7,445 reputation
21950
bio website
location New York, New York
age 57
visits member for 3 years, 6 months
seen yesterday

I play a number of board and card games with varying degrees of skill, but using "algorithms" to avoid the most obvious mistakes. Depending on the game, if you can beat me, you are probably not a beginner, and perhaps a pretty good player.


Sep
23
comment In bridge, are the two “equal vulnerabilities” basically equal?
@amalloy: It's true that the sacrifice is more expensive against GAME "all red than all white." But some of the time, the save will be against a SLAM, which will be a larger save "all red than all white" (1000 vs. 500). And if I'm not saving a slam some of the time, I'm "saving" too much.
Sep
23
answered About the latest Axis and Allies 1941
Sep
23
answered Mah Jongg Betting Rules
Sep
23
revised About the latest Axis and Allies 1941
added 93 characters in body
Sep
22
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
With a dummy of xxx, I'd "hate" to see you declare with xxxxx. Because then the opponents have AKQJx and can take 3 or 4 tricks in "our" suit depending on the split. With QJ in dummy we'd take one trump trick more if you have as much as Txxxx or even 9xxxx.
Sep
20
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
@PieterGeerkens: I haven't (yet) done this in bridge, but in "real life," I once "mapped out" someone else's system, then took it far beyond its original boundaries.
Sep
20
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
@PieterGeerkens: Fair point. To your earlier comment, [Bergen's style requires]..."a very good system agreement to avoid playing inferior contracts." That's the point of my "mapping algorithms," to determine when Bergen's (or some other expert's) method can be used. I'm afraid to use such algorithms when they are NOT corroroborated by an expert.
Sep
20
accepted Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
Sep
20
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
I don't consider this "lying." When raised, I am hoping (in this instance), to see xxx "or better." By my calculations, QJ is "better" than xxx. Likewise, I consider KQJx "better" than xxxxx, and would not be unhappy to see partner open with it, even playing (adjusted) "five card majors."
Sep
19
answered Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
Sep
19
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
As I understand it, your big fear opposite a "one" (as opposed to 2 or 3 bid), is that your partner's five cards are xxxxx. Because QJ is quite useful opposite KTxxx, ATxxx, or AKxxx, and to a lesser extent, Txxxx. On the other hand, if you have xxx opposite xxxxx, you're "up the creek" anyway, even if you have eight. It's hard for me to think of holdings opposite which xxx works better than QJ.
Sep
16
comment Is “Longest Road” an overrated strategy in Settlers of Catan?
It seems like the best strategy then, is "hit them where they ain't."
Sep
14
awarded  Popular Question
Sep
12
comment In Axis and Allies, could a house rule upgrading the German navy finally “balance” the 1942 game?
@JoelVanZanten: Added 1942 to title.
Sep
12
revised In Axis and Allies, could a house rule upgrading the German navy finally “balance” the 1942 game?
edited title
Aug
26
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
QJ with seven is about five tricks, one less than the "usual" six. So (at that vulnerability), you need an extra trick to compensate.
Aug
17
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
I find QJ (and likewise KJ and KT) a problematic holding. When "stranded," QJ could be worth as little as 1.0 to 1.5. In the middle of partner's five card suit it should be worth a whole three, and often more, call it an average of 3.5. To compensate for the 1.5 value of the missing trump, I would need four points in side honors (7.5-1.5= an adjusted 6). Likewise, counting KJ as 4.5, I'd need three points (a king or so) in side honors. Wasn't planning a two-trump raise with 6. (In my questions, I have a tendency to "sneak" in a extra jack or other upgrade somewhere, as a result of my "algos.")
Aug
17
revised Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
Added link.
Aug
17
revised Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
added 183 characters in body
Aug
17
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
@PieterGeerkens: "Money." One tenth of a penny a point. Winner takes home about one dollar.