Tag Info

New answers tagged

0

Once 10 Victory Points (VP) has been reached, then you have automatically won, even if you have played a development card prior to purchasing the winning VP card. If you are playing alternate rules, then you can always agree upon a new set of rules which cover this topic.


0

I'm going from memory of 1st edition here, rather than the current rules. I'm pretty sure you had to declare victory on your turn to win - even with the 5/6 player expansion. However - one fix for this is question, which is used in some tournaments I've played - is to always score victory as 12 points, regardless of number of points. 12 is about the right ...


-1

I think the answer has already been stated. IF you are playing a 'regular' game or a tournament where you win and advance, declaring victory is required when it happens. However, if you are playing a tournament where the number of points matters - as it does in the world qualifiers at GenCon - then, yes, you can hold onto those point. Of course, it would ...


1

The key thing that nobody here has yet clearly and explicitly stated is this, from the rules on http://www.catan.com/service/game-rules: (From Victory Point Card section): You only reveal your Victory Point Cards when you or someone else wins the game! Keep Victory Point Cards hidden until you have 10 points during your turn and you can declare ...


-2

i was in the lead , when one player gave away cards to keep the game going longer by helping them build the longest road and gain the card and points to go with it.trade means swap. give away is not a trade. the person giving away was in the worst position so had nothing to loose. turned out the player with only 4 settlement points had also 6 points with ...


-3

This is a made up rule: You only win if you announce that you have 10 points. Made up rules have no effect on actual gameplay. When you have 10 points, you win. When you win, the game ends. You cannot continue to play when you have 10 points.


10

You have won the game as soon as your have 10 points on your turn, there is no requirement to "declare" victory. So no, you cannot keep playing extra rounds. From the official FAQ: Victory Conditions - May I continue scoring points after having reached the number of victory points required for a win? This could make sense in a private ...


4

Yes, you are always limited to the number of pieces you have, no matter what that piece is. In the case of Cities and Knights, the Fortress does only allow you to upgrade your two strong knights (level 2) to mighty knights (level 3), which in itself is only an upgrade of 2 strength. However, in doing so, it also means that you can have up to six knights on ...


3

Yes, like the Settlements and Cities, you are constrained by the number of knights you have to promote to Mighty knights (or any other type) 2 of each. You can always make house rules but the game was designed with the specific number of pieces they sent along.


1

If you are happy to make the handicap explicit then victory points are a good way to do it. Increase the threshold the better player needs to reach in order to win. I am experimenting with this playing with my son who is 11. Remember that victory point increases are not linear (ie gaining an extra point when you have 10 points is a lot easier than when at ...


7

From the rules: The starting player places a settlement on an open intersection of his choice. [From the setup instructions] Intersections are the points where 3 hexes meet. In order to control a harbor, you must build a settlement on a coastal intersection which borders the harbor. Water hexes are hexes, so the points at which two land ...



Top 50 recent answers are included