Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

5

It sounds like you are reading "need not have any influence" as "must have no influence". Rather, it means "the acting player may take the action whether or not he/she has any influence in the target country." When Ops points are used towards realignment, in a single "Realignment roll", both players roll a die and add their relevant modifiers. The winner ...


3

You've got them straight. The rule book uses all of those terms. The rules are pretty clear on improve, decrease, degrade, and lower: 4.5 A. Improve DEFCON Status: If the DEFCON level is lower than 5, add one to the DEFCON status (towards Peace). 6.3.4 Any Coup attempt in a Battleground country degrades the DEFCON status one level (towards ...


2

That's correct. The China Card is only used for operation points. What's unique about the China Card is the operations value differs depending on where you decide to spend the points. If you spend all of the points inside Asia (and Southeast Asia) you can use 5 OP instead of the 4 printed on the card. If you use the card anywhere else, or in combination with ...


2

If Defectors is triggered by Five-Year Plan during the Headline Phase, it cancels the USSR event if it hasn't happened yet. From the Twilight Struggle FAQ: Q: If Defectors is not selected by the US, but a Headline event causes it to be played, is the USSR Headline event canceled? A: If the event that caused Defectors to be played would be executed ...


2

As far as i can compare the specs on the GMT web site with my 2009 deluxe edition there are no differences.


1

The text on this card was changed from the second edition to the Deluxe Edition, altering any country to any countries. From the Official FAQs: #53 South African Unrest Note the Deluxe Edition card text allows the option of 2 Influence in "...any countries adjacent to South Africa." effectively allowing one each in Angola and Botswana. This ...


1

Quagmire/Bear Trap don't go away at the end of the turn ! From the FAQ: 46 Q. Does a Beartrap or Quagmire end when the turn ends or will it continue into the next turn? A. The end of a turn will not end a Beartrap or Quagmire. Only the required die roll will do so. Remember that neither card affects headline phase. So, if you play it ...


1

does that trigger the end of the game clause on the Cuban Missile Crisis? Yes. From the rulebook: 6.3.5 Cards that state a player may make a “free Coup roll” in a particular region may ignore the geographic restrictions of the current DEFCON level (see 8.1.5). However, a “free Coup roll” used against a Battleground country would still lower DEFCON ...


1

The Mid War card Lone Gunman* has very similar text, but for the USSR: US Player reveals his hand. Then the USSR may Conduct Operations as if they played a 1 Op card. To make it more confusing, consider the Late War card Aldrich Ames Remix*, which reads [emphasis added]: US player exposes his hand to USSR for remainder of turn. USSR then chooses ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible