Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

4

You've got them straight. The rule book uses all of those terms. The rules are pretty clear on improve, decrease, degrade, and lower: 4.5 A. Improve DEFCON Status: If the DEFCON level is lower than 5, add one to the DEFCON status (towards Peace). 6.3.4 Any Coup attempt in a Battleground country degrades the DEFCON status one level (towards ...


3

That's correct. The China Card is only used for operation points. What's unique about the China Card is the operations value differs depending on where you decide to spend the points. If you spend all of the points inside Asia (and Southeast Asia) you can use 5 OP instead of the 4 printed on the card. If you use the card anywhere else, or in combination with ...


3

Me and a friend of mine play this a lot and we had to explain it a bit to a new player, so we also had to give the USSR an advantage because it would be first time player against a veteran. We found that there are three ways to make this a bit more fair: Give the USSR more starting influence to divide (this can be in Eastern Europe or in any other ...


2

If Defectors is triggered by Five-Year Plan during the Headline Phase, it cancels the USSR event if it hasn't happened yet. From the Twilight Struggle FAQ: Q: If Defectors is not selected by the US, but a Headline event causes it to be played, is the USSR Headline event canceled? A: If the event that caused Defectors to be played would be executed ...


2

The standard way to balance the game (However, usually towards the US), is to give the player some number of influence they can place anywhere they already have influence at the start of the game. I think this works slightly better for the US, since they can often add it to Iran, making a coup that much harder, or add a couple to France and try to score ...


1

In TS, this is fairly normal and the game can end quickly at any time. Better equally matched players would have a higher chance of getting to the end. Going to the end is not necessary, and ending the game early is part of the tension.


1

The text on this card was changed from the second edition to the Deluxe Edition, altering any country to any countries. From the Official FAQs: #53 South African Unrest Note the Deluxe Edition card text allows the option of 2 Influence in "...any countries adjacent to South Africa." effectively allowing one each in Angola and Botswana. This ...


1

Quagmire/Bear Trap don't go away at the end of the turn ! From the FAQ: 46 Q. Does a Beartrap or Quagmire end when the turn ends or will it continue into the next turn? A. The end of a turn will not end a Beartrap or Quagmire. Only the required die roll will do so. Remember that neither card affects headline phase. So, if you play it ...


1

does that trigger the end of the game clause on the Cuban Missile Crisis? Yes. From the rulebook: 6.3.5 Cards that state a player may make a “free Coup roll” in a particular region may ignore the geographic restrictions of the current DEFCON level (see 8.1.5). However, a “free Coup roll” used against a Battleground country would still lower DEFCON ...


1

The Mid War card Lone Gunman* has very similar text, but for the USSR: US Player reveals his hand. Then the USSR may Conduct Operations as if they played a 1 Op card. To make it more confusing, consider the Late War card Aldrich Ames Remix*, which reads [emphasis added]: US player exposes his hand to USSR for remainder of turn. USSR then chooses ...


1

Upon closer inspection of the rules, I found the answer: 6.1.4 Influence markers may always be placed in any country that is adjacent (connected) to the phasing player’s superpower space. So, yes, the US player can place influence in Mexico, just because it's adjacent.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible