3,565 reputation
1022
bio website
location Edmonton, Canada
age
visits member for 3 years, 2 months
seen 16 mins ago

Cleaner [klee-ner] adj
1. characteristic valued by a programmer's personal preference for something that cannot otherwise be justified using accepted Software Engineering principles: This approach increases cyclomatic complexity and reduces encapsulation. It's cleaner, do it.


Jul
27
comment What do I say when an opponent asks if I'm “tapped out”, especially if I still have a means of casting a spell?
Or sometimes to badger people who purposely play with messy or confusing boards thinking it gives them some kind of pro edge. e.g., "Yes I am going to ask you if your inkmoth nexus is tapped every time it's relevant until you take it out from under that stack of darksteel citadels you tried to slip it into and put it where I can see it." :)
Jul
24
comment When is a battalion trigger considered “missed” at Competitive REL?
At the risk of being pedantic about MTG rules on the internet (...) your question is phrased a bit backward. The trigger happened, the rules of the game are unwavering on this point. What you're trying to do is get a read on your opponent to determine how likely he or she is to make a play error in the future. There is no aid for you here in the mechanics of the game. This is about social card-sharping skills.
Jul
24
comment When is a battalion trigger considered “missed” at Competitive REL?
MtG history lesson! : google "Charles Gindy Worlds 2009" and "Brian Kibler Angel of Despair Trigger" to see why those rules were reworked to their current wording :)
Jun
28
answered What's the name of the type of expansion set “packs” that MTG players can buy at release events?
Jun
27
comment When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?
The play described in the original question is actually completely legal too. Although this is a better line of play because your counterspell isn't wasted if your opponent cancels your incinerate.
Jun
27
comment When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?
You can put the counter spell on the stack targeting the sliver by the way. It just won't do anything when it resolves if you haven't removed root sliver by that time. "Can't be countered" is not the same thing as "cannot be targeted by spells and abilities." It's just like casting Terror on an indestructible creature. The play is legal, it just won't do anything when it resolves.
Jun
26
comment Dictate of Erebos and Undercity Informer stack question
The difference is more in one player soliciting future information from the other vs one "thinking-out-loud" on his or her own. In context you may sometimes be allowed a "take back" on the second. Regardless it's still helpful information for OP to learn when different decisions are made.
Jun
16
comment Will Yixlid Jailer negate Snapcaster Mage's flashback-giving ability?
Also if we're going to nitpick, the timestamp is the resolution of Snapcaster's triggered ability, not the timestamp of the snapcaster. (This is likely to actually matter in the sorts of weird EDH-type situations involving cards like Warp World where the whole scenario would ever matter in the first place :) )
Jun
5
awarded  Enlightened
Jun
5
awarded  Nice Answer
Jun
3
awarded  Yearling
May
12
comment How many attacks do Eternal Guard have?
I would guess either 1) army book author forgot you're not allowed to choose anymore and carried forward old wording. or 2) army book author knows that in next edition of core rules you're going to be allowed to choose again or it will matter in some other way. (One is kind of hoping that they've been overvaluing Stubborn so badly because they've already decided steadfast is going away.... :) )
May
12
revised How many attacks do Eternal Guard have?
deleted 52 characters in body
May
12
answered How many attacks do Eternal Guard have?
May
6
comment 40k - Kustom Force Field and Vehicle Explosions
A FAQ creating an exception to a rule for one specific scenario being used as justification/precedent for thinking there's an exception elsewhere is a bad way to go IMO. GW has written some really baffling FAQ rulings over the years.
Apr
30
comment Survival of the Fittest activations and priority
Yes you will get the 7 you paid for, you won't be able to continue digging beyond that.
Apr
30
comment Survival of the Fittest activations and priority
Suppose you had 7 creatures in your hand, if you wanted you could say "I put 7 activations on the stack without passing priority." and discard all 7 to the survival. Obviously this is kind of a bad play, because then if they cast disenchant in response to all 7, it will be on top and destroy your survival before you do any tutoring, so you couldn't carry on the tutor. In the vast majority of cases you want to pass priority after each play and see if your opponent has any response. (Maybe you would do it if you just looked at their hand and saw a [mtg:Krosan Grip]!)
Apr
30
comment Survival of the Fittest activations and priority
Your first Survival is on the bottom of the stack, Disenchant goes above it and will resolve first. If you had a second creature you could discard, you could then put that on top of disenchant and keep on survivaling until there are not more creatures in your library, keeping disenchant trapped on the stack.
Apr
30
revised Survival of the Fittest activations and priority
deleted 8 characters in body; edited title
Apr
30
answered Survival of the Fittest activations and priority