Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

55

You are correct. Your own cities do not affect your status towards the "Longest Road" You can view the official rules here, from pg. 9 (emphasis is mine). You can break an opponent’s road by building a settlement on an open intersection along his road! On page 8, in the example, Emily has the longest road card with 7 segments. She has two houses ...


54

That's not as bad as actually trading all of one of your resources away for other things, and then using "Monopoly" to get it all back. I've seen people play that way before. Underhanded, yes. Illegal, no. The problem with playing this way is that it can really poison the friendly feel of the game. I had a player who used this tactic, as well as other ...


43

Significantly. The thing about 2d6 is that you've got a range of numbers that have a certain probability of them showing up. When you're rolling 2d6, your available numbers are 2-12. You're dropping off the number 1. Also, you have an escelating scale of percentage probability. 2's and 12's will happen 2.77% of the time (each). 3's and 11's will happen ...


37

It depends on the people you're playing with and the tone of the game you're in. I play with two groups: my family (wife and two teenage boys); and a group of long-time friends. I think this tactic has been used in both groups, and everybody acts shocked but takes it in the spirit of the game. I think a good rule of thumb is 'will this change how they play ...


34

It must be random as Pat said, but you could immediately offer to trade whatever he draws with the card you'd rather give him.


32

I think the main thing you need to do is correctly identify your strengths and weaknesses, and don't try to force a strategy you're not set up for. If you don't have abundant brick and wood, don't even bother going for Longest Road. Even the worst placement will have some resources they are rich in. Try to get a port that capitalizes on your resources, ...


32

If you build a settlement on his road, you disrupt it yes. See also: catan-longest-road-clarification You can build on any place if: You can reach it by road or ship The vacant spot has no neighbouring settlements or cities. (there must be at least one an empty spot between two settlement/cities)


32

As a counterpoint to ICodeForCoffee's answer: I much prefer having access to brick and wood on initial settlements. Initial brick and wood allow you to get to more positions on the map, to increase your ore and corn income. Initial corn and ore allow you to build cities, which get you... more corn and ore. If you start on corn and ore, you can find ...


32

This will depend tremendously on the situation, but it's worth learning some generalities: If you are playing with just the base set: brick and wood are completely identical as everything that needs one wood also needs one brick (roads and settlements). Wheat is completely superior to wool/sheep as it is also needed for cities in addition to everything ...


30

The True Winner is player A. The first player to obtain 10 points on his or her turn is the winner. From the online FAQ at catan.com Answer Yes. The game ends as soon as a player has reached the required number of victory points on his turn. If he’s unaware of it, you should tell him, because you can’t take an already gained victory away from him. ...


30

Per the Settlers of Catan FAQ here: Is it true that the number of cards in your hand is always open and available information? Specifically, should it be readily apparent how many development cards you have, but have not yet played? Or can you hide the resource cards under the table or in your pocket so that no one can see how many cards you ...


29

Yes, it's lame :P. But at my table you wouldn't be reprimanded, but expect future trade to get a little more difficult. This is an awesome way to get the rest to gang up on you.


29

Count the cards in the supply In Settlers of Catan you are always allowed to count the number of resources left in the supply decks. It is a perfectly legal move to count the deck before using the monopoly on a resource. This also means that after you got the resources you can just check how many you have in your hand, and how many are left in the deck. ...


26

In a two-player situation I could see how this might be acceptable, but with more players I'd be very cautious. For instance, it may appear to you that player three is the foregone winner, but perhaps player two has a victory Development Card, along with a Road Building that could catapult him to longest road, if he can just get another brick to make one ...


26

We've played many enjoyable games with the following system that does nothing to deal with the loss of trading, but handles the other issues raised above quite well: Change hex setup to barbell shape (see picture) 3 of each resource hex (ores always placed as shown with 3-8-11, rest randomized) 8 randomized ports (5 2:1, 3 3:1) A set of randomized ...


23

Whenever you buy a development card, it increase your options because: Development Cards solve your problems. Get a resource you couldn't otherwise, with Monopoly, Year of Plenty, or stealing using a Knight. Get more resources by getting the Robber off your land. (Remember you can do this before you roll!) Slow down an opponent by putting the Robber on ...


23

I would suggest trying to start the game by diversifying your resources and numbers. While I've started games without any access to brick, it usually limits my ability to expand, and keeps me from building out as fast as the other players. How you start affect what your going to do. You'll also have to select sites that are available, since no matter what ...


22

If I'm the first player, I always go for the most powerful settlement, since I have no idea what I'll get when it comes back around to me. If I'm last, I grab spots that based on the numbers and the available ports will get me an advantage. I also like to try to place the second settlement on a brick/wood combo so I can start with a road. The other ...


22

To affect the road length, the village/city must be from another player. And it only limits the counting of the road through that village/city. You can count up to the village/city that is not yours. Also, here's a more official 'no:' http://www.catan.com/faq/2-catan-boardgame/952-longest-road-do-my-own-settlements-interrupt-my-continuous-road.html


22

I played a diceless variant where every village has a "worker". you place the worker in an empty tile next to the village when you create the village at the beginning of your turn, you get one resource for each worker, from its tile -OR- you may skip acquisition to remove another player's worker (he'll be able to re-assign it at the end of his next turn) ...


22

On page 5 of the "Base Game Rules" downloadable from catan.com/gamerules.html (describing what happens when you roll a 7, or use a knight card): (1) You must move the robber immediately to the number token of any other terrain hex or to the desert hex. (Emphasis mine.) This page was last updated in January 2012, so I would assume it's a pretty ...


21

The card system that you describe is not just a variant, it is an official expansion, Catan: Event Cards, which includes not only the rolls (in the form of the totals with the appropriate distribution) but also red dice for Cities and Knights and a selection of minor game events.


21

The two biggest expansions for Catan are Seafarers of Catan and Catan: Cities and Knights. I previously asked the question, "How is gameplay improved in the Cities & Knights Expansion?" recently before buying it myself. I would check out the answers there for some other opinions on that expansion. There is also a third expansion, Catan: Traders & ...


21

Yes, the resource must be random. Settlers of Catan has one of the best online FAQ's that I've seen: “Seven” and Robber - Can I voluntarily give a card to a game partner, instead of letting him draw it? Answer No.


20

Unfortunately, it depends. After the initial layout you want to try to identify which resources will be scarce and dominate them. At the same time you want to try to identify which resources will be plentiful and dominate them and position yourself for the related 2-1 port. It's unusual that you will be able to accomplish all of that :) Once the layout ...


20

From the official FAQ: Can the roads I build “go through” other players’ settlements and cities? Answer: No. If you build a new road, it must always connect to one of your own roads, settlements, or cities. The inverse situation is also interesting: Longest Road - How can I interrupt the Longest Road of a game partner? Answer: By ...


20

Answering the question and its follow-ups: In general, you are not allowed to decline to take a resource. Page 12 of the rules gives a more detailed explanation of the rule Pat Ludwig cited. There is no option about whether or not to take a resource card if you place the robber next to a city/settlement of one or more players, all of whom have at least one ...


20

To build a settlement, you just need to obey the relevant rules for building a settlement, which are: You may only build a settlement at an intersection if all 3 of the adjacent intersections are vacant (i.e., none are occupied by any settlements or cities—even yours). Each of your settlements must connect to at least 1 of your own roads. ...


19

First, make sure you're following the rule that the person who's turn it is must be involved in all trades during that turn. If you let everyone trade during the trading phase, discussions could take a while. Assuming you're following that rule, it really shouldn't take that person very long to figure out all of the available trades. If you start out by ...


19

You cannot show other players your cards. From the FAQ: Resource Cards - Do I always have to keep my Resource Cards face down? Yes.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible