Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

16

Mansions of Madness, Elder Sign, and Arkham Horror are all games whose themes pull from the Cthulhu Mythos. In Elder Sign and Arkham Horror you play as investigators cooperating in an attmpt to prevent/drive away an Ancient One entering this world, but the mechanics of both games are very different. I'll describe the games generally. Arkham Horror has you ...


8

It doesn't auto defeat ALL locks. Only those described as Lock Puzzles on the Lock card but not wiring or rune puzzles for example.


7

Yes, Horror tests are an attribute test, which are defined on page 13 of the rules, emphasis mine. Occasionally, an investigator must make a modified attribute test. Such tests always list a positive or negative number after the attribute (for example: “Test Strength –1”). This number is always added to the investigator’s attribute before rolling the ...


6

The investigator cannot be targeted by Eyes in the Dark. The ruling you are looking for is on page 15 of the rules: Some Exploration cards (such as the “Lantern”) allow investigators to ignore these effects. When ignoring these effects, an investigator also cannot be targeted by cards that require them to be in a room with a darkness token.


6

The keeper can play one Mythos card per investigator's turn. From the rules, bottom of the first column on page 16: The keeper may play a maximum of one Mythos card per investigator turn and may never play Mythos cards during the keeper’s own turn. Each player/investigator has his own turn each round. Playing against 4 investigators, the keeper ...


6

Yes, you will make a total of 8 horror tests. One for each monster that enters an investigator's room, and for each investigator. Rule book (page 13), within the section covering Horror Tests. Whenever a monster enters (or is placed in) an investigator’s room (or vice versa), the investigator must immediately make an attribute test called a HORROR TEST. ...


6

You should go by the definition in the rule book on page 8 Room - An area of the map tile that has a name and is separated from the other rooms by solid brown walls, doors, or the edge of the map tile. ... Raise a Zombie in the graveyard: Only those in the Graveyard room. Whenever a monster enters (or is placed) in an investigator's room (or vise ...


6

It looks like the answer is no. From page 2 of the FAQ: Q: Can the keeper use Uncontrollable urges to make an investigator attack another Investigator with a weapon? What about spells? A: No. This only allows him to use a spell, equipment, artifact or tome card. If he forces an investigator to cast a spell, he must choose a legal target. ...


6

No. The keyword in the rules (found here) is "ongoing." Status effects do not end until an action is taken to end them.


6

No, you do not perform an evade test on either monster when performing an attack action. The rules are explicit on this (page 14): Evade Tests - An investigator must make an evade test against every monster in his space before moving or performing non-attack actions. An evade test is an attribute test that is resolved immediately before the ...


5

Multiple Investigators After my last 2-Investigator game, I was explaining this issue to one of the players and proposed the "scale the time between events solution." She said, "Why don't we just each run two adventurers?" Why didn't I think of that? I think that from now on, MoM will be a 4-investigator game, with players running enough investigators to ...


5

I interpret that card as "Discard means discard. Place in the discard pile." The action is something that players can do to leave equipment cached for each other. The mythos card is an act of aggression carried out by the Keeper. It probably costs Threat. There is also zero support in the fiction for a weapon becoming reloaded by being dropped. EDIT: OK. ...


5

One puzzle attempt per turn per investigator is the rule. From the rules, bottom of the first column on page 18 - Each investigator can only attempt the same puzzle once per turn (but multiple investigators may attempt the same puzzle on the same turn).


5

Aside from the shared Cthulhu mythos, there are some shared characters and concepts - but mechanically, they function completely differently. About the only thing I think you could use across the games would be the character and monster miniatures.


5

The Objective card for 1B reads (at the top, emphasis mine): If there are 2 sample tokens on an altar reveal this objective and place a shoggoth in the Ceremony Room. Once the keeper gets 2 samples using the Take a Sample Keeper action and gets them back to the altar, the fun begins. :)


5

Yes, you must Evade a monster to take any other action than Attack, it doesn't matter if you succeeded in your attack. From the rules (page 9, 14, and 15). Attacking a monster is the only action that an investigator can perform while a monster is in his space (unless he evades the monster, see “Evade Tests” on page 14). An investigator must make an ...


4

Bind Monster and Shriveling are both Attack Spells. Just under the title of the card is the phrase, Spell, Attack. Bind Monster will stun the target while Shriveling will do a good amount of damage if you pass the test to cast them. Gloria Goldberg can start with Bind Monster while Harvey Walters can start with Shriveling. Otherwise you will have to gain ...


4

Yes, You are playing this correctly on both counts. A monster can carry more than one sample, see the rules on page 12 When a monster with sample tokens is killed, all its sample tokens are discarded. The trade in for 5 threat is automatic and should be used for all samples carried by a monster on the altar's space.


4

The investigator should roll even if they're forced through the door by the Keeper. It isn't covered explicitly in the rules, but it is essentially a horror test and the entire benefit of the trauma is that the Keeper should be able to exploit it. I would say that, as with normal horror tests, passing through the same door more than once in the same turn ...


4

The Chasm room space with the bridge does not have line of sight to the room Crypt or Cave, because it does not have line of sight dots. From the rule book page 21 (emphasis mine). Note that monsters, investigators and feature markers do not block line of sight. Also note that some spaces do not have line of sight dots. A figure in one of these spaces ...


4

From the Attack Action section on page 9: Attacking a monster is a common action investigators perform. The player selects one of his weapon or attack Spell cards and chooses a monster as dictated on the card. Alternatively, an investigator may attack a monster in his space using his bare hands. So an investigator is allowed to possess ...


4

The rules clearly state that you roll a Horror Test, when a monster enters a room with an investigator or visa versa (page 15). Line of Sight has nothing to do with the question, you do not roll a Horror Test, because you can see a monster. Room - An area of the map tile that has a name and is separated from the other rooms by solid brown walls, doors, ...


4

There is nowhere mentionning you cannot use the character's power against the "boss" I would find it rather hard to believe you can use the statuette that reduces the boss's damage to harvey to 1 but couldnt save the 1shot power versus the "boss puzzle" Anti-climactic yes, but then again what's the point of wasting a good power to get a 1shot use if you ...


3

No, you cannot change the order of the Seed cards. However, do make sure that you are using the latest errata. If you have any specific concerns, please ask. We can try to address this question without specifics.


3

The rules on Trauma cards are on pg25 of the Rules of Play book. These cards can only be played by the keeper immediately after an investigator takes damage or horror. The only exception to this restriction is if an investigator has zero sanity, in which case the keeper may play one insanity Trauma card on the investigator as a keeper action (once per ...


3

Darkness has only 2 effects per the rules: If you want to explore, it costs you an action plus a movement step -2 to all attribute tests during combat


3

For Mythos Cards (Page 16): After playing a Mythos card, the keeper discards it to a faceup pile adjacent to the Mythos deck. If the Mythos deck runs out of cards, this discard pile is shuffled to create a new Mythos deck. For Trauma Cards (Page 25): Each investigator may have a maximum of one injury and one insanity at any given time. If ...


3

Yes, this is a normal situation. It isn't very fun, sure, but it is a normal one. I've had it happen several times and each time I swear off playing this scenario until I find a new group of victi-- friends who have not yet experienced my wra-- version of fun. In fact, I had a situation where one of my players simply wanted to "try and leave to see what ...


3

From the rulebook: Investigators: A stunned investigator only receives one Movement Step during his turn. If he becomes stunned during his turn, he may not take a second Movement Step.... ....An investigator or monster may have multiple stun tokens on him, and may only discard one per turn (either during the Investigator Trading Step or ...


3

The manual page 13 says: "A player may never spend a skill point to add his Luck to his Luck." So no that is not allowed.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible