Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

7

I am going to guess that you were most likely playing Sabra Rummikub. You almost got it right with the former. The pagat page indicates that: The first meld made by each player must consist of one or more combinations formed entirely from that player's hand, where the total numbers of the tiles used add up to 30 or more. If a joker is used, it counts as ...


4

Wow, they've really been messing with the rules of the game. In every version of Rummikub that I've ever played (and I'm one for reading the rules before we start playing), this kind of thing is explicitly disallowed like this: A combination which contains a joker can have further tiles added to it, but nothing can be taken from it, nor can it be ...


4

There is a game called Dice Rummikub, which uses dice instead of tiles; while related, it is its own game and requires more than a single die. Short of being mixed into the box accidentally, or tossed in as a convenient first-player randomizer (because "high tile goes first" is just so complicated :p), I can't think of any reason for its inclusion in the ...


3

According to the official rules, your house rule (which I also used to play) IS currently official: Once a player replaces a joker, they must use it in the same turn as part of a set. Although it specifically contradicts your other house rule about manipulating sets containing a Joker: Sets containing jokers can be split and manipulated like ...


2

You can do as much legal "moves" as you like in the same turn. After making the initial meld, rest of this player's turn is treated just like any other turn. Things you can do in your turn (multiple times): add tile to existing group/run put set of tiles creating new group/run break existing set (group/run) into separate tiles, as long as all of them will ...


2

What happens if I move every other number in the Joker's meld, leaving the Joker on its own? You can move and rearrange the Joker like every other tile. What happens to the Joker's value? (Does it remain exactly what it was before, or can I pick a new value?) you can use it for the value you want. Getting the Joker out of an existing row to use it ...


2

I could be misremembering (I couldn't find a source), but I think my old set of Rummikub might have included a die purely to decide who goes first. I definitely remember buying a game that included a die that was only used to see who goes first. I remember only because it seemed so absurd as there are many other ways to decide who goes first.


1

We always played that Jokers value was 'set' until you replaced it with a chip from your hand. So if you had a Black 123J the Joker was a Black 4 until it was actually replaced with one from you HAND not elsewhere already in play. I don't have the rules to double check to make sure it wasn't a house rule.


1

During your turn, you can pretty much do whatever you see fit with every tile on the table, including those you've only just placed. As long as the end result has no invalid sets. Except, apparently, joker tiles: From Rummikub.org: With the exception of the joker, any tile on the table may be repositioned provided that all tiles on the board eventually ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible