Reputation
Next tag badge:
58/100 score
35/20 answers
Badges
2 22 64
Newest
 Yearling
Impact
~290k people reached

Aug
28
comment How can I make Shadows Over Camelot play better with 3 or 4 players?
This does not provide an answer to the question. To critique or request clarification from an author, leave a comment below their post.
Aug
28
comment When should I pay to invade a neutral country in Axis and Allies
This does not provide an answer to the question. To critique or request clarification from an author, leave a comment below their post - you can always comment on your own posts, and once you have sufficient reputation you will be able to comment on any post.
Aug
28
comment Games that have no element of luck.
This does not provide an answer to the question. To critique or request clarification from an author, leave a comment below their post.
Aug
24
comment In Midway, how do I manage the “inferior” Japanese fleet on day 1?
It was helpful to me. Thanks.
Aug
23
comment Can a takeout doubler pass a redoubled contract?
I "fixed" my vote.
Aug
23
comment Can a takeout doubler pass a redoubled contract?
I think I "downvoted" you by mistake! (Clicked on the wrong button while accepting you). Could you edit your answer so I can correct and upvote you?
Aug
23
comment Can a takeout doubler pass a redoubled contract?
Vulnerability affects overtricks as well as "going down?" I didn't know that. Or is it just overtricks when doubled and redoubled? Is this a relatively modern change? I didn't get any of that when learning bridge in the 1960s.
Aug
22
comment Bridge - Counting and Visualising
@user93353: One world class expert, Terence Reese, advised people to focus on TWO suits (not four). Most people look at two many. But if you can look at only one, that's probably "too few." As a practical matter, if you "know" three suits, the fourth is pre-determined. Knowing two gets you a long way there; knowing one does not.
Jul
27
comment Can you place units in an Industrial Complex the turn you place it?
@ChrisDodd: I edited to say that you can't do it in the SAME place, Is it Ok now?
Jul
23
comment In bridge, can the “rule of 20” be used outside of opening bids (e.g for takeout doubles)?
Welcome to the site. A good answer and an upvote to get you started. Suppose this isn't a "takeout double" but "a conventional response to a strong club." Even so, would the "Rule of 20" help deter a "double" with a too-weak hand? I wouldn't double with only 7 hcp unless my suits were 7-6 or 6-6-1.
Jul
23
comment In bridge, can the “rule of 20” be used outside of opening bids (e.g for takeout doubles)?
You're certainly entitled to your opinion. But mine is that takeout doubles require both shape AND strength. The "Rule of 20" was originated to create a "sliding scale" of "more shape, less strength" for opening bids. THAT's what I want for take out doubles as well. The "expert" went "down 3 (instead of down 2) because he had too LITTLE strength. (Unless his shape was something like 6-6-1-0).
Jul
22
comment In Texas Hold'em, who is awarded second and third place in this scenario?
@JSBձոգչ The question has been answered, so it now needs a moderator to move it. I say leave it here, due to wondering how long the poker site will survive.
Jul
14
comment In Bridge, Why Do People Use “Transfer Bids” Over 1 NT?
Welcome to the site. Good answer. An upvote to get you started.
Jul
13
comment Is it right to refrain from making a takeout double in borderline situations?
@DanielGottesman: RHO has AT LEAST as many HCP as I do, possibly as many as 20. And if partner is FORCED to bid 1S with (s)xxxx (h)xxx (d)xxx (c)xxx, we're not going to be happy. Much better if my spades were ATxxx. Then we'd be missing KQJX and figure to drop an honor with the ace.
Jul
12
comment Is it right to refrain from making a takeout double in borderline situations?
@thesunneversets: I don't mind competing for a game with ATxxx in spades. I do mind trying to do this with Qxx in spades, and the ATxxx in clubs. When I double, I'm promising an "average" of Axxx in each of the unbid suits, and in no event worse than Kxx or Qxxx in the majors. Qxx falls below that standard.
Jul
12
comment Is it right to refrain from making a takeout double in borderline situations?
For me, the key point is the weak spade suit and strong club suit. Switch the two, and I would happily double. You might find a game at 4s but probably not (given North's strength) in 5C.
Jul
12
comment Doubleton Negating High-Card Points
@Allan: Yes I would do this.
Jul
2
comment Is it legitimate/ethical to treat the same bid from different people in different ways?
In a tournament, I'd have to disclose. In a round robin, I'm assuming that A, B, and C "know, or ought to know" each others' tendencies.
Jul
1
comment In Bridge, Is “ruffing” a good enough reason to postpone drawing trumps?
@Aryabhata: Today, I might word the question, "if drawing trumps is a good thing, is ruffing an adequate substitute." And my answer was yes.
Jun
30
comment In Bridge, Is “ruffing” a good enough reason to postpone drawing trumps?
A very good summary of multiple scenarios.