2,894 reputation
1019
bio website ellipsix.net
location
age 28
visits member for 3 years, 3 months
seen yesterday

I'm a graduate student in physics doing research in high-energy particle physics. I also have a hobby interest in computer programming.

You can find me on Twitter, or check out my blog and personal website!

For matters not related to Stack Exchange, I can be contacted by email at stack@ellipsix.net.


Oct
17
answered Do -1/-1 counters count as damage?
Oct
17
comment Mimic Vat and Exiling
@ikegami (1) no, you didn't. jwodder's answer is a prime example of the literal interpretation being the correct one, and nothing you said refutes that. If you'd like to discuss this further it's probably time to move it to chat. (2) Thanks; I couldn't think of an example offhand so I wasn't sure.
Oct
17
comment Mimic Vat and Exiling
@ikegami As I said, it's a rule of thumb; there are rare exceptions, such as the one you brought up. That being said, are you sure it would actually be templated that way?
Oct
17
comment Mimic Vat and Exiling
It may be worth emphasizing that the reason this is clear (i.e. the reason it's clear you exile the token whether it's a creature or not) is simply that the text does not say anything about it being or not being a creature. It's an often-quoted rule of thumb that Magic cards should be taken literally except when the rules specify otherwise; this is a prime example.
Oct
15
comment What happens when a double-sided card is returned to the battlefield or a copy of it appears?
@Rainbolt in rule 700.4 there is no mention of creatures. I guess that has changed since M12 but I'm not sure... you'd have to compare the old and new releases of the comprehensive rules. In any case, regardless of what the rules say, people have used "dies" informally for noncreature permanents for a long time.
Oct
13
comment What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?
I would be curious to see a more explicit statement of that from a judge. Technically, the rules excerpt you've quoted says that sleeves cannot be used as markers, but it doesn't say that sleeved cardboard can't be used as markers, assuming whatever is in the sleeve suitably identifies the type of token (e.g. one of the token inserts distributed in boosters).
Oct
6
comment Must a player disclose what deck they are using before play?
I think your next-to-last paragraph sounds more like competitive Magic, or at least casual with some competitive element. In my experience, it's not uncommon in casual Magic for a player to talk about their deck in advance. It's certainly not required, but sometimes it's fun for players to discuss deck tech even though they may be giving away a slight strategic advantage by doing so.
Sep
29
comment Does “other” refer to that particular instance or all cards of the same name?
And in general, any time a card wants to refer to all cards of a given name, it will specifically use the word "named".
Sep
11
comment Will Repercussion deal damage to a controller beyond a creature's toughness?
@intuited nah, it's not a particularly strong card. Dealing massive amounts of damage to a creature isn't that much easier than doing the same to a player. Sure, it can make a cool combination with something like Earthquake, but that's a difficult enough interaction to exploit that Repercussion is nowhere near strong enough to be banned or restricted.
Sep
6
comment Do deathtouch and deathtouch-like effects stop trample damage?
Minor thing: it might be useful to be clear that Stinkweed Imp dies before the opponent gets priority. It doesn't matter for this case, of course, but I could imagine that it might throw off a new player reading this sometime in the future.
Aug
25
comment Do creatures who come into play tapped have summoning sickness?
@ikegami I would say all four parts of your last comment are incorrect. In any case I think if we are to continue this it would be best to transfer to a chat room (perhaps Board & Card Games Chat).
Aug
25
comment Do creatures who come into play tapped have summoning sickness?
@ikegami no, rule 302.6 says nothing about haste. Creatures with haste are able to behave in a way that directly contradicts that rule. Noncreature permanents are not. That's why haste is an exception but not being a creature isn't.
Aug
25
comment Do creatures who come into play tapped have summoning sickness?
@ikegami well, that depends on what you consider to be the rule. I'm going by 302.6 of the comprehensive rules, which only applies to creatures, and thus noncreature permanents aren't an exception, they are outside the scope of the rule.
Aug
20
comment Do creatures who come into play tapped have summoning sickness?
And it may be worth mentioning for completeness that haste is the only exception to the summoning sickness rule. For this rule it doesn't matter whether a creature is tapped or untapped, upside down, flipped, phased out, paired, etc.
Aug
5
comment Will Exquisite Blood trigger even if the life loss eliminates the player
Related: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/4749/… (which is kind of a more general version of this question)
Aug
2
reviewed Edit suggested edit on Do cards with abilities that target trigger heroic?
Aug
2
revised Do cards with abilities that target trigger heroic?
formatting and link to card mentioned.
Jul
28
reviewed Approve suggested edit on Does Phytotitan return to the battlefield when it first died and then was exiled?
Jul
28
answered Does Phytotitan return to the battlefield when it first died and then was exiled?
Jul
19
answered Will Eidolon of Rhetoric also prevent Cipher from working in the same turn as another spell?