3,575 reputation
1023
bio website
location Edmonton, Canada
age
visits member for 3 years, 3 months
seen 8 hours ago

Cleaner [klee-ner] adj
1. characteristic valued by a programmer's personal preference for something that cannot otherwise be justified using accepted Software Engineering principles: This approach increases cyclomatic complexity and reduces encapsulation. It's cleaner, do it.


May
12
revised How many attacks do Eternal Guard have?
deleted 52 characters in body
May
12
answered How many attacks do Eternal Guard have?
May
6
comment 40k - Kustom Force Field and Vehicle Explosions
A FAQ creating an exception to a rule for one specific scenario being used as justification/precedent for thinking there's an exception elsewhere is a bad way to go IMO. GW has written some really baffling FAQ rulings over the years.
Apr
30
comment Survival of the Fittest activations and priority
Yes you will get the 7 you paid for, you won't be able to continue digging beyond that.
Apr
30
comment Survival of the Fittest activations and priority
Suppose you had 7 creatures in your hand, if you wanted you could say "I put 7 activations on the stack without passing priority." and discard all 7 to the survival. Obviously this is kind of a bad play, because then if they cast disenchant in response to all 7, it will be on top and destroy your survival before you do any tutoring, so you couldn't carry on the tutor. In the vast majority of cases you want to pass priority after each play and see if your opponent has any response. (Maybe you would do it if you just looked at their hand and saw a [mtg:Krosan Grip]!)
Apr
30
comment Survival of the Fittest activations and priority
Your first Survival is on the bottom of the stack, Disenchant goes above it and will resolve first. If you had a second creature you could discard, you could then put that on top of disenchant and keep on survivaling until there are not more creatures in your library, keeping disenchant trapped on the stack.
Apr
30
revised Survival of the Fittest activations and priority
deleted 8 characters in body; edited title
Apr
30
answered Survival of the Fittest activations and priority
Apr
30
comment What happens when I cast a spell incorrectly?
@callahan09 Yes, of course you're not allowed to declare an illegal target. The question is, what happens if you accidentally do? 717.1 is very clear: If any part was illegal, you roll back the entire thing, you don't just correct the illegal sub-part. Judges are human, mistakes happen.
Apr
29
comment What happens when I cast a spell incorrectly?
That judge was wrong, the answer is wrong. If you declare an illegal target the play is reversed. You aren't forced to change to a legal target.
Apr
28
comment How many is “A bunch”?
I would simply say "I do not concede, please play it out." The scenario, despite opponent's sloppy communication, isn't ultimately that functionally different from simply playing splinter twin then asking if you concede without doing the combo at all, which is perfectly allowed, and is just as likely or not to telegraph that you believe you are holding an out.
Apr
11
answered Going to ground behind a Aegis defense line
Apr
4
revised Would Evacuation and Ambush Commander return all forests to their owners' hands?
added 558 characters in body
Apr
4
answered Would Evacuation and Ambush Commander return all forests to their owners' hands?
Feb
11
comment Is there a program/game i can build a deck and play against AI's without a net connection?
Nice try, SkyNet. We will not help you become self-aware!
Feb
10
comment Why so many people use “house rules” in EDH/Commander?
Right, but we're talking about kitchen table banlists. People who started playing magic in the xBox-M10 boom don't even have Wrath of God in their collection, have never even heard of Swords to Plowshares or Vindicate. They have a comparatively poor ratio of removal and sweepers to creature-based threats compared to the full depth of the EDH card pool.
Feb
10
comment Why so many people use “house rules” in EDH/Commander?
Only thing I would add is 'official' banlists rarely take into consideration the $$$ value/general scarcity of cards that are the good 'answers' to certain ban-worthy strategies, where house rules often will.
Feb
6
comment Wording on Volrath's Shapeshifter
I read OP's question as "If I Clone my opponent's Volrath's Shapeshifter, why do I get a shapeshifter of my own instead of a copy of the top card of my opponent's GY?"
Feb
6
comment Wording on Volrath's Shapeshifter
I think you guys are over-thinking what he's asking. The answer imo is just: 706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values...Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not copied. the results of text-changes are not copiable, so when you copy the shapeshifter you get a 'base' one that then text-changes itself to the top card of your GY.
Jan
31
comment Penalty For Skipping Priority
@John in a sense, yes, it does. If you've been playing the game for many turns at a particular pace and not asking your opponent to slow down or be explicit about the upkeep step, you can't really expect him or her to be penalized for carrying on playing at the same pace with the same shortcut that you didn't previously say anything about?