Reputation
3,603
Next privilege 4,000 Rep.
Access 'trusted user' tools
Badges
14 24
Newest
 Enlightened
Impact
~264k people reached

Feb
24
comment What happens if a target becomes ineligible after a card has been cast?
@JonTheMon To be clear for future readers, I'd suggest explaining in the answer that "fizzles" means being countered due to all targets becoming invalid. Not that it's a bad answer as is, of course.
Feb
23
answered Siren of the Fanged Coast vs. Devotion
Feb
22
comment What cards transfer mana from colorless to any color?
This search doesn't quite correspond to what the question is asking. Did you mean it just as an example?
Jan
29
comment Does Storm count opponents' spells?
As the answers show, this is one of many cases in which Magic cards (or rules, really) are meant to be read literally.
Jan
3
comment Can something have multiples of the same aura?
(re: the answer) Well, technically I'd say the rule that allows you to put enchantments on creatures doesn't give any restrictions. I bring this up because the rules of Magic generally work by starting from nothing and specifying what you can do. So if you want to take some action in the game, there had better be a rule that allows you to do so. In this case, there is; there's a rule that lets you put an enchantment on a creature.
Dec
28
comment Who is in charge of knowing abilities of blockers and attackers?
Isn't your opponent supposed to volunteer information if they notice an inconsistency in the game state, to the extent necessary to fix it?
Dec
17
comment How does Elemental Resonance convert a Mana Cost to a Mana Source?
I suspect rule 107.4c is going to disappear with the OGW rules update, or at least get a disclaimer along the lines of "Some old cards used the generic mana symbol to represent colorless mana...." so that it becomes irrelevant if you're using Oracle text. From the Expeditions that have been spoiled, we know that the OGW-current rules text of lands with colorless-mana-producing abilities will use the colorless mana symbol, and that suggests that all old cards with such abilities will receive errata to make the change.
Dec
13
comment Will Karlov get multiple +1/+1 counters with Soul Warden when multiple tokens are created simultaneously?
By the way: there are no +2/+2 counters involved in this situation. Only +1/+1 counters. (+2/+2 counters are only used on a few very old cards.)
Dec
12
comment Can a creature sacrifice itself?
It may be useful to think of it like this: you sacrifice the creature, it's not the creature that sacrifices itself.
Dec
9
comment What happens to Death Cloud when there aren't enough legal targets
Even though Death Cloud doesn't target, if it were a spell that did target, you couldn't even cast it in the first place if you didn't have enough targets. It wouldn't be countered for that reason. (It would be countered if its targets become illegal while the spell is on the stack.) There's probably a question somewhere on this site about that, and it's also explained in the rules.
Dec
6
comment What can I sacrifice for Champion of Stray Souls' ability?
@Jefromi well, I was thinking of how the fact that you can only sacrifice permanents is part of the definition. But yes, the point I actually think is worth emphasizing is that you cannot sacrifice a card in your hand, graveyard, or library.
Dec
6
comment What can I sacrifice for Champion of Stray Souls' ability?
@corsiKa yes, that's exactly what I'm saying. My point is that, given the way the question is worded, I could imagine a new player missing the fact that this applies to any instance of the word "sacrifice" on any Magic card.
Dec
6
comment Alesha, Who Smiles at Death, and cards with a * as their power
@HaoYe I'm not sure offhand, but it looks like Sewer Nemesis does have a characteristic-defining ability, just one that doesn't do anything without a player being chosen. Not that the distinction matters in practice.
Dec
6
comment What can I sacrifice for Champion of Stray Souls' ability?
It might be worth emphasizing that this is part of the definition of "sacrifice" and has nothing to do with Champion of Stray Souls specifically.
Dec
5
comment “Conduit of Ruin” and “Endless One”
You might think of it like this (summarizing the answers, which is why I put it as a comment which can be temporary): Conduit changes the cost, it doesn't change the X.
Nov
19
comment When are players obligated to tell their opponent that the storm count is wrong?
Regarding the answer: we know that players may not misrepresent derived or free information. I would think that, by increasing the value on the spindown to (previous value + 2), Alice is misrepresenting the storm count. Is there some reason that's not the case?
Nov
5
comment In magic the gathering can I tap a creature at the attacking/blocking phase?
Good answer, but it might be worth pointing out that even though your opponent can't rush you through a phase, it doesn't mean you can just wait for your opponent to declare attackers and then back up and try to tap something. Rushing you through a phase only means that they didn't even give you a chance to play something in that phase if you wanted to.
Nov
1
revised Does Misthollow Griffin's from-exile ability work if it's exiled face down?
remove irrelevant rule
Nov
1
answered Does Misthollow Griffin's from-exile ability work if it's exiled face down?
Oct
29
comment What qualifies as a “monocolored creature”?
@corsiKa I only offered devoid as the most prevalent example of cards whose color is not determined by their mana cost. I would expect the general idea of such cards to keep popping up every now and then for a long time.