Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

6

According to this translation of the rules, you can move your piece as far as you like down an open corridor, not just one step.


6

In most games with a trump suit, you must follow with a card of the suit that has been led, unless you are void in that suit (have no cards of that suit), at which point you may play a trump card. Given that, I would assume the rules in Trumpet are the same, and you cannot play a Trumpet unless you're void in the suit led. This thread on BoardGameGeek ...


5

Going off of this version of the rules. If the Sunrise space is moved past in one turn, these effects still take place. It sounds like the token always advances, and passing through the Sunrise space is sufficient to trigger the vampire actions.


4

Apparently even the two designers are not completely in agreement over this issue. It has come up on BGG more than once. This thread references two other threads where each designer gives an opinion on whether or not you should discard at the end of turn. Jarret Gray says: Discard is part of pass. The cards are supposed to return immediately to ...


4

A German friend of mine translated the card game (I also bought it in Germany, but can't read German), it is available here: Translation of Shaun the sheep card game


4

Actually, there has been official errata posted on this very question: Bumping Ships from The Raiders' Outpost A question has been raised about how the "Bump Rule" works for the Raiders' Outpost if one or more ships in the original run have been removed, either by the Plasma Cannon, the Orbital Teleporter, or by losing control of the Relic Ship. ...


3

Here's one link to start you on your way: a full text spoiler in PDF for the "Underworld" expansion, which was the only one released for the game.


3

I used to work for Aardman, the creators of Shaun the Sheep. The following comes straight from the lovely ladies in their Rights & Licensing department. "The games are a German design and license, they don't exist in English speaking markets, so only German language instructions I'm afraid." It might be worth trying Google Translate?


3

As I see it (having played close to a hundred games), the way to win at T&T is to play all or most of your houses while getting as many bonus points as possible. Beginning players tend to focus on the carriages, but generally if you're playing against experienced players the game will end before you can get to the 7th carriage anyway. How you get the ...


3

On a tie vote, the Yes votes carry. Mayfair Games released this game as Wacky Wacky West, on their website is a play demonstration/rules explanation video. At about 3:15 the voting is explained and contains this: If there are more yes votes than no votes or if it's a tie the tile is played and the outhouse is destroyed. On BoardGameGeek, there is a ...


2

I found some rules here. Wow, here's some tricky wording. Emphasis mine for this quote: If there are more yes votes than no votes then the player lays the tile in the normal way. If however the number of no votes beats the yes votes then the player returns the tile to his hand. It clearly says "Yes > No" to place the tile. However, it doesn't ...


2

After taking another pass through the rules, I see no reason this would be forbidden. That being said, I see no case where this would be a good play. You gain nothing by placing a second builder here, and at best you are causing one player to pay taxes. I suppose in the very narrow situation where 1) this is the last space (and therefore you know which ...


2

Mercator is usually a sure fire way to beat a forum machine, but there are defenses against that too. (Siccarius and Gladiator both do very well.) If you Haruspex the Mercator and you have a Consiliarius and/or Scaenicus in play you can usually win handily against a forum machine. This will usually force your opponent to play offensive with Legionarius ...


2

There's an errata posted on BoardGameGeek that corrects the rules about delivering Guild Orders, and an updated set of rules (from the publisher's site, also available on BGG) which includes the correction. According to the errata and the new rules with the errata included, you do indeed count the second order as a new order, and thus get more VPs than the ...


2

In my experience, this is exactly the fun of the game and all its expansions (and a few others like it): there is not one strategy that is guaranteed to do well, but you have to constantly adapt your strategy to what cards are available, what the other players do, etc. I would consider this a virtue of the game, and would typically consider a game that has ...


2

Did you try Googling? The top hit for the search rules word thief card game seems to be what you want: Rules for Word Thief, by Faby games


2

I certainly favor taking a color. With good players it's impossible to get nothing, and if you pick a single color you'll have some control. Once you start specializing in a color other players are unlikely to take any of that color if they can help it, ensuring you'll get the majority. Once you have that solid majority, towards the last half or third of ...


2

My understanding is that the 3-4 ships remain where they are after the 5 ship is removed, whether by the teleporter, or getting zapped by the Orbital Laser artifact, or whatever. Then a 3-4-5 set of ships will be sufficient to occupy the Outpost again, as a 3-4-5 straight is higher than a 3-4. The same would apply if the 3 or the 4 ship was removed; 3-4-5 ...


2

The player who is being bribed can see the offer (in page 11 of the manual, the example shows that the player sees the offer). However, other players cannot see it and then it is secret from them.


2

Unfortunately, for RPGs where the rules are the game, it is difficult to get a copy of the rules to answer questions like these. This means that we have to rely on designers answering these questions definitively on various forums. Are the rewards for attempting the mission and the experience for completing the mission additive? They are additive, The ...


2

I don't think a definitive answer exists from the designer or publisher, but here is my informed opinion. The first interpretation treats Polarity Stabilizer as you would any other contraption that affects your opponents. You would take the top 3 cards from the scrap pile, put 2 in your hand, then the remaining card to the first opponent. Then you would ...


2

From my experience, I would lean towards the "Go big or go home" school of thought on this. Here's why: Most of the expensive figures have a higher defense value. Most of the less expensive figures have a lower attack value. You may be able to direct 2 or 3 figures towards attacking your opponents costly Superman or Hulk, but they will have a harder time ...


2

According to this BGG post you were correct in your initial interpretation and the "one" is a misprint: unfortunately it was a misprint on the Taberna tile. [...] The correct symbol is the one printed on the board, [...] you are not restricted, you can use [the Taberna] as many times as you wish. So yes, the rules are correct. You can buy any goods ...


2

According to the 2nd Edition rules (although the 1st Edition rules do not differ in this respect, although it clarifies it in a different way), when determining the location of the Fellowship, the Frodo & Sam figurine's location is used. This may be the current location of the Fellowship, if the Fellowship is declared or revealed. Otherwise, it will be ...


2

Well, I'm going to risk making the obvious answer. There is nothing in the rules which limits the number of trucks allowed in each dock... probably because there is no limit to the number of trucks allowed in each dock. Looking at this example paragraph in the rulebook (p11): b. If the demand has not been fulfilled, the Speakeasy must continue buying ...


2

I would assume a normal charades-style ruleset applies to the mimed round of Time's Up. Looking at the "Rules of the acted charade" as given on Wikipedia I see the following: Most commonly, the actor is allowed to make any gestures other than blatantly spelling out the word. In more stringent sets of rules, indicating anything about the form of the ...


2

The creators of the game responded to my inquiry: Yes, this is possible, but if the target burns every token, he/she loses any chance of winning! So tormenting has to be played "not too aggressively" by Spirits, in order for the target to agree to a little loss - that's usually how we see it played!


2

It begins off of the board. The initial setup is illustrated on p. 4 of the rulebook. It is also worth mentioning that when a player plays a Bishop card, that player can choose to remove the Favor of the Pope token from the board (or leave it off) rather than place it in any region.


1

My copy of the WotR rules don't have a page 41, but on page 19 of my rule book, the following text occurs: "If, during the Hunt, the last known position of the Fellowship" [emphasis mine] Think of it as the Shadow following the trail of the Fellowship. Getting out from under a Nazg├╗l is in fact one of the motives to declare the position of the Fellowship. ...


1

I don't think the line "you may start a new Fight Round" means that the Alien Ship can stay on the Location, or claim a victory. I think it means "you may carry on trying to defeat the Resistance by starting a new Fight Round... or choose another valid option". What other valid options are there? See the next section of the rules: After each Fight ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible