Hot answers tagged

18

It doesn't matter. Since you can change decks between games, you can change to a deck that's identical except for the choice of Commander. Everyone talks about the Commander as if it's a property of the deck, including the Comprehensive Rules and the EDH site. CR: In the Commander variant, each deck is led by a legendary creature designated as that ...


13

The original rules for Elder Dragon Legend Wars had the following as part of the rules: players choose (or select at random) an Elder Dragon Legend as their army's leader. The dragon must be supported by creatures and spells corresponding to each of the Dragon's three specific casting colours. Players designate and announce three of their creatures as ...


12

No. City of Brass adds one mana of any color, and colorless is not a color. 105.4. If a player is asked to choose a color, he or she must choose one of the five colors. “Multicolored” is not a color. Neither is “colorless.” In the past, if you attempted to add mana to your pool that did not share a color with your commander's color identity, that mana ...


10

Even with Leyline of the Void in play, Scion of the Ur-Dragon's ability still works. The relevant part of the ability is Search your library for a Dragon permanent card and put it into your graveyard. If you do... This is actually a cost, as defined in rule 117.12: Some spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities read, “[Do something]. If ...


10

Assuming nobody has any poison counters before Bruna attacks, Bruna's controller will lose the game assuming that her power is at least 10, but less than 20 when she deals damage, and it will be a draw if her power is 20 or greater, if her power is less than 10 her controller will have poison counters equal to her power. This occurs because Shining Shoal ...


9

The correct interpretation is the second option. You have satisfied the condition, and Llanowar Elves ends up in its owner's graveyard. This is because rule 117.12 says Some spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities read, "[Do something]. If [a player] [does or doesn't], [effect]." or "[A player] may [do something]. If [that player] [does or ...


7

It's a draw. Whenever all remaining players lose at the same time, the game ends in a draw. From the Basic Rulebook, under "Winning the Game: If both players would lose the game at the same time, the game is a draw—nobody wins. Similar information is repeated under the glossary for "Life total" and "draw the game".


7

Yes. Cackling Counterpart and Battlegrowth are in Bant colors and combo with Enduring Scalelord. Can you teach me how to search for cards myself? Introducing the Gatherer's advanced search feature. We know that Enduring Scalelord goes infinite with itself. Let's try to find a clone in Bant colors. Here is what I started with: Color: Does NOT contain ...


7

Rule 903.3 says Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones. Only the cards that start the game as commanders count as commanders and can ...


7

You will get back all non-token creatures killed by having 0 (or less) toughness after the Blasphemous Act thanks to the Necroskitter (unless something else prevents them from hitting the graveyard or moves them from the graveyard before your triggers resolve). What happens is : Someone casts Blasphemous Act. In response you bring back your Necroskitter ...


6

It looks like it should be identified with just black: 903.4 ... The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that card’s mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204). 604.3. Some static abilities are ...


6

Although there is no explicit rule for it, treating decks with different assigned commanders as different makes the most sense. The choice of commander is certainly a property of a commander deck because its legality depends on it, but it is a matter of individual tournament rules whether that matters as far as switching commanders between games is ...


6

In the situation you describe, each player reveals their card independently, and you get mana equal to the number of non-land cards revealed. This is called a Binomial Distribution, with N = 4 and P = 2/3 in your particular case. So, the probability of getting exactly k mana is (4 choose k) * (2/3) ^ k * (1/3) ^ (n - k). You are specifically looking for the ...


5

Yes, you can make a player lose by dealing 21 total damage to them with their own commander. (If it keeps getting stolen by yourself or others, a cumulative total 21 damage from their own commander will make them lose.) The rule, from mtgcommander.net's Rules — Play section, is: If a player has been dealt 21 points of combat damage by a ...


5

If there's one thing you can learn from Mark Rosewater's "Making Magic" articles (check out the section on "Empires"), it's that the best way to find out if a deck is unfair and/or miserable is to play it. This may seem like something you could shortcut, but card evaluation is really hard, and cards or decks that seem oppressive at first glance may turn out ...


5

When you search ci:gur on magiccards.info, you are looking for cards that match that color identity, i.e. that are legal in a deck with whose commander has a GUR color identity, including artifacts. When you append the m, it appears to search for cards that have more than one of those colors in their color identity. So, in that context, when you are looking ...


4

No, you can't attack with those Sliver tokens the same turn you get them. In your combat phase, the following steps happen: You declare what creatures are attacking. Your opponents declare what creatures are blocking. Combat damage is dealt. Brood Sliver's ability triggers when a Sliver deals combat damage, so it is only in the Combat Damage Step that ...


4

Yes, it does count as being discarded. Discard is a Keyword Action that means: 701.7a To discard a card, move it from its owner’s hand to that player’s graveyard. The Commander replacement effect changes this to be: To discard a card, move it from its owner’s hand to that player’s command zone. Discard is a keyword action that tells you to move ...


3

You control that player's commander until another creature enters the battlefield under an opponent's control. At that point, Illusory Gains moves to that creature, and the owner regains control of their commander.


3

No, the token does not count. Being a commander is a property of the card itself, and is non-transferable.


3

I think group moderation is the way to go. Build the deck you want to play. If there are cards that look particularly brutal, maybe ask your group about them ahead of time. Otherwise, just play, and if something happens that ruins the fun for everyone, then adjust as needed. If you want to keep games from feeling "samey" every time, you could ban cards ...


3

It simply checks the choice you made. 117.12. Some spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities read, "[Do something]. If [a player] [does or doesn't], [effect]." or "[A player] may [do something]. If [that player] [does or doesn't], [effect]." The action [do something] is a cost, paid when the spell or ability resolves. The "If [a player] [does ...


3

In addition to Mycosynth Lattice, there is at least one other way that I know of. When you cast a spell with the Convoke keyword, you can pay a colored mana cost by tapping a creature of that color. In order to pay a cost that isn't in your colors this way, you would need a somewhat elaborate setup. First, you would need to control a creature of the other ...


3

I would guess that the commander specific damage would be to make combat-oriented commanders like Akroma, Angel of Wrath competitive with commanders with powerful abilities like Arcum Dagsson or Krenko, Mob Boss. By having it be commander specific, it prevents this from tipping the balance too far in favor of the combat oriented commanders in a multiplayer ...


3

No, Commanders don't count as dying if they are moved to the command zone. The Commander rules actually call out this scenario explicitly in Play: If a Commander would be put into a library, hand, graveyard or exile from anywhere, its owner may choose to move it to the command zone instead. This is a replacement effect. It applies last and may ...


2

In addition to the other suggestions here like getting feedback from your fellow players as you play, you can do a couple free-for-all games. In my play group that is mostly what we do and it's pretty easy to see who has the best board position at any given time (we all usually start conspiring to hurt that player's board, he is getting constantly attacked, ...


2

When you start the game, the card chosen as your commander must meet the color identity of the deck (well, vice versa, but the point is similar). This is pretty much a given from wizards if you look at the Commander 2013 products. In those decks, there are 3 commander oversized cards for the commanders you could choose, with the other potential commanders ...


2

References to special mana-generation rules for Commander are obsolete. City of Brass does what it says on the card, just like in regular Magic. Commander rules have been updated on January 18, 2016 to make mana production work more like regular Magic. Rule 4 (mana generation restriction) is removed The rationale provided says: Being able to ...


2

To figure out the answer we refer to layers (see also: How do Layers work?) Copy Control Text Type Color Add/Remove Power In this case, Torrent and Scion both create continuous effects that affect the P/T and abilities. Layers gives us an order to apply them, even if chronologically they are aren't in the same order. Scion's copy ability applies in ...


1

A +1/+1 Counter exist on the commander. It doesn't count as a loyalty counter, it doesn't increase the loyalty. If by some facet the commander is turned into a creature, the +1/+1 counter would change its power and toughness.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible