3,815 reputation
1025
bio website
location Edmonton, Canada
age
visits member for 3 years, 4 months
seen 17 hours ago

Cleaner [klee-ner] adj
1. characteristic valued by a programmer's personal preference for something that cannot otherwise be justified using accepted Software Engineering principles: This approach increases cyclomatic complexity and reduces encapsulation. It's cleaner, do it.


Aug
14
awarded  Informed
Aug
11
comment Can more lands be tapped for mana than needed?
@Rainbolt Lund committed a Game Rule Violation. His opponent saying "I noticed you commit that game rule violation, but chose not to say anything because I didn't want to point it out to you" is an exact definition of cheating. The only thing to investigate is potentially if his opponent was aware it was an actual rule violation and not just a mis-play.
Aug
11
comment Can more lands be tapped for mana than needed?
Fair enough, but I think it's relevant for OP to know he did actually break a rule of the game, whatever the consequences may be at his kitchen table/level of tournament. Cheating is still a DQ at R-REL, and his opponent potentially cheated. Since the rule is a bit obscure and the offense subtle, some more leeway in determining if the opponent understood a rule was broken rather than simply a mis-play may be given at Regular, but it still needs to be investigated.
Aug
11
comment Can more lands be tapped for mana than needed?
Floating mana without announcing is however a violation of rule 106.4a and can be penalized.
Aug
11
comment Can more lands be tapped for mana than needed?
Your friend would actually be facing disqualification for cheating if he did that at a tournament. He noticed you breaking a rule (failing to announce out loud that you had leftover mana after casting a spell) and chose not to say anything believing he would gain an advantage from your rule violation.
Aug
11
comment Can more lands be tapped for mana than needed?
What happened is illegal and there would be a penalty of a Warning for Game Rule Violation at a Competitive or Professional tournament. As you quoted in 106.4a, floating mana must be explicitly announced.
Jul
27
comment What do I say when an opponent asks if I'm “tapped out”, especially if I still have a means of casting a spell?
Or sometimes to badger people who purposely play with messy or confusing boards thinking it gives them some kind of pro edge. e.g., "Yes I am going to ask you if your inkmoth nexus is tapped every time it's relevant until you take it out from under that stack of darksteel citadels you tried to slip it into and put it where I can see it." :)
Jul
24
comment When is a battalion trigger considered “missed” at Competitive REL?
At the risk of being pedantic about MTG rules on the internet (...) your question is phrased a bit backward. The trigger happened, the rules of the game are unwavering on this point. What you're trying to do is get a read on your opponent to determine how likely he or she is to make a play error in the future. There is no aid for you here in the mechanics of the game. This is about social card-sharping skills.
Jul
24
comment When is a battalion trigger considered “missed” at Competitive REL?
MtG history lesson! : google "Charles Gindy Worlds 2009" and "Brian Kibler Angel of Despair Trigger" to see why those rules were reworked to their current wording :)
Jun
28
answered What's the name of the type of expansion set “packs” that MTG players can buy at release events?
Jun
27
comment When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?
The play described in the original question is actually completely legal too. Although this is a better line of play because your counterspell isn't wasted if your opponent cancels your incinerate.
Jun
27
comment When is my earliest opportunity to destroy a creature I couldn't counter?
You can put the counter spell on the stack targeting the sliver by the way. It just won't do anything when it resolves if you haven't removed root sliver by that time. "Can't be countered" is not the same thing as "cannot be targeted by spells and abilities." It's just like casting Terror on an indestructible creature. The play is legal, it just won't do anything when it resolves.
Jun
26
comment Dictate of Erebos and Undercity Informer stack question
The difference is more in one player soliciting future information from the other vs one "thinking-out-loud" on his or her own. In context you may sometimes be allowed a "take back" on the second. Regardless it's still helpful information for OP to learn when different decisions are made.
Jun
16
comment Will Yixlid Jailer negate Snapcaster Mage's flashback-giving ability?
Also if we're going to nitpick, the timestamp is the resolution of Snapcaster's triggered ability, not the timestamp of the snapcaster. (This is likely to actually matter in the sorts of weird EDH-type situations involving cards like Warp World where the whole scenario would ever matter in the first place :) )
Jun
5
awarded  Enlightened
Jun
5
awarded  Nice Answer
Jun
3
awarded  Yearling
May
12
comment How many attacks do Eternal Guard have?
I would guess either 1) army book author forgot you're not allowed to choose anymore and carried forward old wording. or 2) army book author knows that in next edition of core rules you're going to be allowed to choose again or it will matter in some other way. (One is kind of hoping that they've been overvaluing Stubborn so badly because they've already decided steadfast is going away.... :) )
May
12
revised How many attacks do Eternal Guard have?
deleted 52 characters in body
May
12
answered How many attacks do Eternal Guard have?