Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

19

There are a variety of general answers for indestructible permanents: Exile effects, which are your real bread-and-butter for all kinds of removal. Toughness-reducing effects against creatures. Sacrifice effects. "Tuck" (move to library) effects. Bouncing permanents (temporary). Stealing permanents: the indestructible thing isn't a problem if you control ...


16

The text file found on the page you linked to with Commander info has a better description of the rules that clears this up. The important parts: A card can't be included in your deck if any mana symbol in its mana cost or rules text is a color not in your commander's color identity. A card also can't be included in your deck if it has a ...


12

Fetchlands + duals is a formula used by almost all the top decks in every format that allows them. The main advantage is monumental consistency. Verdant Catacombs, for instance, can fetch any of the following original dual lands: Badlands (Swamp / Mountain) Bayou (Swamp / Forest) Savannah (Forest / Plains) Scrubland (Plains / Swamp) Taiga (Mountain / ...


11

You got it wrong, but this interaction is tricky. Sliver Overlord can be put in the command zone, but the ability of Conjurer's Closet will return it to the battlefield anyway. We follow the instructions in the triggered ability: 1) "exile target creature you control": instead of putting it in the exile zone, we put it in the command zone. We don't first ...


10

No. The Commander rules state (CR903.3) state: "[Being a commander] is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones." and drives the point home with the last example: "A permanent that's copying a commander (such as a Body Double, for ...


10

There are tons of options: Attrition or Blood Rites, while requiring to pay mana, would kill your opponents creatures (or the opponent himself in the case of the rites). If you need something that doesn't require mana to activate you could try Bloodthrone Vampire, Carrion Feeder or Devouring Swarm. Hell's Caretaker can be an interesting choice, because it ...


10

In Commander, it's typical for decks of all colors to run "mana rocks" -- artifacts that generate mana. Some of the popular ones are: Sol Ring, Mind Stone, Thran Dynamo, Darksteel Ingot, Worn Powerstone, Dreamstone Hedron, Mana Vault, Mana Crypt. Some of these help with mana-fixing, others just produce colorless mana; the former is often helpful in a ...


10

Torpor Orb should work. You could make the deck have a minor focus on creatures that normally are a pain to get out, like Leveler...


9

You were correct in the assumption that the tracking of casting cost is not a counter, but a separate attribute of the game. The official EDH rules state: While a Commander is in the command zone, it may be cast. As an additional cost to cast a Commander from the command zone, its owner must pay {2} for each time it was previously cast from the command ...


9

I found the answer to this in the rules: 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones. Example: A commander that's been turned ...


9

Wishes are non-functional in Commander, unless your group specifically allows sideboards. The comp rules define the basics of the format but mostly point you to mtgcommander.net for the up-to-date official definition. Per mtgcommander.net, Abilities which refer to other cards owned outside the game (Wishes, Spawnsire, Research, Ring of Ma'ruf) do not ...


9

Elbrus, the Binding Blade is not a Legendary Creature, so it cannot be your Commander. It doesn't matter that it could become a creature. In fact, I'd be surprise if there is a card that couldn't become a creature. 711.2a In every zone other than the battlefield, and also on the battlefield with its front face up, a double-faced card has only the ...


9

Here's an official ruling from Sheldon Mennery, who is the authoritative source for Commander rulings: [O] Elbrus is not playable as a General, and its color identity is Black.


9

In the Commander/EDH format, when a player's Commander/General would be either sent to Exile or to the Graveyard, that player may choose to instead send the Commander to the Command zone, as a replacement effect. When a replacement effect takes place, the original event never happened. When a player returns their Commander to the Command zone instead of ...


8

Yes, both sides of DFC count towards its color identity. 903.4c The back face of a double-faced card (see rule 711) is included when determining a card's color identity. Example: Civilized Scholar is the front face of a double-faced card with mana cost {2}{U}. Homicidal Brute is the back face of that double-faced card and has a red color ...


8

Yes, it is unfortunately impossible to add mana of a color outside your deck's color identity to your mana pool. Tradtionally this will be mean you cannot pay the cost of this - however, as @AlexP and @Stephen highlight, replacement effects may mean you can activate the ability without adding that color mana to your mana pool. The comprehensive rules ...


8

The Commander can still go to the command zone, or exile, its' owner's choice. 903.12. If a commander would be put into the exile zone from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead. When Oblivion Ring leaves the battlefield, it triggers an ability that attempts to "return the exiled card to the battlefield under its owner's ...


8

No, only your own original commander counts. Generally, if the Lieutenant ability refers to your Commander, then the opponent's Commander would not count, since it's not yours, even if it has the same name. Also, a clone of your Commander would not count, because the Commander-ness of a card cannot be copied. 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature ...


7

The Comprehensive Rules cover Commander rules (903) in about a page. It only lists one additional rule for winning/losing the game. Yes, 10 poison counters kills you in Commander. No, poison damage doesn't count double, Commanders that deal poison damage, deal damage as any other poison creature would deal damage. 903.13. The Commander variant includes ...


7

You're correct in assuming that you would lose the game. Casting Phage the Untouchable from the command zone would be a sorcery-speed "Summon Game Loss" spell. Edit: As Affe points out, she could be countered when you play her, which would put her in your graveyard (or library, depending on the countermagic). You'd still need to get her back to your hand ...


7

Commander/EDH is a community-moderated format. Its banned list is not managed by Wizards of the Coast or the DCI. Official announcements from the EDH Rules Committee an be found on mtgcommander.net. In this case, the April 2013 banned list announcement explains (emphasis added): Trade Secrets is much like Limited Resources in that has some issues in a ...


7

Generally speaking, in any game community the casual players are going to have a different attitude toward banning than the tournament players. In the case of M:tG, the tournament formats are very fine-tuned and the most hardcore players tend to play in sanctioned tournaments, so if anyone's going to be banning cards that aren't officially banned, it's going ...


7

One of the biggest reasons why house rules run rampant in the format is that the Rules Committee encourages it. House rules or "fair play" exceptions are always encouraged if they result in more fun for the local community. (http://mtgcommander.net, "Philosophy" section) Many house rules are the result of people who, for one reason or another, refuse ...


6

No, it is an at attribute of the card itself, not a characteristic that is copyable. From the Mtg Comprehensive Rules: 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation ...


6

Casting her from your command zone results with a resounding you lose the game, if she enters play. There are several ways to still use her effectively. I will list a few ways below that will help you to "Make it Work". It is not the strongest style, but black has the tutors to pull it off if you really want to do it. It is funny to see the look on ...


6

The colour identity of Rhys the Exiled is Green and Black. As per the Commander colour identity rules: A card's colour identity is its colour plus the colour of any mana symbols in the card's rules text. The colour doesn't have to be just in the casting cost (which determines the card's colour), any mana symbol cost in the rules text counts towards ...


6

Yes, you can, for the same reason you can in other formats. The first Golden Rule: 101.1. Whenever a card’s text directly contradicts these rules, the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation. The only exception is that a player can concede the game at any time (see rule 104.3a). They'd have to ...


6

Yes, you can put it back into the command zone when it's exiled from your graveyard. 903.12. If a commander would be put into the exile zone from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead.


6

I just discovered that this exact circumstance is described in the rules. It will remain your commander. 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when ...


5

It's impossible to add off-color mana to your mana pool. That means that, short of replacement effects that alter how mana can be spent, it's impossible to pay off-color mana costs. So, what do those replacement effects look like? Cards like Mycosynth Lattice allow you to spend mana "as if it were any color of mana" without actually changing the colors of ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible