Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

8

The order of board element movement is in the rules (page 6). Express conveyor belts move 1 space in the direction of the arrows. Express conveyor belts and normal conveyor belts move 1 space in the direction of the arrows. Pushers push if active. Gears rotate 90° in the direction of the arrows. The belt moves first. So if you are pushed on the belt, you ...


8

Yes, if you drive over a pit, gravity wins. This is a game, not a cartoon. This is mentioned in the rules page 8. Destruction: A robot is destroyed when: It receives its tenth Damage token. OR It moves or is moved into a pit. OR It moves or is moved off the edge of the board. In the original version, there where pits that could be ...


8

Yes, robots can still receive damage tokens while powered down. From Page 5 of the rulebook under Power Down: Other robots can push a powered-down robot, and the robot can still be damaged (such as by laser fire), Because of that, a robot that’s powered down may receive new Damage tokens during the turn Yes, you still repair damage and collect option ...


7

There are several things to take into account: Your position in the race. If I 'm comfortably ahead, I will be somewhat more inclined to power down (willing to accept a known handicap rather than possibly risk an unknown turn of events if I take much damage quickly). If I 'm trying to catch up, I will only power down if it seems my progress is getting way ...


5

This uses the online PDF from http://www.wizards.com/avalonhill/rules/roborally.pdf You aren't allowed to "sit" anywhere. First: You have to play cards. If you time-out, the player to the right plays random cards to fill out your non-locked registers. (p. 4) Locked registers WILL be played. Second: All movement Cards used but not locked are discarded, as ...


5

They're programmed randomly. This is dealt with explicitly on page 10 of the rules: LOCKING REGISTERS DURING POWER DOWN Because robots can still be damaged during a power down, they can sometimes accumulate Damage tokens for a register to lock up before they reenter play. Registers that become locked when your robot is powered down are immediately ...


4

It depends on how you view the rules from the original 1994 edition vs the rules from the newer edition. In the rules for the original edition, you cannot: A powered-down robot is completely shut down--it can't fire weapons, tag checkpoints, or update its archive location, nor can it acquire or use option cards. Powered-down robots don't move under ...


3

Unfortunately the rules don't quite say this explicitly, but the intent is that you must have a card in every register. If you only have 5 cards, then in order to satisfy that you have to put one on each register, meaning you can't use crab legs. There are a few things in the rules that at least strongly imply that. The biggest one is the "reveal program ...


3

I someone is able to somehow null out their 5 moves to collect options - kill them! Your robot has a laser for a reason :) Also, most hammer and wrench spaces are hard to get to - if they sit and waste many turns collecting options you should be able to beat them in the race.


3

The best way to discourage this behavior is to remember it's a race, and start racing. Grabbing early options is actually a very good strategy -- it maximizes the use you'll get out of them during the game. But once you've got a few loaded up, get your butt moving. Every turn your opponents spend option camping is a turn you get to advance without them ...


2

Space Alert is a cooperative game in which you plan out your entire sequence of moves while trying to communicate with other players about the moves that you are making and the moves that they should make. It uses very similar parts of your brain as RoboRally, with the exception that you're communicating about what each other are doing rather than trying to ...


2

A key question is whether you'll do as much missing the first of the next, say, three turns after powering down as you would have done with all three turns. I have found that it's clearly wrong to announce when I am expecting to have only 2 damage, and probably wrong when I'm expecting to have 3 damage. I don't have any probability analysis to back this ...


2

It's not 100% clear, but I'd say yes, you can see the other players' cards. The rules explicitly say that everyone reveals their cards at the same time, so if you reveal a card, everyone else's are visible too. (I'd probably try to avoid spending much time looking around at everyone else's moves and figuring out conveyor belts and so on, though!)


1

My understanding is that the option card priority rules only apply when decisions about option cards would otherwise be made at the same time, for example, if you're both firing lasers and deciding whether to use options. But if you're moving, you already know who moves first, and you decide whether to use the option card as you move, so the option card ...


1

Yes, as long as they don't conflict. (For example, you couldn't use the Mini Howitzer and the Tractor Beam at the same time.) There's nothing in the rules that says otherwise. There are a few places that do mention having more than one option card; surely they'd have mentioned if you couldn't actually use both.


1

They had the same discussion on bgg. Yes you can push multiple robots.


1

Boardgamegeek has got a list on this topic. I do however not know which game you are referring to.


1

I don't think about powering down until the first register is locked. If the number of robots in the field is low, I might continue one or two turns, but if the number of robots is more than four, I will power down. When I announce my power down, I will try to move away from the clutter of robots to avoid a possible death. And I will definitely not power ...


1

It's a lot easier to camp a "Toy Spot" than some of the other answers are making out. To combat this, we institute a limit of 3 options. If you would get a 4th you must choose and discard one of your options BEFORE you draw a new one. This reduces the camping to a good extent, but doesn't stop it either. And of course, if someone is camping constantly, ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible