7,340 reputation
21948
bio website
location New York, New York
age 57
visits member for 3 years, 4 months
seen yesterday

I play a number of board and card games with varying degrees of skill, but using "algorithms" to avoid the most obvious mistakes. Depending on the game, if you can beat me, you are probably not a beginner, and perhaps a pretty good player.


Sep
19
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
As I understand it, your big fear opposite a "one" (as opposed to 2 or 3 bid), is that your partner's five cards are xxxxx. Because QJ is quite useful opposite KTxxx, ATxxx, or AKxxx, and to a lesser extent, Txxxx. On the other hand, if you have xxx opposite xxxxx, you're "up the creek" anyway, even if you have eight. It's hard for me to think of holdings opposite which xxx works better than QJ.
Sep
16
comment Is “Longest Road” an overrated strategy in Settlers of Catan?
It seems like the best strategy then, is "hit them where they ain't."
Sep
14
awarded  Popular Question
Sep
12
comment In Axis and Allies, could a house rule upgrading the German navy finally “balance” the 1942 game?
@JoelVanZanten: Added 1942 to title.
Sep
12
revised In Axis and Allies, could a house rule upgrading the German navy finally “balance” the 1942 game?
edited title
Aug
26
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
QJ with seven is about five tricks, one less than the "usual" six. So (at that vulnerability), you need an extra trick to compensate.
Aug
17
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
I find QJ (and likewise KJ and KT) a problematic holding. When "stranded," QJ could be worth as little as 1.0 to 1.5. In the middle of partner's five card suit it should be worth a whole three, and often more, call it an average of 3.5. To compensate for the 1.5 value of the missing trump, I would need four points in side honors (7.5-1.5= an adjusted 6). Likewise, counting KJ as 4.5, I'd need three points (a king or so) in side honors. Wasn't planning a two-trump raise with 6. (In my questions, I have a tendency to "sneak" in a extra jack or other upgrade somewhere, as a result of my "algos.")
Aug
17
revised Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
Added link.
Aug
17
revised Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
added 183 characters in body
Aug
17
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
@PieterGeerkens: "Money." One tenth of a penny a point. Winner takes home about one dollar.
Aug
17
asked Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
Aug
15
accepted In bridge, are the two “equal vulnerabilities” basically equal?
Aug
14
comment Why Do People “Pre-empt” With Seven Of A Suit In Bridge?
@Taemyr: If I have 8765432, partner has QJT9 in your example. The opponents have AK, which will "split" more than half the time, giving us six trump tricks.
Aug
14
comment In bridge, are the two “equal vulnerabilities” basically equal?
@Aryabhata: People don't usually double for a one trick set (or do they)? Because if they do so at two of a major, they also double you into a potential game.
Aug
14
comment In bridge, are the two “equal vulnerabilities” basically equal?
@amalloy: In your example, you are down three, which is a lot to pay for a saved game (except at favorable vulnerability). In my example, you are down two, a more "normal" level.
Aug
14
asked In bridge, are the two “equal vulnerabilities” basically equal?
Aug
12
comment Are there hands that should be opened at the one level in first or second seat, and with a “weak two” opposite a passing partner?
+1 for citing Bergen and Cohen (two of my favorite players).
Aug
12
accepted Are there hands that should be opened at the one level in first or second seat, and with a “weak two” opposite a passing partner?
Aug
11
asked Are there hands that should be opened at the one level in first or second seat, and with a “weak two” opposite a passing partner?
Aug
11
comment civ 2 tech writing
@bwarner: Civ II. I'm assuming that the OP is referring to the board version of the game, whose rules are analagous to, but obviously not the same as, the computer version.