2,954 reputation
1020
bio website ellipsix.net
location Wuhan, China
age 28
visits member for 3 years, 5 months
seen 12 hours ago

I'm a postdoc doing research in high-energy particle physics. I also have a hobby interest in computer programming.

You can find me on Twitter, or check out my blog and personal website! Or you can email me at stack@ellipsix.net.

However, please don't contact me through any other channel about something that should be handled through this site. If you do, I'll probably just tell you to post it here.


Feb
14
reviewed Approve Will suspend foil a “Cheesy” victory?
Feb
7
comment How do two Doubling Seasons affect each other?
Very nice now :-)
Feb
6
comment How do two Doubling Seasons affect each other?
My point was that effects don't resolve, e.g. they don't go on the stack. I'd use "happens" or "takes effect" or "finishes" or something of that nature.
Feb
6
comment How do two Doubling Seasons affect each other?
A slight nitpick, but I wouldn't use the word "resolve" in this context because it could cause confusion with spells and abilities resolving.
Jan
27
revised Can I choose “Artifact Creature” as a creature type as Adaptive Automaton enters the battlefield?
mention that tribal cards can have creature types
Jan
15
reviewed Approve When I gain control of a creature, do I also gain control of any auras or equipment attached to it?
Jan
8
comment How does Double Strike work with Trample?
That's not what this question is about, though. It's an unrelated misconception that user6555 has.
Jan
7
comment How does Double Strike work with Trample?
Regardless of what the existing answer to the other question says, I think someone who reads and understands an adequate answer to that question would then be able to figure out this one, so I do think it's a duplicate.
Nov
2
revised How do cards like Brainstorm affect the probability of drawing an out?
fix formatting
Nov
2
comment Does Leyline of Singularity works on tokens?
@GendoIkari Most of the comprehensive rules don't change that often, so most of what you find on MTGSalvation should be accurate, but you never know where something might have changed. It's probably better to refer to the actual CR from Wizards' site. There's also this, which is kept up to date, but is technically still not canonical.
Oct
28
answered Why did devotion decks dominate PT Theros?
Oct
22
comment Destroying a Planewalker before its ability is used
@Indigenuity Ah, well, I don't know how DotP works, but what you're describing can't happen in actual Magic.
Oct
14
comment Destroying a Planewalker before its ability is used
@Indigenuity Actually in Magic software (as in paper Magic), you can only cast spells or activate abilities during your opponent's main phase after that player has had an opportunity to do so first. Sometimes it might not be clear that the player whose turn it is gets the first shot at playing things, but it is the case.
Oct
14
comment Does untapping an attacker stop its attack
That's true, untapping (or tapping) a creature after it has been declared as an attacker can never stop it from attacking. (Same goes for blocking.) But there are some cards that will say things like "Untap target attacking creature and remove it from combat," which does stop the creature from attacking.
Oct
11
comment Does Master of the Wild Hunt deal damage multiple times?
@ikegami I was simply pointing out that combat is another case where multiple sources deal damage at the same time.
Oct
9
comment Does Master of the Wild Hunt deal damage multiple times?
Yep, and similarly, when creatures in combat deal damage, they all do so at the same time (unless first strike or double strike are involved). So all combat damage in this case counts as one instance of dealing damage, even if it is coming from multiple sources.
Sep
28
comment How to resolve illegal targeting that was allowed?
To be clear, it's the ability of Chained to the Rocks that targeted your dragon, not the enchantment itself - right?
Sep
23
answered Ordeal of Heliod and changing creature control
Sep
7
comment Can I “hide” a Vesuvan Shapeshifter?
@Jefromi that would be another reason to mark the face-down permanents with dice or counters or something, because any time your opponent starts asking which one is which you can just respond with "#3". It's your opponent's obligation to remember that permanent #3 is the Shapeshifter, if that is revealed.
Aug
6
comment In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?
@Rawrgramming it means that when you cast a spell, you are the first one allowed to respond to it (although it is rare that you would want to do so).