7,322 reputation
21945
bio website
location New York, New York
age 57
visits member for 3 years, 4 months
seen 15 hours ago

I play a number of board and card games with varying degrees of skill, but using "algorithms" to avoid the most obvious mistakes. Depending on the game, if you can beat me, you are probably not a beginner, and perhaps a pretty good player.


22h
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
With a dummy of xxx, I'd "hate" to see you declare with xxxxx. Because then the opponents have AKQJx and can take 3 or 4 tricks in "our" suit depending on the split. With QJ in dummy we'd take one trump trick more if you have as much as Txxxx or even 9xxxx.
2d
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
@PieterGeerkens: I haven't (yet) done this in bridge, but in "real life," I once "mapped out" someone else's system, then took it far beyond its original boundaries.
2d
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
@PieterGeerkens: Fair point. To your earlier comment, [Bergen's style requires]..."a very good system agreement to avoid playing inferior contracts." That's the point of my "mapping algorithms," to determine when Bergen's (or some other expert's) method can be used. I'm afraid to use such algorithms when they are NOT corroroborated by an expert.
2d
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
I don't consider this "lying." When raised, I am hoping (in this instance), to see xxx "or better." By my calculations, QJ is "better" than xxx. Likewise, I consider KQJx "better" than xxxxx, and would not be unhappy to see partner open with it, even playing (adjusted) "five card majors."
Sep
19
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
As I understand it, your big fear opposite a "one" (as opposed to 2 or 3 bid), is that your partner's five cards are xxxxx. Because QJ is quite useful opposite KTxxx, ATxxx, or AKxxx, and to a lesser extent, Txxxx. On the other hand, if you have xxx opposite xxxxx, you're "up the creek" anyway, even if you have eight. It's hard for me to think of holdings opposite which xxx works better than QJ.
Sep
16
comment Is “Longest Road” an overrated strategy in Settlers of Catan?
It seems like the best strategy then, is "hit them where they ain't."
Sep
12
comment In Axis and Allies, could a house rule upgrading the German navy finally “balance” the 1942 game?
@JoelVanZanten: Added 1942 to title.
Aug
26
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
QJ with seven is about five tricks, one less than the "usual" six. So (at that vulnerability), you need an extra trick to compensate.
Aug
17
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
I find QJ (and likewise KJ and KT) a problematic holding. When "stranded," QJ could be worth as little as 1.0 to 1.5. In the middle of partner's five card suit it should be worth a whole three, and often more, call it an average of 3.5. To compensate for the 1.5 value of the missing trump, I would need four points in side honors (7.5-1.5= an adjusted 6). Likewise, counting KJ as 4.5, I'd need three points (a king or so) in side honors. Wasn't planning a two-trump raise with 6. (In my questions, I have a tendency to "sneak" in a extra jack or other upgrade somewhere, as a result of my "algos.")
Aug
17
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
@PieterGeerkens: "Money." One tenth of a penny a point. Winner takes home about one dollar.
Aug
14
comment Why Do People “Pre-empt” With Seven Of A Suit In Bridge?
@Taemyr: If I have 8765432, partner has QJT9 in your example. The opponents have AK, which will "split" more than half the time, giving us six trump tricks.
Aug
14
comment In bridge, are the two “equal vulnerabilities” basically equal?
@Aryabhata: People don't usually double for a one trick set (or do they)? Because if they do so at two of a major, they also double you into a potential game.
Aug
14
comment In bridge, are the two “equal vulnerabilities” basically equal?
@amalloy: In your example, you are down three, which is a lot to pay for a saved game (except at favorable vulnerability). In my example, you are down two, a more "normal" level.
Aug
12
comment Are there hands that should be opened at the one level in first or second seat, and with a “weak two” opposite a passing partner?
+1 for citing Bergen and Cohen (two of my favorite players).
Aug
11
comment civ 2 tech writing
@bwarner: Civ II. I'm assuming that the OP is referring to the board version of the game, whose rules are analagous to, but obviously not the same as, the computer version.
Aug
4
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
@PieterGeerkens: I play bridge for "social" reasons, not for competitive reasons. So I choose my bridge circles based on things other than their bridge abilities, then try to make the best of it, bridgewise.
Aug
4
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
Partner can win at least the seven spade tricks in her own hand. If I get in minimum response (say 1NT) meaning that I have 1-2 tricks, partner can profitably sacrifice against opposing any game contract. With my actual hand, I'd bid 3NT, and she'd bid 4 spades (we can make either).
Aug
3
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
@Aryabhata: Here's to you (and Ruds). What if I tell you that we bid three spades on "any seven cards, even 8765432" at favorable vulnerability, seven to the Q at equal vulnerability and seven to the KQ or QJT if vulnerable versus not, with no side honors? I'd love to see an extra jack to say, KQxxxxx, either in suit or not, but can't be sure of getting it.
Aug
3
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
Interesting. The "difference" between your partners and mine is that your partners are likely to have the "two jacks" (or equivalent), and mine might not. (And unknown to me at the time, the focus of the question was the two jacks, not the side ace.)
Aug
3
comment Are there times when a hand with a seven card suit is too strong for a three level pre-empt?
"Risked a game." That's a tough one for me, because it really depends on the two jacks (or lack thereof). Without them, partner has about 5 trump tricks, and I have three more with AJ and KQ for about eight. Those two J's are only two points, but opposite my KQ's, they're two extra tricks.