Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

10

The stack in Magic is, well, a stack. Spells you cast, abilities you activate, and abilities that trigger based on some game action or change in state, go on the stack. The system used to determine who gets an opportunity to put something on the stack is known as priority in the formal rules. When one player passes priority, the other gets a chance to put ...


9

The effect should not apply. You do not have one Type of monster in your Graveyard; you have zero. This would be different if the card said, say "all monsters in your Graveyard are the same Type" - that statement is certainly vacuously true with an empty Graveyard. Further, it doesn't even matter. The effect only affects monster of the same Type, and ...


8

As strange as it sometimes comes through, Yu-Gi-Oh! Cards are commonly being censored for the western market, not only visually, but also in text. One prominent example is the renaming of "Magic Cards" to "Spell Cards" shortly after the release of the third set "Magic Ruler", which was released as "Spell Ruler" in Europe. This renaming is probably due to ...


7

Collectible Card Games (CCG) wax and wane in popularity.... For example, both Pokemon an Yu-Gi-Oh! cards were extremely popular over a decade ago. There are still sales of these cards and older cards sell well, but both games have shrunk considerably. The exception: Magic: The Gathering which has had pretty solid sales, organized play, and card values ...


6

Great question! Unfortunately, I don't have a complete answer. According to the Yu-Gi-Oh! Wikia: Some cards have been released in the TCG with shortened or abbreviated names. A major reason for this was that the names were too long unabbreviated, and Upper Deck Entertainment had not yet figured out the smaller card name font for long names, but ...


5

No, although you can use foreign language cards from the TCG, OCG cards are not allowed. From Konami's Yugioh FAQ, that lists several Official Tournament Stores Q: Can I use foreign language cards in my Deck? You can use foreign-language copies of legal-for-play cards printed for the TCG market, as long as you can show an official translation of ...


5

I would go for Munchkin. My 8-year-old nephew LOVES it (I like it too), it has a lot of replay value, and while there are a ton of expansions, they're cheap, cheap, cheap compared to the booster packs you'd be buying for Magic. That said, there is zero collectible element to Munchkin. Fantasy Flight Games also has a bunch of what they call "Living Card ...


5

No, you do not win the game if your opponent somehow controls 6 Trap cards. There are only three ways to win a game of Yu-gi-oh (page 26 or 30 in pdf): Winning a Duel Each player starts a Duel with 8000 Life Points. You win a Duel if: you reduce your opponent's Life Points to 0; if your opponent is unable to draw a card; or if a card's special ...


5

Okay, I think I've worked out what's going on here. The link to Original Slifer that you kindly provided for me shows the original, illegal version of the card. There is a second link, from that page, to the legal Slifer version. You will see that the second Slifer does not have any ruling declaring the card to be of Dragon Type. Why does the illegal ...


4

Based on this ruling on Disappear: When a card that selects a card in the Graveyard as a target, such as "Monster Reborn", "Mask of Darkness", "Magician of Faith", "Spear Cretin", or "The Shallow Grave", is activated, you may chain "Disappear" to remove the targeted card from play, and the "Monster Reborn", etc., will resolve without effect. This is ...


4

You will not be able to get the Interplanetarypurplythorny Dragon from the effect of Witch of the Black Forest's and activate its effect. This is because the last thing to happen isn't a monster being destroyed but rather a monster being added to hand. If you already had Interplanetarypurplythorny Dragon in your hand and Witch of the Black Forest is being ...


4

1) No, negative numbers are not possible on monsters. It is true that this is not explicitly stated in any of the official rulebooks. However, it is most common that such values in games refer to non-negative integers, and therefore it can be assumed that it is the case unless otherwise stated. It is the responsibility of the rulebook to explicitly state ...


4

No Monsters can be Special Summoned. Both Monsters have a Continuous Effect (page 14 of PDF) that is active while they are on the field. BSotAbyss blocks all non-DARK Monsters from being special summoned, so when you Attempt to Special Summon a DARK Monster, it is BSotHeaven that blocks you, and vice versa when you Special Summon a LIGHT Monster, it is ...


4

Banisher of the Radiance wouldn't banish itself, it would go to the Graveyard. Banisher of the Radiance has a Continuous Effects, which is only active while it remains on the field face-up. (Rule book page 14). Continuous Effect This effect is active while the Effect Monster Card is face-up on the field. The effect starts when the face-up monster ...


3

I'm baffled this question has had a wrong answer with such a score for such a long time... No, you can't. I'll just quote the other answer and highlight the important part: Q: Can I use foreign language cards in my Deck? You can use foreign-language copies of legal-for-play cards printed for the TCG market, as long as you can show an official ...


3

These rulings come from yugioh.wikia.com, and note: These TCG rulings were issued by Upper Deck Entertainment and have since been deemed unofficial by Konami.[18] They were previously considered official and can still be correct, as long as they follow the official gameplay rules, or unless Konami has issued a ruling that says otherwise. References: ...


3

It doesn't work that way, due to the fact that Lightpulsar is being tributed his effect does not go off, and the same for Heliopolis. Lightpulsar must be "destroyed" or "sent" as the final resolution to an effect. When Dark Hole kills them both the last activation is Lightpulsar which is why he can summon D-Metal but in the instance listed above Lightpulsar ...


3

This rulings page for Lightpulsar Dragon says: If "Lightpulsar Dragon" and "Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon" are destroyed on the field simultaneously by the effect of "Dark Hole", that "Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon" can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard by the effect of "Lightpulsar Dragon".[6] And that is allegedly a ruling from an ...


3

http://www.duelingnetwork.com/ I used to hit problems with the intro and needed to block the music file they use (it's not a part of the flash file for some weird reason), but it works well for what it does.


3

I'd advise against basing your system on oversimplified YGO rules. These phases that seem arbitrary were added precisely to avoid adding many exceptions and forcing players to remember them all. Having regular rules with such a gigantic deck is much better than writing exceptions on card and then have lots of pain trying to match them together. BTW, ...


2

Regardless of thesunneversets observations that a legal version of the card doesn't contain the Original versions "treat this as a Dragon-Type Monster", that shouldn't matter in this situation. The rule book splits Effect Monsters into five categories, one of which is Continuous Effect: This effect is active while the Effect Monster Card is face-up on ...


2

The Stack in Magic the Gathering is named as such, because it matches the abstract concept of a Stack. A stack is a collection of objects, the top object can be popped off (to interact with), or a new object can be pushed onto the top of the stack. A simple real life example of a stack would be a stack of dirty dishes. The top dirty dish can be popped of ...


2

So I know my comment started this question, and if you want someone else to answer I understand. But here is why I do not think they go with the creature. The official rules about equip cards: These cards give an extra effect to 1 face-up monster of your choice (either your own or your opponent’s, depending on the card). They remain on the ...


2

In short, Decoy Dragon would be attacked, due to an important part of Dreamsprite: When attacked by your opponent's monster, select another 1 of your Monster Cards and designate it as the attack's target, then calculate damage. This means that damage calculation must be immediately performed, so the Battle Step has been skipped. As Decoy Dragon's ...


1

Yes, "card effect" in YGO refers to the effect text of any type of cards.


1

No, there is no such thing. The best you might get is random opponents via Internet. Or outdated programs with a programmend AI. But if you want to stay up to date, there is no other option than playing actual opponents. If you decide to go for random opponents, Dueling Network and DevPro are the most well-known online sites that offer playing Yu-gi-Oh!, ...


1

Snipe Hunter is your guy. He can discard as many cards from your hand as you like to target any card on the field. Then you roll a die and if it's 2, 3, 4 or 5, the card is destroyed. A good once-per-turn option is Scrap Dragon. He allows you to target one card on each side of the field which then get destroyed. Spell and Trap wise, there's Raigeki Break, ...


1

As user1873 pointed out, this isn't a way your opponent can be defeated. Furthermore, you cannot control more than five non-Field Spell or Trap cards. Spells and Traps on your side of the field are under your control, even if they are equipped to cards your opponent controls. You should read or re-read the rule book. If you have already read it, it appears ...


1

This is entirely dependant on the metagame you're playing in. And also on the current format (that is, Forbidden and Limited List). For instance, if your metagame highly favors decks that destroy many monsters by effects, even face-down ones, Morphing Jar is not a good idea because it will often be destroyed before even getting the chance to flip for its ...


1

Since you cannot activate 2 effects at once and when the dragon is in your hand, your witch will already be in the graveyard and you can't summon your dragon then. So my the answer is no.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible