Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

6

There's no such concept. The following are the win conditions for the red and blue teams from the rules: A team wins if a dwarf from that team creates the connection to the treasure and the way there isn't blocked by a door of the other color. A team wins if a dwarf from the other team creates the connection to the treasure, but the way there for his or ...


6

The game designer, Frederic Moyersoen, discusses the answer to that question on BGG. Essentially, only the Boss wins If there is a path with a blue and green door, the boss is the only player who can win through this path (4 points). This can be a winning strategy for the boss.


5

This was answered by the Designer, Frederic Moyersoen on BoardGameGeek: Any card you place in the gallery must match with an existing corridor. There is no exception for placing a card with a ladder. And here: As the ladder is always connected to the start card, you can place this card when the connection is interrupted. Taken together, the ...


4

Player A should not draw. The player the card was played on is the one who draws. Another way to think about it: Before the swap turn, Player A has X cards and Player B has Y cards. Player A plays a swap on Player B. Assuming the deck has cards in it, afterward Player A should have Y cards and Player B should have X cards. Another way to think about ...


4

I agree the the rules are poorly phrased in the "A team wins if:" section. It provides an outcome tree, but clearly fails to provide a branch for what happens if a dwarf from the other team creates a connection to the treasure, and the way is not blocked for that team by a door of the wrong colour. Later in the rules, under "Splitting The Treasure" it ...


4

Yes. Part of the game is knowing when not to end the game. In the scenario you described, the Boss or the Profiteer must have ended the game (because it's the only way a Green and a Blue can both win with those characters). But that might not have been their best option. The following is the scoring possibilities for the party you presented: ...


3

No, you can't, because no player can have 2 action cards of the same type affecting them at the same time. This is part of the passage that introduces cards like Theft, so while you're technically not "affected" by a Theft in front of you, it would seem that a loose interpretation is in order. Hands Off uses wording that implies a player could have ...


3

You appear to be referring to this passage from the rules: At any given time, a maximum of three such broken tool cards may be in front of a particular player, but only one card of each type. Given that each player has three tools, that is a meandering way of saying At any given time, only one broken tool card of each type may be in front of a ...


3

I believe the answer lies in the description of the Trapped card (which is used to lock someone up). This comes from the official rules of Saboteur2: Play this card face-up in front of another player of your choice. This player is trapped and cannot play any more path cards. If a player is trapped when the round ends, they don‘t get counted as one of ...


3

As far as I can see, in Saboteur 2 you never change the available roles based on the number of players. So in your 4 player game, you could have 3 Saboteurs and 1 Geologist, and a completely ridiculous mine in the end. The rules just say "Shuffle the 15 role cards together".


3

No. The geologist does not count as a winner. As noted in the rules, they are indifferent as to who wins and loses, caring only about the crystals.


3

Yes, There is no reason per the rules to suspect that Theft does not work for someone who is trapped. As one exception for Theft is explicitly listed (Trapped!), someone would need to make a compelling argument as to why broken equipment should keep Theft from working.


3

It's clear that the rules are a little badly worded. They say: The Boss builds tunnels for both the Green and the Blue Team and wins every time one of the teams wins. However, the game's creator has made it clear that in the corner case, where the path is completed but both the Blue and Green teams are blocked by a door, the Boss wins anyway (even ...


3

The game designer, Frederic Moyersoen, discusses the answer to that question on BGG (emphasis mine). If there is a path with a blue door, the blue gold-diggers win (and not the green). If there are no blue gold-diggers, no profiteur and no boss, nobody wins.


2

Since the scoring depends on the player combination, I will discuss on four different cases. The scoring rules are summarized at the bottom of this post. Situation: Route to gold is blocked with both, green and blue door. This immediately implies that no blue or green team can win. Players in blue or green team will get no points. A player (Any player: ...


2

It does not. Note that this rule is optional in the original rule set. Answered by the Designer, Frederic Moyersoen on BGG: The broken tools variant was introduced to have some competition between the gold-diggers. The extension provides more chaos and competition. Therefore, this variant rule has been skipped during the design of the game. ...


2

In a 4-player game, all 15 new Dwarf Cards are used. All 15 dwarf cards (4 green and 4 blue Gold Diggers, 1 Boss, 2 Geologists, 1 Profiteer, and 3 Saboteurs) are used, regardless of the number of players in the game. From the rules, under Set-Up [...] Then shuffle all 15 new Dwarf Cards and deal one face-down to each player. Again, it does not matter ...


2

Yes. There is no limit on where you can build.


2

Like gems, coal lumps due not bock the road. The path to the treasure may pass through a card with a coal lump. If they wanted the path to be blocked, they would have used something like the existing 4-way dead-end. Based on experience, starting from the original ladder would not be feasible.


1

No. Unless the previous Theft card is removed by a Hands off -card. The Z-Man games rules for Saboteur 2 states As in the base game, in this expansion no player can have 2 action cards of the same type affecting them at the same time. (Same rule can be found also in the Nordic edition rulebook)


1

CASE: Players in the round are Profiteur, Blue dwarf, Green dwarf, a Saboteur and the Boss. --> Boss and Profiteur will win. (Green and Blue are blocked by doors. Saboteur wins only if gold is not found. Boss wins if there is a connection to the gold. Profiteour wins always). Since there are two winners, it will mean 4 points for each. Boss will get one ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible