Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

8

The very first of Magic's Golden Rules: 101.1. Whenever a card’s text directly contradicts these rules, the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation. The only exception is that a player can concede the game at any time (see rule 104.3a). So yes, they contradict, and it's fine. And this isn't really ...


7

The color of a card is determine by its mana cost and by its color indicator. As you can see from this search, no land has a mana cost, and one land has a mana indicator, so all lands are colorless except for that land, Dryad Arbor. 202.2. An object is the color or colors of the mana symbols in its mana cost, regardless of the color of its frame. ...


6

The Comprehensive Rules don't explicitly mention random targets. However, we can still use them to get an answer. The bottom line is that the creature with protection can't be chosen as the target, making the other creature automatically the target. Now, as you point out, "target creature [you] control chosen at random" could mean you must target a creature ...


6

If the ability says to exile the card face down, you exile it face down. Otherwise, you exile it face up. Banisher Priest doesn't say to exile the creature face down, so you exile it face up. Rule 406.3 says Exiled cards are, by default, kept face up and may be examined by any player at any time. Cards "exiled face down" can't be examined by any player ...


6

I just discovered that this exact circumstance is described in the rules. It will remain your commander. 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when ...


6

Flash allows the card that has flash to be played at any time you could play an instant. It does not allow you to play any other cards at any time you have an instant. So Flash doesn't mean anything once it's on the battlefield. The actual rule: 702.8a Flash is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it’s on. ...


6

You can have any number of Enchantments attached to a given Creature, unless the cards themselves say otherwise.


5

Archon of Redemption's ability is a triggered ability and will not be effected by Arrest. Arrest affects activated abilities, described by rule 602.1. 602.1. Activated abilities have a cost and an effect. They are written as “[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation instructions (if any).]” Examples: Ancient Silverback, Elvish Mystic, Heritage Druid, Fume ...


5

Opponent only refers to players, not creatures. Chandra's Phoenix will not trigger if you target a creature. Comprehensive Rules reference: 102.2. In a two-player game, a player’s opponent is the other player. 102.3. In a multiplayer game between teams, a player’s teammates are the other players on his or her team, and the player’s opponents are ...


4

Formats regulate what cards are allowed in decks and sideboards in the first place. At the point at which you have already started to play with those cards in the decks, then either the cards are allowed or the game is invalid.


4

Your and your opponent either agree to a format (in which case, you follow the restriction of that format), or you agree to use your own format (in which case you get to decide what cards are allowed in it). The rules have no say in this.


4

Player B will have the Sun Titan. Adarkar Valkyrie creates a triggered ability on the creature targeted that will trigger when the creature dies. Necromantic Selection will destroy the creature and return it to the battlefield all during its resolution. Only after that does the triggered ability created by the Adarkar Valkyrie go onto the stack. By this time ...


4

Assuming the Goblins in question survive combat and Goblin Grenade is cast during the Second Main Phase this is perfectly legal. This is a common strategy for Goblin decks to deal as much damage as they can as fast as they can regardless of the cost to them. While this allows them to make some very powerful plays like sacrificing Goblins to Goblin Grenade, ...


3

When a creature with lifelink deals damage to anything (creature, planeswalker, or player) with any cause (spell, ability or combat), you gain that much life. That means that yes, dealing damage to a blocking creature in combat makes you gain life from lifelink. Rule 702.15b says Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source’s controller, or ...


3

Your opponent will gain control of Phenax, then at the end of your turn they will sacrifice it and gain zero life. When Spinal Embrace resolves, it creates two continuous effects: You control that Phenax. Phenax gains haste until end of turn. and a delayed triggered ability: At the beginning of the next end step, sacrifice Phenax. If you do, you ...


3

Timeshifted were rather special. Every booster pack from the Time Spiral block had one Timeshifted card, and each Timeshifted card was equally likely to be the included card. Quoting Wikipedia, The Timeshifted cards are distributed one per booster pack and three per tournament pack (taking the place of common cards), and also appear in the ...


3

Chandra's Phoenix's ability triggers whenever an opponent is dealt damage by ... 102.2. In a two-player game, a player’s opponent is the other player. 102.3. In a multiplayer game between teams, a player’s teammates are the other players on his or her team, and the player’s opponents are all players not on his or her team. You would have to target ...


3

Sure you can! That's it, if the cards don't state otherwise and the creature is a valid target for every one of the enchantments. And as you can cast several enchantments on the same turn you even can do it on just one turn.There's no a thing like a 'limit' on the number of enchantments one can cast over a given creature. Just consider strategic-wise if ...


3

The keyword ability Flash only applies to the card which has it. So yes, you could play Nephalia Seakite during your opponent's turn. It doesn't apply to any other card unless that card also has Flash.


2

Timeshifted cards are (slightly more than) 1.5 times as rare as Rare cards from Time Spiral. There were 80 Rare cards and 121 Timeshifted cards in the set, and each booster pack included 1 Rare card and 1 Timeshifted card. Due to the rarity distributions, each Mythic Rare in a large set appears in 1 out of every 121 boosters, meaning that they are exactly ...


2

Undying doesn't care how the +1/+1 counter got there. Undying won't trigger. Conversely, if Undying previously placed a +1/+1 counter on a permanent, but the counter got removed somehow before the permanent died a second time, Undying will trigger and bring the card back a second time.


2

You get two extra turns. 500.7. Some effects can give a player extra turns. They do this by adding the turns directly after the current turn. If a player gets multiple extra turns or if multiple players get extra turns during a single turn, the extra turns are added one at a time. The most recently created turn will be taken first.


2

Is it my commander? To reiterate what is stated in the question, your commander is always your commander, and nothing can change that. This is because of the following rule: 903.3. [...] This [commander] designation it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones. Does a commander deal commander ...


1

If the attacking creature survives the attack, it can be sacrificed to a Goblin Grenade that's cast after the combat is over. There's not so much a rule allowing this as there's no rule against it. Here's what happens during combat: 507 Beginning of Combat Step 507.3 Both players get to play instants and abilities. 508 Declare Attackers Step 508.1 ...


1

Rarity has nothing to do with legality. The timeshifted expansion symbol color just indicates that the card is a reprint in the Time Spiral set. Legality in different formats depends on what sets a card was printed in. Undertaker, for example, was printed in Mercadian Masques and Time Spiral, so any version of Undertaker is legal in any format that allows ...


1

Yes[1]. Commanders are normally Legendary Creatures, and Ob Nixilis is neither Legendary nor a Creature. 903.1. In the Commander variant, each deck is led by a legendary creature designated as that deck’s commander. [...] But that's fine because of the first Golden Rule of Magic: 101.1. Whenever a card’s text directly contradicts these rules, the ...


1

The last effect created takes precedence. Section 613 resolves interaction of Continuous Effects. The rules relevant to this specific question are the following: 613.6. Within a layer or sublayer, determining which order effects are applied in is usually done using a timestamp system. An effect with an earlier timestamp is applied before an effect with ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible