7,322 reputation
21945
bio website
location New York, New York
age 57
visits member for 3 years, 4 months
seen 20 hours ago

I play a number of board and card games with varying degrees of skill, but using "algorithms" to avoid the most obvious mistakes. Depending on the game, if you can beat me, you are probably not a beginner, and perhaps a pretty good player.


Dec
28
comment In Puerto Rico, does it make sense to shift to a corn-based strategy mid-game?
Basically, it seems that a "corn only" strategy doesn't quite work, but a corn "almost only" strategy can work.
Dec
27
comment How do people build a Magic deck once they have a general starting point?
@Jefromi: I think that's the question "How do people decide what kind of deck to build?"
Dec
27
comment How do people build a Magic deck once they have a general starting point?
@user1873:Fair enough. I have done my best to improve the title-content "match."
Dec
26
comment Do “interaction” effects cause people to buy buildings in tandem in Puerto Rico?
@MonicaCellio: In the answer to this question, boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/4093/…, the answerer wrote: "The question is not what buildings have good synergy with each other. The question is what buildings have good synergies with your particular strategy." I say "each other" is a very important effect in and of itself. You seem to be more clear-headed than most. I have read that Artificial Intelligence (AI) players are more likely to adopt building strategies than human players, perhaps because they understand this better.
Dec
25
comment Do “interaction” effects cause people to buy buildings in tandem in Puerto Rico?
@MonicaCellio: I'm referring to the back that you score 4 VP for owning building X and 1 VP for owning building Y in isolation, for a total of five; but if you already own building Y, you get five points for building X (this includes a bonus point for building Y) for a total of 6. This is what I call the "interaction effect, which I consider a key part of PR. Apparently few other people take this into account, at least explicitly. I believe it's at the heart of this question boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/2202/…
Dec
23
comment Is “finesses wrong for declarer” a good reason to double a (bridge) contract?
Good use of a table.
Dec
9
comment In bridge, are there different implications of overcalling 1NT in different positions?
I guess the "real" question was "What am I doing wrong bidding 1NT?" and the "official" question was, "Am I "overcalling" 1NT wrongly given my position. But the question began: "Suppose I had a hand like the following:... If I were the opening bidder, I would, of course, bid 1NT." It's the difference between what the Japanese call "honte" and "tatamae."
Dec
9
comment In bridge, are there different implications of overcalling 1NT in different positions?
Call it 14.25 for seven deuces, 14.5 with a 9, and 15.0 with an additional T. Your points are all very good. These are the "real" reason for my upvoting and accepting the answer, even though it "technically" doesn't answer the questions.
Dec
9
comment In bridge, are there different implications of overcalling 1NT in different positions?
I knew that I needed to take a "discount" on this hand, which is why I made the example 16 points "nominal" (presumably 15 points "real"), but I didn't realize that the discount needed to be 1.5-2. Also, I actually believe that the five card major needs to be overridden from time to time, but I've been castigated (by others) on this site for saying so. I would prefer a minor to one spade in this situation, but give me, KJTx and I would open four-carded. The rationale is that I would open with JTxxx xxx AJx AKx, so substitute the king of spades for xx.
Nov
23
comment In bridge, what are the proper followups to a Jacoby transfer?
Welcome to the site. I strongly agree with you (although many will disagree). You probably had Kx or Qx opposite five hearts, and 18-19 points concentrated in the other three suits, probably seven tricks there, two (out of five) in hearts. With less than three cards in the suit, I LIKE playing NT opposite 5 small. (With Kx opposite xxxxx, you have only 10 trump points out of a possible 23 (10 hcp plus 13 trumps). And it was improper for the "table" to make you retract your 3NT bid. Once made, it should have been allowed to play.
Nov
21
comment How to teach strategic thinking to non-gamer players?
@PaulMarshall: Opening sentence: "I would try to get my "non-strategic" friends to start at the end, and then thinking "backward" to the beginning." I spent the rest of the answer reconstructing the thought process to illustrate the point.
Nov
18
comment Is this a split pot?
@corsiKa: Fixed.
Nov
16
comment In Bridge, what are “proper” responses to a “strong” 2 club bid?
That's the way I feel. (Unless responder has something very strong or unusual to say.) Others disagree with me.
Nov
16
comment In Bridge, what are “proper” responses to a “strong” 2 club bid?
@PieterGeerkens: I guess it's a case of the blind leading the blind. If I were satisfied these people knew what they were doing, I wouldn't have asked this. But one partner jumped to 4NT after hearing "two clubs." We got into a 6 spade contract that failed because she had only one opposite my six. She hadn't even waited to find out my suit before using Blackwood. Maybe what I asked is wrong theoretically, and maybe it is right for "our group." In case you've wondered, I've been a "big fish in a small pond."
Nov
14
comment Can one show that a majority of bridge hands could have been successfully defended?
If I understand you correctly, there is a theoretical frequency distribution, to which actual frequencies ought to converge, based on scoring rules. And players' abilities can be measured by how their performance stacks up against the theoretical frequencies.
Nov
12
comment Does the “housing shortage” rule suggest that you should often refrain from buying hotels in monopoly?
@ColinD: This wasn't a "What are the rules?" question. This was a "what should I do? question. Unless we're talking about house rules, in which case the issue is, "What should the rules be?"
Nov
4
comment Did a bridge column make errors in discussing a hand?
@Aryabhata: I was taught to overtake (e.g. with the queen as East) if I have the majority of the defense's points, nine in this case. Was I taught right?
Nov
4
comment Did a bridge column make errors in discussing a hand?
@Aryabhata: I did put "some effort" into formatting the question, copying your template from a previous question. Just "failed" but certainly tried. And did not realize that East's defense was extraordinary. I guess I would have returned the 5 of clubs myself. But maybe East counted tricks and was hoping to strike a K or Q of diamonds. If West had the K instead of the Q, maybe the defense would have succeeded.
Nov
4
comment Did a bridge column make errors in discussing a hand?
But would South still make the hand if East had KQ5, or even KQ, meaning that East can win the second club, lead a diamond, and force out South's second high honor before South can clear the club suit? To me, the critical issue is the lie of the East-West clubs (which the column glossed over), not the (admittedly, but ordinarily) good play of East
Nov
3
comment Did a bridge column make errors in discussing a hand?
OK, I think I see it. (I added the part in brackets.)"South took the ace, led a trump to dummy, and returned a second club, five Jack, Queen. He ruffed the next heart, lost another club, [from hand, captured East's diamond lead with the ace], and got to dummy with a trump to pitch his Jack of diamonds on the good club." The problem was that I thought he would have to return to dummy for the third club lead, but he didn't, saving his entry. But I was thinking in terms of avoidance play, lose all club tricks to West,more urgent if West has a major tenace in diamonds, e.g. KJ over South's Qx.