Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

10

I think it's important to realise that it's not just your group: a lot of people have been grumbling about the Immortal Iron Dwarves combination. I've seen plenty of suggestions that it should just straight up be banned. You're not "missing something" about how to deal with it - it's just very, very good, definitely to the point of being too good. Having ...


6

No, powers cannot be shared between races. They are specific to one race only. Sometimes though, powers carry on in to decline. When you flip over your race/power tokens to go in to decline, it usually has symbols or graphics on the back that show what powers remain in decline. If it is just blank then you have no decline powers (See backside of Dwarves, ...


5

I was able to defeat an immortal dwarves combo in a 3-playergame with one new player ( so no help from him). The key was killing his race in decline so that he had 'only' 11 points a turn. Hide on the other side of the map and try to accumulate more than 11 points a turn. Do not fight them!!! It's a good combo, but it only gives them map pressure. Just go ...


5

There's a great "first look" at Small World Underground here. This section in particular caught my eye: After you choose a map, do not use powers that depend on features that are not present. The following features are considered equivalent concerning their interaction with powers: -- Black Mountains / Mountains -- Mudpools / Marshes -- ...


5

There's actually an official ruling on this very point by Days of Wonder in the SWU FAQ: Q.If my active Race controls the Pentacle, may I move the Balrog, then enter in Decline? A.Yes, since the Balrog may be moved "at any point during [your] turn". Some people may not like this ruling very much, but I don't think its existence can be denied! ...


3

No, Races have only one Special Power badge associated with them. You will see it referred to as a Race and Special Power combo throughout the rules. A Race does not share its Special Power with any other Race. Races in decline usually lose their Special Power badge. (excerpt from Entering In Decline, page 8). The relationship between your Active and ...


2

No, you don't generate more Mushroom Armor in decline. From the rules on entering in Decline: To do so, the player flips his current Race banner upside down, so that the duotone In Decline side becomes visible to all, and discards the Special Power badge that was associated with it as that Special Power badge is no longer in effect, unless ...


1

The only relationship (unless a specific power says otherwise) is that they both give money to you. They don't interact, so your Drow example would garner no extra income. For you second question the answer is simple, you occupy the region the same way anyone else would, exterminate* the in decline race there and take it. *Sorry, I've been watching a lot ...


1

There is no possibility of using 2 Scepter's of Avarice in the same area. From the FAQ: Q. May I use the Bag o'Many Things to duplicate the power of a Relic in a region where that Relic already is? For example, may I use the Bag on the Scepter of Avarice to quadruple my region's income? A. No. The power of a Relic cannot be duplicated in a region ...


1

Empty does not mean "needs 2 critters to conquer" it means without monster or race tokens. From the rules, bottom of page 9 A Region is deemed non-empty if, and only if, it contains at least one Monster or Race token (Active or In Decline). A Region that contains a Black Mountain marker, a Popular Place or a Righteous Relic but no Monster or enemy ...


1

Four territories in a row are worth 2 bonus coins. Adjacency doesn't matter. Per the FAQ: Q. If a Fisher Race occupies 4 regions in a row that borders the river, does that count as 3 pairs (AB, BC, CD) ? A. No. That would count as 2 pairs, AB and CD. Note that these regions do not need to be adjacent to each other.


1

The rulebook (page 14) states that the Shiny Orb can only be used once per turn. Nothing about per opponent. You can use it but once each turn. You can use it in addition to the Vampire power (which can be used once per opponent per turn. If you are Magic, then you can use it one additional time, on the same or different opponent.


1

Yes You are playing this correctly. Perusing the rules and the BGG forums (where the designer posts occasionally) there isn't any doubt that the hammers accumulate to their maximum of 7 every turn. It is also noted that the races and particularly race/power combinations are not meant to be balanced in Small World: Underground. Players should be expected ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible