Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

28

Cards in hand cannot be items. They are only cards. The Income Tax rules text: Discard one item of your choice. Every other player must now discard an item, or items, totaling at least as much value as the item you discarded. If they don't have enough to pay the full tax, they must discard all their items and lose a level. From the Munchkin FAQ Q. ...


27

The Official Munchkin FAQ says Yes. Q. What happens to a Level 1 Thief who fails an attempt to steal? Does he die? A. Nothing happens to him. You can't go below Level 1. (Beware the Level 1 Thief – he literally has nothing to lose!)


20

It's a little counter-intuitive, but "-1 Hand" is actually correct. You aren't allowed to use more than 2 hands-worth of items; to check this, you can add up the number of "hands" on all your used items. If you have two 1-hand items, "1 hand" + "1 hand" = "2 hands". If you have two 1-hand items, plus Grabby Guts, you'll have "1 hand" + "1 hand" + "-1 ...


17

Thieves can only steal Items. An Item either has a gold piece value or "No value" printed in the corner. Really Impressive Title has neither of these, so it is not an Item, so it can't be stolen. Note that in earlier editions of Munchkin, this card was actually misprinted, and confusingly did in fact say "No Value". Per the official Errata, this is ...


16

The monster that will not follow level 4 or below will not persue you, only your helper will suffer bad stuff if they fail to escape. The FAQ at Steve Jackson Games covers this. Q. I'm at Level 2 and I encounter a Level 9 monster. Another player (Level 5) joins the combat. A third player wanders in a new monster that will not pursue Level 3 or below. We ...


15

No, the loss of 2 levels is part of the bad stuff that happens when you normally fail to escape, or since the card specifically states it, "even if they escape." From the World if Munchkin FAQ, Q. King Tut and the Wight Brothers say "Characters of higher Levels [than 3] lose 2 levels, even if they escape." Does that mean you lose two levels even if you ...


15

It's a separate piece of equipment that does not use a slot, meaning you still have two hands free for whatever you want to do with them. The card does not depend on you having another weapon in any way. The concept it represents is a weapon that can just kind of float next to you and attack stuff for you without needing you to swing it ("dancing swords" ...


14

As Matt Sheppard notes, the main problem with two-player Munchkin is that it eliminates the automatic balancing effect present with three or more players, where the weaker players can band together to pull the stronger ones down. In normal play, this is the main effect that counteracts the otherwise fundamental unfairness of Munchkin — without it, ...


13

Yes, according to Andrew Hackard (post #7), who appears to be a Steve Jackson representitive. Originally Postedby Arctivlargl 1) You are a lvl 7 Cleric, you have a Wand of Dowsing + Bungee Cord + some other card in your hand, Divine Intervention is in the discard pile. - Your turn starts and you use WoD to get DI - are forced to play it immediately - you ...


13

An item is any treasure card that has a GP value or no value in the bottom right corner. In this case, yes, the equivalent to "No Value" is 0 gold. You must discard a card to satisfy Income Tax. Since the Huge Rock has no value, you must discard at least one card with a value of at least 0, so basically any item will work (note that cards like ...


12

You can't voluntarily discard a card from your hand, you can only play it or give it away. But you can freely discard races and classes in play or sell items in play. During charity you can play cards instead of giving them away if you want to. So, you can play a race, discard it, play a race, discard it, wash, rinse, repeat. Unless you had some type of ...


11

Short answer: No Longer explanation: They are totally different games. Munchkin is a card game. Munchkin Quest is a board game. They share: A theme: Kill the monsters, take their stuff, stab your buddy - parodying power-gaming RPGers of a certain stripe An artist: John Kovalic A goal: Reach level 10 first A Publisher: Steve Jackson Games An official ...


11

You do not lose Class, Race, Level, or Curses when you die. The other characters get to loot your body when you die, each getting one card from your revealed hand or the cards you had in play, starting with the highest level character. The remaining cards (non-Class/Race/Curse) are discarded. The rules have a section labeled Death that clearly explains the ...


11

It probably is a common mistake, although it seems pretty clear to me from the rules, page 1 under Starting and Finishing the Game The first player to reach 10th level wins ... but you must reach 10th level by killing a monster, unless a card specifically allows you to win another way. Some amount of people must make the same mistake since it is the ...


10

Items in your hand are safe from game effects unless explicitly targeted by the card description. I can't reach the rules from here, but that's made pretty clear - in the English rules, at least. So my answer would be: Lose all items currently in your character's possession, whether equipped or merely carried. Only items should be lost in this case - the ...


10

While I hate the Munchkin game... the cards are of one of the standard card sizes. Mayday Games makes sleeves intended for card game play. In about 100 hours of play, I've shed 2 sleeves on my dominion set, and both of those because someone riffle-shuffled lengthwise. You'll need to shuffle sideways, rather than lengthways, but sleeving the cards is your ...


9

He is correct. "Helping" in combat is clearly defined as one and only one other player joining you in combat. "Bonuses" are granted by Items (as can be seen from the James Bomb card FAQ entry), or the rule books example of Mace of Sharpness or a Race as in the Warrior ability below. For example, the Pretty Ballons grant a +5 bonus to either the Monster ...


9

I think this is one of those situations that is pretty much up to the table to resolve. See the interpretation in this thread: A Wishing Ring can remove a curse and its effects at anytime. So things like Big Feet, Tiny Hands and Chicken on your Head can be removed by a wishing ring even though after they have hit and are persistent. There ...


9

Yes, the rules do specifically say Combat strength is the total of Level plus all modifiers - positive or negative - given by items and other cards. So the helping player adds all their bonuses to yours. Remember also to count situational modifiers that are brought about by the new helper eg. a monster who is +4 against Elves would gain a +4 bonus if ...


9

Both players must roll to run away separately, and any player that fails to run away suffers the bad stuff. From the official rules If two players are cooperating and still can’t defeat the monster(s), they must both Run Away. They roll separately, and each player chooses in what order to Run Away. The monster(s) CAN catch them both. and If ...


8

No he can't, although official evidence is a little circumstantial. This question is in an old version of the Munchkin FAQ (but not the current one): Q. A wizard must discard his hand to use his charm ability. Can he do this if he has no cards? A. No. If you have no cards, you don't have a hand. This is corroborated on the Munchkin wiki: ...


8

My friend experimented with this, but he ultimately determined it to be too much effort; Two players are each dealt two player's worth of treasure and door cards. Going back and forth, they take the role of each of their players, back and forth. No trading between your own two characters note: stealing as a Theif over-rides this No helping in fights ...


8

From the rules "When To Play Cards" (page 5): Monsters If drawn face-up, during the “Kick Open The Door” phase, they immediately attack the person who drew them. If acquired any other way, they go into your hand and may be played during “Looking For Trouble,” or played on another player with the Wandering Monstercard. Monster cards can only ...


7

Hirelings are just cards, like other cards. The rules for looting are quite clear - you lose all the cards you had in play. So not only do you lose anything he's carrying, you lose your Hireling too (he runs off somewhere)! Death If you die, you lose all your stuff. You keep your Class(es), Race(s), and Level (and any Curses that were affecting ...


7

Yes that is one way to achieve a tie. A SJG representative confirmed it (with a slight clarification with regard to being enthralled): Q: I was playing the original Munchkin game as an elf who gains a level for each monster that they help kill. I was enthralled to fight by a bard. We were both level 9 and killed the three monsters. Since we both gained ...


7

We always did the obvious: the monster will fight everybody, no matter what level but if you are running, it will only follow characters of level 5 or higher. Therefore, you can safely run away as long as your char is below level 5 as it will not follow you! Only chance that bad stuff happens to you would be having a way of preventing your running ...


7

Yes, go right ahead. For most one-shots, the only requirement for playing them is that there's combat happening. As soon as it is, you can play your one-shots. You don't need to wait your turn or anything like that - there's no turn to wait for! Snoozers losers, you've got loot and levels to find. From the original rules: Items – Using Them Any ...


7

No, you do not draw a new hand when yours runs out. Your friends are playing with a house rule. It might be an optional rule in some expansion's handbook, but I'm not aware of such an optional rule. The only time you draw a new hand is when you start a new character: at the beginning of the game, or after you die. You are not expected to always have cards ...


7

We have played it this way. I've not found anything in the rules that indicates that you need to be able to cover the cost of failing before attempting the theft. Also, this is probably the best time to use the Theft ability since your level can never go below 1.


7

Absolutely. "Will not pursue anyone of level X or below" is a rule that only affects your potential to run away from the monster, it does not prevent you from facing or killing the monster. However it does leave you with an easy way out in case your friends do decide to power the monster up (not likely at level 1 or 2, but it may still happen). From the ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible