Tag Info

New answers tagged

1

Yes. Due to the Rule of Pride no two weapons may have the same combination of runes. However, you do not need to give every Giant Slayer a rune weapon. You are not forced to equip them all with an assortment of rune weapons. Aside from the fact that spending up to 25 points on top of the 24 point Giant Slayers is a lot of points to sink into 1 Wound ...


1

Yes. According to Forming Units (8th Edition Rulebook, pg 5), "A unit usually consists of several models that have banded together, but a single, powerful model such as a lone character, a chariot or a Dragon, a war machine and its crew, and so on, are also considered to be a unit." Everything is a unit, even a lone character. Though bear in mind the ...


1

Invocation of Nehek (Vampire Counts 8th Ed, pg 60) says that "Wounds gained are distributed as described in Ressurecting Fallen Warriors". The rules for Ressurecting Fallen Warriors (Vampire Counts 8th Ed, pg 26) state that "A unit cannot be taken beyond it's starting size, though certain powers, spells and special rules may provide exceptions". So the ...


1

If the two units are charging at the same time, then the two units must attempt to charge in such a way that an equal number (or as close as possible) of models from each unit engage the enemy unit (8th Ed Rulebook, pg 23). If the first unit is already engaged (an ongoing combat from a pervious turn) to the front and completely blocks it, and your charging ...


2

No, they do not get any additional movement. What happens is the unit is not engaged in a combat, so it does nothing in the close combat phase. I assume you are thiking of the Overrun rule? Where if you wipe out a unit in close combat on the turn you charge you get to move another 2D6" forward afterwards. The rules for Overrun (8th Edition Rulebook, pg ...


2

By default the skeletons come armed with light armour, a hand weapon, and a shield. The combination of hand weapon and shield gives you an additional 6+ Parry Save (8th Ed rulebook, pg 88), which you may make against close combat attacks. They have a 5+ Armour Save and 6+ Ward save. If you give them spears they lose this extra Parry Save, instead gaining ...


2

A model with Hand Weapon and Shield can use the 'Parry' special rule to get a ward save. A model with a spear cannot. Since skeletons are weak and have poor weapon skill anyway, it may be beneficial to have better survivability rather than a few more attacks that are unlikely to hurt anything, depending on what role you see the unit filling in your army.


3

No. The points listed in the Necromancer entry shows how much buying him a Corpse Cart mount costs (which is why it is 90 points, the cost of a Corpse Cart). If you pay for a character to have a mount the character gets the mount, there is no additional mounting fee.


1

I don't have the Dwarf rule-book, but I thought that Giant Slayers(and Demon Slayers) were champions who could be attached to a unit of Troll Slayers. This means that as champions, they will have to follow the Rule of Pride and all have unique runic weapons. I think the idea is you have a unit of troll slayers to soak arrows/give rank bonus and then add in ...


3

Gaming miniatures are usually described as Xmm rather than 'X/Y(th)' as is used in scale modelling. The distance is from the base to the eyes on a normal human. Current new models coming out for Wahammer Fantasy are 32mm Heroic scale. GW has been pushing up the scale of the game in recent years, ostensibly so that more detail can be fit onto plastic ...


1

No, they do not. As you said, they did not cost anything to inlude in the army so are worth zero (unless the unit has a rule that states otherwise). In addition to which, many summoning spells explicitly state this. For example, Raise Dead: Units summoned by this spell cannot be dispelled, and do not award victory points under any circumstances. ...


2

From BRB p97. A character must move into a unit to join it. There is no rule that allows the unit to move to the character. A character cannot join a unit in close combat. You can however, simply charge into combat alongside the character. This is often to your advantage for that particular combat, other than not being able to use the character's ...


1

In the character mounts section, the rules say: A chariot mount follows all the rules for ridden monsters, save for the fact that a chariot does not need to take a monster Reaction test if the character is slain. (pg 105) As such, if the Corpse Cart were to die, the Necromancer in question would proceed on foot, as he would have if he were on a Ridden ...


1

No, units can never join together. Forming Units, pg 5 Once formed into a unit, the models move and fight as a single entity for the rest of the battle. Moving your units, pg 13 Individual models are not permitted to leave their units and so a unit effectively remains a single entity. 1" Apart, pg 13 Whilst moving a unit is not allowed to ...


1

Yes. In 8th edition the "Magical Interference" rule (Magic Items, pg 500) says: Wizards cannot choose magic armour unless they have an option for 'normal' armour. It goes on to say that most Wizards cannot use magic while wearing armour, but that any Wizard that "has armour as part of his standard equipment or an option for 'normal' armour" is an ...



Top 50 recent answers are included