Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

2

Well, the good news is that you are not in Furiten. The waits on that hand are 2-char, 5-char, and 8-char, and none of those have been discarded by either player, so Furiten does not apply. What you DID fall victim to is the yaku requirement. That hand does not meet the requirements on account of it being open. It would need to be a concealed hand for a win ...


1

It doesn't look like you're in furiten. However, in riichi mahjong, a hand also needs at least one complete yaku (multiplier) before it can be completed, and I'm not seeing one in your hand. If your hand were still closed, you could easily supply the needed multiplier simply by calling riichi. However, calling riichi requires a closed hand, and since ...


1

Warning: not exactly familiar with the term Riichi, nor with the specific Mahjong ruleset Riichi Mahjong (Henceforth, RMJ). In the books I've read, and the 3 different published rulesets I've played (One of which was a 1960's Japanese rulebook translation), the functional definition of "on the first turn" is "without having discarded." Having just read ...


1

Riichi Mahjong has a one-yaku minimum before you can complete your hand. While tsumo gives you a yaku if the hand is still closed, it won't give you anything if you've already opened your hand by calling melds. For further details, you can read the related answer here: Why couldn't this hand win with ron? Your hand, as it stands, doesn't have any yaku. ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible