happen while Gisa's Bidding is still on the stack. Here's the process, assuming players do nothing but keep passing priority after you cast Gisa's Bidding: You cast Gisa's Bidding. It goes on the ...


15

Can I "play" a token? No. You can still produce zombie tokens even if you are not allowed to play Zombie. "Play" has a very specific meaning in Magic: 701.11b To play a card means to play that card as a land or to cast that card as a spell, whichever is appropriate. When instructed to name a card, can I name a token instead? It depends. If a token ...


14

Unfortunately, no, it doesn't die. "Dies" has a specific meaning: 700.4. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.” The token does cease to exist once in the player's hand, but that's due to other rules, and that's not considered dying either: 110.5f A token that’s phased out, or that’s in a zone other than the ...


14

You can always assign more than lethal damage to a creature. In your example, you can assign five damage to the 2/3 and not touch the 2/2. 510.1c A blocked creature assigns combat damage to the creatures it’s blocking. If it isn’t currently blocking any creatures (if, for example, they were destroyed or removed from combat), it assigns no combat damage. ...


13

Assuming that the enchantment is not printed as a creature, Hallowed Moonlight will not exile it. The Ask a Magic Judge tumblr already has a post covering this exact situation. To explain the reasoning, it says (emphasis added) When we determine whether or not to apply a certain replacement effect, like Hallowed Moonlight’s, to an object that would ...


11

Look at how much each has been printed. Noble Hierarch was printed in Conflux and Modern Masters. Birds of Paradise was printed in Alpha/Beta/Unlimited/Revised, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, and 10th edition, Magic 2010, 2011, 2012, and Ravnica. There are just way, way more copies out there. And by the way, Exalted can be quite relevant. The most obvious example ...


11

Yes, Shroud on a card only works if the card is on the battlefield. In order to not be able to counter it the spell would have to have "~ cannot be countered [by spells or abilities]". 702.18a Shroud is a static ability. “Shroud” means “This permanent or player can’t be the target of spells or abilities.” 110.1. A permanent is a card or token on the ...


11

You can play a land for the turn during either main phase, before or after casting spells. There's no hard and fast rule about what time is best to play your land. If someone told you there was, they probably don't have a thorough understanding of the game. But if someone told you that in a specific situation you should've played differently, they might've ...


10

There are two relevant (overlapping) rules for this situation: 107.3f If a card in any zone other than the stack has an {X} in its mana cost, the value of {X} is treated as 0, even if the value of X is defined somewhere within its text. 202.3c When calculating the converted mana cost of an object with an {X} in its mana cost, X is treated as 0 ...


10

Sakashima the Impostor copies a creature except its name. The rule that is responsible for preventing the existence of multiple identical legendaries is the so called "legend rule". It is a state-based action: 704.5k If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their ...


10

Polymorphist's Jest does not create tokens, it only changes the stats and characteristics of the creature's controlled by the targeted player. It is still the same game object as far as Magic is concerned. Under the circumstances presented in your question, your opponent's creature would be 'flickered' (magic slang for exiled and then returned to the ...


9

Yes. (Assuming that the spell is targeting only the 1 creature in question.) When an object changes zones, as it does when you cast Cloudshift on it, it becomes an entirely new object. The object that the original spell was targeting no longer exists, and so the spell is countered for having an invalid target upon resolution. 400.7. An object that moves ...


9

The player who cast the spell that creates extra turns will take their extra turn(s), and then the player who copied the spell will take their extra turn(s). From the comprehensive rules (emphasis mine): 500.7. Some effects can give a player extra turns. They do this by adding the turns directly after the current turn. If a player gets multiple extra ...


9

As one might guess it seems the states with the largest number of Magic players are also the ones with the largest populations. I am assuming that the number of players in a state is directly correlated with the number of judges in that state. To get the number of judges in each state I used the WotC Judge Center tools to find all of the Level 1+ judges in ...


8

You opponent was correct and the creature will die. In Magic the Gathering there is virtually nothing that "triggers instantaneously". With the exception of abilities that only create mana all abilities go on the stack. There are a few special actions that a player can perform that do not use the stack as well, but these are not considered "abilities" by ...


8

No, you don't have the opportunity to sacrifice that goblin. Every time someone would receive priority, just beforehand, state based actions are checked and carried out. One of these state based actions is: 704.5f If a creature has toughness 0 or less, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard. Regeneration can’t replace this event. Priority has to be ...


8

You will take 8 damage from the Stuffy Doll's triggered ability. In the combat damage step, every creature deals combat damage equal to its power, no matter how much toughness the defending creatures have: 510.1a Each attacking creature and each blocking creature assigns combat damage equal to its power. [..] 510.1c A blocked creature assigns its ...


8

I don't know how MTG Duels exactly works but my guess is this, the card says You may cast target instant or sorcery card from your graveyard this turn Which means that you are able to target a card in your graveyard but decide to not cast it. After this ability resolves you still have to manually cast it from your graveyard. You have the entire turn ...


8

The ability reads as follows: When Sejiri Steppe enters the battlefield, target creature you control gains protection from the color of your choice until end of turn. The color is chosen when the ability resolves. At that point, there's no chance for anyone to respond. Here's what happens in more detail: The ability triggers. Its controller chooses a ...


8

Assuming you play your Bolts right your opponent can counter at most 1 of them. This is what happens: You have priority, you cast Bolt, Guttersnipe triggers, you have priority again You pass priority, your opponent gains priority and can cast their counter if they want to, eventually they also pass priority Guttersnipes ability resolves, you gain ...


7

Since you have no prior knowledge about the cards you got, and they are from practically all possible sets of Magic since its first release, your card pool will be wildly inconsistent, and synergies between cards will be incidental, if they exist at all. A veteran player can sift through such a pool relatively quickly because he or she would already be ...


7

If you blink Archangel Avacyn while its transform trigger is on the stack, the new Archangel object will not transform. You are correct in that the transform trigger will still resolve, even though its source object no longer exists. However, the Archangel that put the transform trigger on the stack was also the object to be flipped. When you blinked the ...


7

In my LGS it's solved this way. 6 players => 1 x 6 7 players => 1 x 7 8 players => 1 x 8 9 players => 1 x 9 10 players => 1 x 10 11 players => 1 x 11 12 players => 2 x 6 13 players => 1 x 6 + 1 x 7 14 players => 1 x 6 + 1 x 8 15 players => 1 x 7 + 1 x 8 16 players => 2 x 8 17 players => 1 x 8 + 1 x 9 18 players => 3 x 6 19 players => 2 x 6 + 1 ...


7

When two or more trigger happen at the same time, the player controlling those triggers put them on the stack in an order of his/her choice, beginning with the active player. So in your scenario, you can put the discard/draw trigger first and the bounce creature trigger second on the stack. This way, the bounce trigger will resolve first, so he/she will ...


7

You will get back all non-token creatures killed by having 0 (or less) toughness after the Blasphemous Act thanks to the Necroskitter (unless something else prevents them from hitting the graveyard or moves them from the graveyard before your triggers resolve). What happens is : Someone casts Blasphemous Act. In response you bring back your Necroskitter ...


7

No, Karlov will not gain counters. Extort will resolve before Karlov. When you gain life from Extort, Karlov will not be on the battlefield yet, and his ability only works while on the battlefield. 702.100a Extort is a triggered ability. “Extort” means “Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain life ...


7

The short answer is that Swift Silence is simply not good in this situation. First, note that Swift Silence only counters spells. Guttersnipe's ability is a triggered ability, not a spell, so it is unaffected by Swift Silence. Your optimal strategy is to simply cast one Lightning Bolt at a time, and then let both the triggered ability and the Lightning ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible