New answers tagged

6

No, such a card can never directly affect tokens. Cards such as Conjurer Ban require your opponent to name a card: 201.3. If an effect instructs a player to name a card, the player must choose the name of a card that exists in the Oracle card reference (see rule 108.1) and is legal in the format of the game the player is playing. (See rule 100.6.) [..] ...


15

Can I "play" a token? No. You can still produce zombie tokens even if you are not allowed to play Zombie. "Play" has a very specific meaning in Magic: 701.11b To play a card means to play that card as a land or to cast that card as a spell, whichever is appropriate. When instructed to name a card, can I name a token instead? It depends. If a token ...


3

No they cannot name 'Zombie', when instructed to name a card they must do exactly that 'Zombie' is not the name of a card, it is a creature type and the name of a token. Also even if they could name 'Zombie' (or say you had a way to create Zombie Assassin tokens) it still wouldn't matter because playing a card means casting it if it is not a land and when ...


5

The name of the token is "zombie", but it isn't a card that can be named, and you can still generate zombie tokens. Some cards do care about the name of tokens (e.g. Declaration in Stone) and those cards would hit all zombie tokens you have in play. Relevant rules: 110.5 Some effects put tokens onto the battlefield. A token is a marker used to ...



Top 50 recent answers are included