Reputation
3,571
Top tag
Next privilege 4,000 Rep.
Access 'trusted user' tools
Badges
8 26
Newest
 Yearling
Impact
~41k people reached

Jan
25
comment Does the “Rule of 15” suggest that you should pass with 13 points (and short spades) in fourth seat?
@TomAu: No. This is a site for objective Q&A. If someone asks "how do I use a fly swatter to kill a mosquito", you don't respond with "use a cannon" :-) I suggest you re-read the FAQ (if there is any).
Jan
25
comment Does the “Rule of 15” suggest that you should pass with 13 points (and short spades) in fourth seat?
-1: To the question, sorry. Based on the article you linked, your question does not even apply!
Jan
25
comment Does the “Rule of 15” suggest that you should pass with 13 points (and short spades) in fourth seat?
-1: Sorry, this does not answer the question asked :-)
Jan
25
answered Does the “Rule of 15” suggest that you should pass with 13 points (and short spades) in fourth seat?
Jan
6
comment Am I analyzing the following hand properly?
Doesn't that line require a 2-1 spade break? West can exit with a spade when in with the CQ. Now you are en entry short to ruff out the diamonds. Basically, guaranteed is a bit of an overbid :-) Or am I missing something?
Jan
6
comment Am I analyzing the following hand properly?
btw, disagree with your last paragraphs about the opening lead. CK is a normal lead, even for mere experts. Recommending a diamond is a bit out there. A trump might seem safe, but you might need to make an active lead against texas auctions.
Jan
6
comment Am I analyzing the following hand properly?
If you win the first trick, a better option (IMO) is to ruff a club and play a diamond up. East has to win and return a heart (and west has to hold HKQ) for you to go down. If East does not win or does not return a heart, you can now eliminate clubs and play DA, diamond back. This requires a defensive mistake, though I would say is a better chance than playing opening leader for the CT.
Jan
6
comment Am I analyzing the following hand properly?
I don't see how declarer is guaranteed to make the contract by ducking the first trick. What if West returns a trump at trick two?
Oct
27
comment Do “flat” hands devalue a 4-4 trump fit?
@TomAu: If you don't need ruffing help, it is safer to play in NT, isn't it? Your statement seems to contradict itself :-)
Oct
26
comment Do “flat” hands devalue a 4-4 trump fit?
Assuming you are playing 15-17 NT, this is a difficult question, any action could be right. That said, the typical suggestion to bid 3NT on 4-3-3-3 hands is when you have slightly more than what is needed for the 3NT game. Something like 27-28 points. With a max 27 points, it is possible 4H is better. (Not saying it is, though).
Oct
1
comment Was a bridge column “resulting” when it criticized an opening lead?
It was actually Pieter who posted the link.
Sep
28
comment Was a bridge column “resulting” when it criticized an opening lead?
@TomAu: Now that I read the article, I don't see the claim anywhere that a spade lead was an error. I believe the error referred to was by East: not underleading a diamond for a trump promotion (4th club from West, and East makes the trump Jack). The error south made was not making a scissors coup (play 4th club and throw the other diamond loser). Those are the errors that cancelled out. There is no resulting about the opening lead.
Sep
28
comment Was a bridge column “resulting” when it criticized an opening lead?
@PieterGeerkens: Thanks!
Sep
28
comment Was a bridge column “resulting” when it criticized an opening lead?
Thanks..................
Sep
28
comment Was a bridge column “resulting” when it criticized an opening lead?
Which column was this? I would call it resulting.
Apr
26
awarded  Yearling
Apr
20
revised In Bridge, what is the punishment for misclaiming tricks?
added 134 characters in body
Apr
20
comment In Bridge, what is the punishment for misclaiming tricks?
@PieterGeerkens: Thanks for the link! Updated the answer.
Apr
15
revised Richard Pavliceks mystery
added 201 characters in body
Apr
15
comment Richard Pavliceks mystery
@PieterGeerkens: What copyright? Pavlicek clearly states he found it elsewhere. Just quoting the problem will not violate fair usage even if (but IANAL). And this is clearly on-topic and actually one of the more objective questions I have seen about bridge on this site.