Reputation
3,109
Next privilege 3,500 Rep.
Protect questions
Badges
13 23
Newest
 Yearling
Impact
~209k people reached

Nov
28
revised Does “an attacking creature” count as “a creature that attacked”?
clarify title
Nov
27
revised In what kind of deck is Aether Vial good?
deleted 31 characters in body
Nov
27
comment In what kind of deck is Aether Vial good?
Ah, well then I'll edit accordingly. I haven't followed Modern that closely so I guess I missed it.
Nov
27
answered In what kind of deck is Aether Vial good?
Nov
24
comment Damage to player when activating Flying ability after 'Declare Blockers' step
It's also in the rules: "509.1b. If an attacking creature gains or loses an evasion ability after a legal block has been declared, it doesn't affect that block." So this is not something unique to Leaping Master. (i.e. the ruling is just a clarification)
Nov
17
comment Can I sacrifice a creature that I lost control of after activating its ability?
You don't tap Tar Pitcher to sacrifice it, you tap it and sacrifice it to deal damage. If that helps at all.
Nov
4
comment Enchantment and other continuous effects priority
Incidentally this whole question has nothing to do with the idea of "priority" which determines when each player is allowed to play spells and abilities.
Nov
4
comment When resolving Extract, do I need to know what card I'm looking for?
@ProductionValues seems pretty clear to me: you are looking for a card. Anything that counts as "a card" is fair game to be found by the search. If an ability said "search your library for a land card" then you could find anything that is a land card. If it said "search your library for a green creature card with converted mana cost less than 6" then you could find anything that is a green creature card with CMC less than 6. Would you argue that these are all unclear because you don't know which piece of cardboard you are allowed to get?
Oct
17
answered Do -1/-1 counters count as damage?
Oct
17
comment Mimic Vat and Exiling
@ikegami (1) no, you didn't. jwodder's answer is a prime example of the literal interpretation being the correct one, and nothing you said refutes that. If you'd like to discuss this further it's probably time to move it to chat. (2) Thanks; I couldn't think of an example offhand so I wasn't sure.
Oct
17
comment Mimic Vat and Exiling
@ikegami As I said, it's a rule of thumb; there are rare exceptions, such as the one you brought up. That being said, are you sure it would actually be templated that way?
Oct
17
comment Mimic Vat and Exiling
It may be worth emphasizing that the reason this is clear (i.e. the reason it's clear you exile the token whether it's a creature or not) is simply that the text does not say anything about it being or not being a creature. It's an often-quoted rule of thumb that Magic cards should be taken literally except when the rules specify otherwise; this is a prime example.
Oct
15
comment What happens when a double-sided card is returned to the battlefield or a copy of it appears?
@Rainbolt in rule 700.4 there is no mention of creatures. I guess that has changed since M12 but I'm not sure... you'd have to compare the old and new releases of the comprehensive rules. In any case, regardless of what the rules say, people have used "dies" informally for noncreature permanents for a long time.
Oct
13
comment What should be used to represent creature tokens when the printed token card isn't available?
I would be curious to see a more explicit statement of that from a judge. Technically, the rules excerpt you've quoted says that sleeves cannot be used as markers, but it doesn't say that sleeved cardboard can't be used as markers, assuming whatever is in the sleeve suitably identifies the type of token (e.g. one of the token inserts distributed in boosters).
Oct
6
comment Must a player disclose what deck they are using before play?
I think your next-to-last paragraph sounds more like competitive Magic, or at least casual with some competitive element. In my experience, it's not uncommon in casual Magic for a player to talk about their deck in advance. It's certainly not required, but sometimes it's fun for players to discuss deck tech even though they may be giving away a slight strategic advantage by doing so.
Sep
29
comment Does “other” refer to that particular instance or all cards of the same name?
And in general, any time a card wants to refer to all cards of a given name, it will specifically use the word "named".
Sep
11
comment Will Repercussion deal damage to a controller beyond a creature's toughness?
@intuited nah, it's not a particularly strong card. Dealing massive amounts of damage to a creature isn't that much easier than doing the same to a player. Sure, it can make a cool combination with something like Earthquake, but that's a difficult enough interaction to exploit that Repercussion is nowhere near strong enough to be banned or restricted.
Sep
6
comment Do deathtouch and deathtouch-like effects stop trample damage?
Minor thing: it might be useful to be clear that Stinkweed Imp dies before the opponent gets priority. It doesn't matter for this case, of course, but I could imagine that it might throw off a new player reading this sometime in the future.
Aug
25
comment Do creatures who come into play tapped have summoning sickness?
@ikegami I would say all four parts of your last comment are incorrect. In any case I think if we are to continue this it would be best to transfer to a chat room (perhaps Board & Card Games Chat).
Aug
25
comment Do creatures who come into play tapped have summoning sickness?
@ikegami no, rule 302.6 says nothing about haste. Creatures with haste are able to behave in a way that directly contradicts that rule. Noncreature permanents are not. That's why haste is an exception but not being a creature isn't.