Reputation
8,518
Next tag badge:
59/100 score
36/20 answers
Badges
3 22 67
Impact
~327k people reached

22h
comment Does it make sense for a defender to lead a short major when opponents fail to find a fit using Stayman?
My concern is that even if partner has, say the Q or K, we might be missing the T and 9. Change the 8 to a T, so that I'm leading from JT752, and I'd lead a diamond. In the actual example, East had 64 in diamonds.
1d
comment Does it make sense for a defender to lead a short major when opponents fail to find a fit using Stayman?
One point you seem to be making is that North should have bid two spades (invitational) with his ten points instead of jumping to game. Would you jump to game as North with an extra jack (11 points instead of 10? Even as it was, the contract was makeable, but the declarer blew it.
1d
comment Does it make sense for a defender to lead a short major when opponents fail to find a fit using Stayman?
@AlexanderWoo: Rubber bridge.
Aug
16
comment How does Magic the Gathering play differently with proxies?
I have (hopefully) made the question more objective and wonder if it can be re-opened in its current form.
Aug
13
comment In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?
@Tim Lymington: I deleted my answer since your (and Pieter's) comments taught me what I wanted to learn from asking the question. But the point of the question was that a lot more risks are permissible, even ex post, in Matchpoints, than in rubber.
Aug
12
comment In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?
Actually, you answered my question with your comment. That is, if I use hearts, not clubs, for "transportation," to my hand, I have to worry about a 7-1, but not 6-2 heart split (I can overuff anything but the king in my hand). The chances of a 7-1 break is < 3%, so in Matchpoints, I take that 3% chance for the 50-50 chance of a successful finesse, and an overtrick. Accepted for your enlightening comment.
Aug
12
comment In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?
From the question: "You lead a low spade to the Q in dummy for a finesse, and it holds (West and East play 3 and 2)." Actually, I'm worried about a 4-1 break in clubs, where East can "trump in." But the point is, with those "slim" odds against you, you should try the second finesse in Matchpoints (but not rubber)? Or am I missing something?
Aug
12
comment In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?
In the problem, declarer went to his hand in clubs (an eight card suit), and lost a club ruff after taking, and losing the second finesse. (East went to West in diamonds.) My solution is to have declarer go to his hand via a ruff in hearts (a five card suit), on the theory that the chances of opponents' "trumping in" are smaller. And I'd take this chance only in duplicate, not rubber.
Aug
12
comment Can you play Dixit cooperatively with only 2 players?
I re-worded the question. Ones with "best" are considered "subjective" and often get closed. I made the question a yes-or-no question that can be answered "objectively."
Aug
12
comment In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?
@PieterGeerkens: I added those details to the question.
Aug
12
comment In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?
@PieterGeerkens: West played fourth best and East encouraged on the first trick. Both opponents played low trumps on the second. The problem started on the third: At rubber, I play A, then low in spades from dummy to ensure the contract. At Matchpoints, I play A, then low in hearts to try for an overtrick. Is that right?
Aug
12
comment In Matchpoints, is it worth risking a ruff to try for an overtrick in the following situation?
@PieterGeerkens: Hand was added.
Aug
4
comment Is the partner of a no trump opener also the team “captain” on defense?
Upvote for "Captain, once that is known, is entitled to lie with defensive signals while non-captain should only make mandatory false cards and otherwise signal honestly." But doesn't NT trumper's partner, with Jxxx know more about the bad trump distribution (declarer's side has only 7), than NT bidder knows about the combined trump holdings (4-0, 4-1, or possibly 4-2)? And I thought of having East bid 4 spades, (alleviating concerns about doubling into game), but decided it was too far fetched for them to go there with only 7 trumps.
Jul
26
comment Are there partnerships that win major events by using unpopular systems?
@PieterGeerkens: I don't think so, but I'm not sure. I certainly wouldn't rule it out. Good bridge teacher, too.
May
31
comment Grand slam bidding with high card points hand
@PieterGeerkens: Bad question, bad answer. I finally answered a "revised" question.
May
31
comment Grand slam bidding with high card points hand
@PieterGeerkens: Did you comment/downvote based on a misreading of my answer? Because I said that "The bidding cannot stop until a level is reached that is ONE SHORT of game," (not game itself). And my rebid of 2NT on AK32 AK32 AK K32 is similar to what you would do in your answer.
May
31
comment In Monopoly, Can I mortgage properties as I am bankrupted?
@jprete: The way I've played, a player can try to "deal" his way out of bankruptcy. Certainly, the rules allow him to sell houses and mortgage property to this end. Letting the player make "strategic" deals with third parties is icing on the cake. If he doesn't succeed, the "deals" have to be undone (except for the sale of houses and hotels to the bank for half price in cash), and payment made based on the status quo ante.
May
31
comment In Monopoly, Can I mortgage properties as I am bankrupted?
@GendoIkari: The rules aren't explicit on this point. I draw certain inferences from what is not said. Others may reasonably interpret them the other way.
May
31
comment In Monopoly, Can I mortgage properties as I am bankrupted?
@GendoIkari: Added rules quote.
May
2
comment Can the Russia no first turn attack rule be realistically extended for more turns?
I'm not sure I agree with you, but an upvote for a very interesting answer.