7,445 reputation
21950
bio website
location New York, New York
age 57
visits member for 3 years, 6 months
seen 5 hours ago

I play a number of board and card games with varying degrees of skill, but using "algorithms" to avoid the most obvious mistakes. Depending on the game, if you can beat me, you are probably not a beginner, and perhaps a pretty good player.


Aug
4
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
@PieterGeerkens: I play bridge for "social" reasons, not for competitive reasons. So I choose my bridge circles based on things other than their bridge abilities, then try to make the best of it, bridgewise.
Aug
4
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
Partner can win at least the seven spade tricks in her own hand. If I get in minimum response (say 1NT) meaning that I have 1-2 tricks, partner can profitably sacrifice against opposing any game contract. With my actual hand, I'd bid 3NT, and she'd bid 4 spades (we can make either).
Aug
3
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
@Aryabhata: Here's to you (and Ruds). What if I tell you that we bid three spades on "any seven cards, even 8765432" at favorable vulnerability, seven to the Q at equal vulnerability and seven to the KQ or QJT if vulnerable versus not, with no side honors? I'd love to see an extra jack to say, KQxxxxx, either in suit or not, but can't be sure of getting it.
Aug
3
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
Interesting. The "difference" between your partners and mine is that your partners are likely to have the "two jacks" (or equivalent), and mine might not. (And unknown to me at the time, the focus of the question was the two jacks, not the side ace.)
Aug
3
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
"Risked a game." That's a tough one for me, because it really depends on the two jacks (or lack thereof). Without them, partner has about 5 trump tricks, and I have three more with AJ and KQ for about eight. Those two J's are only two points, but opposite my KQ's, they're two extra tricks.
Aug
2
asked Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
Aug
2
accepted What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?
Aug
2
revised What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?
Updated with partner's preference.
Aug
1
answered What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?
Jul
31
comment What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?
@ruds: Actually, a hand with AKQ432 (an extra "x") is known as a "weak pull," and is a "second" weak two bid that should be passed. So the key is coming to an agreement with partner.
Jul
30
revised What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?
added 302 characters in body
Jul
30
asked What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?
Jul
29
comment When is a backgammon not a backgammon?
@JuliaHayward: OK, fixed. Thanks.
Jul
29
revised When is a backgammon not a backgammon?
added 10 characters in body
Jul
28
comment Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”
@PieterGeerkens: OK, changed to "should."
Jul
28
revised Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”
edited title
Jul
28
accepted Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”
Jul
26
comment Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”
I've kind of wondered about 2. If South opens 1 spade, and you're West (in the direct seat), you're going to open anyway. If you're East, you will need to overcall to direct the lead, but then you're in the balancing seat, where a different set of rules apply.
Jul
26
asked Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”
Jul
22
awarded  Nice Answer