Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

21

In Small World, as soon as you discover that someone has a combo that seems powerful you need only to do a couple things Kill off any declined empire of his Regularly snipe a territory or two of his every turn. If at least one other players agrees with you, the declined empire should be gone by the start of his second turn with the powerful combo (at the ...


17

Excerpt from the rule book itself: Amazons Four of your Amazon tokens may only be used for conquest, not for defense, as indicated by the +4 on the banner itself. So you start your initial turn with 10 Amazon tokens (plus any additional ones that may be granted to you by the Special Power associated with the Amazons, depending on your ...


16

The Dragon does not fly or give the race flying. (Therefore you can normally* only conquer adjacent areas). The Dragon does not do the conquering, only allow you to conquer an area with a single race token. You place the Dragon after you conquer the area. *normally used as I don't have all the expansions and for all I know there is an edge case out ...


15

Dwarves just aren't a great race, you're never going to want to pick them highly. However, once there is a little stack of Victory coins on top of them, who knows? If you reckon you are in a position to conquer a couple of Mine regions (perhaps, as you say, by Flying) and then hold them over a fair number of turns, defended by your Active race, then they ...


13

No, you need to be able to conquer the adjacent territory. Only races with Seafaring can conquer the sea or Lake Regions. The rules state on the Seafaring ability (page 11): As long as your Seafaring race is active, you may conquer the Seas and the Lake, ... Only seafaring races may occupy the seas and the lake. On the Conquering a Region section (page ...


13

The rules say: Roll the die first; select the Region you wish to conquer; then place the required number of Race tokens (minus the die results) there. Since you roll the die even before you decide what to attack, it would seem very unlikely that you'd need to determine the number of attackers beforehand. This is further bolstered by a thread at the ...


13

One thing I'm discovering about Small World (especially in games with smaller number of players) is that it's not inherently balanced - your opponents can easily snap up amazing race/ability combos for cheap, leaving you with much less attractive options, just by random virtue of the seating order. As such, you simply have to play a competitive game. Don't ...


12

You still have to go into decline. This is clarified in the FAQ, where every answer has been made by a Days of Wonder spokesperson: All active units destroyed If all your active units are destroyed in one turn you may: 1) Score points only with the in-decline race. or 2) Go into decline and score 0 for that turn. You may not take a new ...


11

In Vinci, the original game that Small World is based on, VPs are open. In that game it can lead to end game kingmaker effects where a player can't possibly win, but can decide who does win based on who they attack. With hidden VPs, the kingmaker effect is still there but its less obvious, as players who aren't precisely tracking every VP won't know when a ...


11

These are just some general suggestions: Go for numbers early. When the map is still mostly empty, it seems like quantity of troops is slightly more valuable than quality. I'm willing to give up a coin or two on the first round to get a few more troops. Don't be afraid to abandon all regions and relocate all your troops. Sometimes this is a very good thing ...


10

(1) You are correct - if you Decline your active race, that's all you do in that turn. There's no window of opportunity for conquering at all. (2) I believe Declined Ghouls operate as a special case: normally only one token of a Declined race stays in a region, so it's very obvious what happens when that region is conquered (the token is obliterated). ...


10

The Gypsies ability states: "Place 1 bonus Victory coin (taken from the Victory stash) in each Region you abandon. You cannot conquer these Regions again this turn, but you receive the coins they hold as a bonus at turns end". At the start of your turn, you place coins in each Region your Gypsies occupy. At the end of the Gypsies turn, collect all ...


9

No, they cannot combine. (in the way that you are implying). Attacks are not made from units on the board, they are made from units "in hand". Once deployed to the board, units may not be moved or picked back up until the next turn. Each attack is from one distinct region to another. Note that during the Ready your Troops phase, you should pick up all ...


8

The "Solution" to Merchant Elves is anything Sorcerers. With only 8 tokens, ME's are not terribly strong (but are rolling in VP's). If they have ANY one token space, get next to it, and convert an Elf. The Elf player drops a token, and can't get it back, and further, just lost 2 points of maximum potential income. If the Sorcerers are not to hand, just beat ...


8

You always have the option of picking up all your pieces and starting again from the edge of the board. You would probably be able to fairly quickly conquer all regions controlled by your opponent's inactive race. From the rules, Page 6 - "Abandoning A Region" If the player chooses to abandon all the Regions he previously occupied, his next conquest ...


8

From the rules Once per turn per opponent, your Sorcerers can conquer a region by substituting 1 of your opponent’s active tokens with one of your own from the tray. From the FAQ Q: Can Sorcerers use their Ability after placing all their units? A: It depends what you mean. The Sorcerers cannot use their Ability after doing a final ...


8

No, it is not required. There's nothing wrong with just leaving everything exactly as is. Leaving in place one Race token in each Region they occupy, the player may take all his other Active Race tokens from the map back in hand and use them to conquer new Regions. Note the "may". Also: The active player can repeat this process to conquer as ...


7

You have it backwards. Orcs do not gain a bonus for conquering unoccupied territories. From the Rule Book, emphasis mine: Orcs Each not empty Region your Orcs conquered this turn is worth 1 bonus Victory coin, at the end of your turn. Vacating a territory would mean that it was unoccupied when conquered, and therefore the orcs would not get a ...


7

You are correct, when you choose to decline your current race, the previous markers of the previous race in decline are immediately removed and not scored (Unless of course the previous race in decline has the Spirit special power.) See Entering in Decline on page 6 of the rulebook. Emphasis mine. Each player can only have a single race In Decline on ...


7

Lost tribe tokens are neither an active race nor under the control of an opponent, so they clearly can't be the target of the sorcerors' ability.


7

We were wrong. Consulting the Day's of Wonder FAQ I learned: Q: Is a race with the Diplomat power allowed to nominate a player, who has just declined or who has not yet had a turn (and therefore has no active race) as an ally? A: Yes indeed, the only restriction in the choice of an ally is that you cannot choose a player if you just attacked his ...


7

Years of playing MtG have made questions like this easier for me. At the end of your turn, you may select one opponent whose Active race you did not attack this turn as your ally. You are now at peace with him and he cannot attack your Active race until your next turn. ... Breaking this rule down: At the end of your turn, select one opponent. That ...


7

Most of Small World's expansions (Grand Dames, Be Not Afraid, Cursed) just add additional races and powers. Those won't lengthen the game. Realms adds a modular board and scenarios. Those will presumably add to the setup time a little, and some of the scenarios might also take longer than an ordinary game. Tales & Legends adds events, which will take a ...


7

Because it says "back into the Storage tray", it is the first option; Skeletons and Sorcerers can reuse them. Note the limitation in the rules for both Skeletons and Sorcerers: If there are no more tokens in the storage tray... Both Skeletons and Sorcerers state that the new unit comes "from the storage tray", and the rules for the loosing player ...


6

Sounds right to me. Compare and contrast to the Ratmen, who get 8 men both "on attack" and "on defense", as it were. The Amazons are balanced with that race by getting 2 more men (women?) to attack with... but 2 fewer to defend with. When I started thinking about it that way, it became obviously right that the Amazons should attack with 10 but only ...


6

In general... The number of troops is really important. Until the endgame, don't fret too much about how many coins you're spending. You should have have 2-3 races over the course of the game. Target 8-11 points per turn once things get going. Overextending yourself is dangerous. Dwarves deserve special mention: they are terrible. Your first race should ...


6

The rules address that specific case in the section on picking a race (page 3) If, on the other hand, a Special Power (or Race power) lets you take additional Race tokens from the storage tray during the course of the game, you are still limited by the total number of tokens physically available. So a player with 18 Sorcerer tokens on the board ...


6

There is an excellent comparison of the two here. Some highlights: Vinci has one big set of powers and you draw two for each race. Small World splits them into Race Powers and Abilities, preventing some combinations from occurring. Vinci charges you two points for each race you skip over, Small World only 1. This modifies the dynamics of which races you ...


6

No, powers cannot be shared between races. They are specific to one race only. Sometimes though, powers carry on in to decline. When you flip over your race/power tokens to go in to decline, it usually has symbols or graphics on the back that show what powers remain in decline. If it is just blank then you have no decline powers (See backside of Dwarves, ...


6

Because their power continues to work in decline, Dwarves are not intended to be played for very long. In most cases probably 2 turns with them is all you should be doing. Get 2 or 3 mine spots, and move on to your next race. This is why there are fewer Dwarves, because you aren't intended to use them for more than a couple turns or to conquer more than just ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible