2,865 reputation
1019
bio website ellipsix.net
location State College, PA
age 28
visits member for 3 years, 1 month
seen 4 hours ago

I'm a graduate student in physics doing research in high-energy particle physics. I also have a hobby interest in computer programming.

You can find me on Twitter, or check out my blog and personal website!

For matters not related to Stack Exchange, I can be contacted by email at stack@ellipsix.net.


Jun
19
comment Gaining and losing life at the same time
It's worth noting that in this scenario you don't gain and lose life at the same time. First you lose the life, then only later, you gain the life (if you haven't already lost).
Jun
13
answered Trample + Deathtouch
Jun
13
comment Land ratio vs mana curve
Limited decks have a lower overall quality of spells, and the power cards in the deck tend to be more expensive: 4-6 mana instead of 2 or 3. So it's more important to hit the first 4-5 land drops consistently than it is in a low-curve constructed deck. Plus, if you miss land drops early, it's easy to fall behind in board position, and the kinds of cards that let you recover from those situations are in very short supply in Limited. Better to avoid getting behind at all, and drawing enough land is a key component of doing so.
May
12
comment Multiple cards in play with “At the beginning of your upkeep…”
In a casual game, it's usually not going to be a big deal, of course, but do keep in mind that technically "reveal the top card" is not at all the same thing as "draw." There are cards that care about the difference.
May
11
comment How much damage do my other Goblins deal if my Goblin Chieftain dies during the first strike step?
IIRC the +1/+1 itself is an effect. As ghoppe said, the Goblin Chieftain has an ability; in this particular case it's a static ability, because it is something that applies continuously as long as the Chieftain is in play. One effect of that ability is that all other Goblins you control get +1/+1. And another effect is that they all have haste.
May
8
comment How does trample interact with damage prevention effects and indestructible blockers?
@user1873 Yes it does in the normal situation where you assign the maximum possible amount of damage to the player. The fact that the OP proposed this scenario indicates that that is what was intended. In any case, you have to make an explicit damage assignment, it's not like assigning all the damage to the creature is a default, so saying "no it doesn't" is misleading. "No it doesn't have to" would be more accurate.
May
7
answered How does trample interact with damage prevention effects and indestructible blockers?
Apr
4
comment Does sacrificing a permanent cancel its effects, or do they still resolve?
Neither of those examples are targeted abilities, so IIRC the ability wouldn't get countered, it would just fail to return the creature.
Apr
4
awarded  magic-the-gathering
Apr
3
answered Can a creature be tapped to prevent its activated ability?
Mar
30
awarded  Quorum
Mar
10
comment How to search opponents library when playing remote via webcam?
FWIW, I've recently heard a fair number of people say they prefer Cockatrice over MWS and some other clients.
Mar
4
comment Can the “Sacrifice (this card):” activated ability be placed back on the stack?
To put Alex's comment another way, the card goes to the graveyard at the same time as the ability is first placed on the stack. There is no opportunity for you or your opponent to do anything between the ability being placed on the stack and the moving of the Seal to the graveyard. The casting of Naturalize happens well after both of those actions.
Feb
23
comment What happens when an undying creature takes damage from a creature with deathtouch?
Just thought I'd point out that the caveat in your last paragraph is relevant for the few cards which actually say "When [this creature] deals damage to another creature, destroy that creature." In those cases the triggered ability would lose track of the creature with undying.
Feb
22
answered Does sacrificing a permanent cancel its effects, or do they still resolve?
Feb
19
comment Can Mirrorworks' ability be activated multiple times for the same artifact?
Mirrorworks' ability can never be activated, because it is triggered. This is mentioned in the answers but I think it's worth emphasizing.
Feb
19
comment Can Mirrorworks' ability be activated multiple times for the same artifact?
603.2c is the closest I can think of that you're going to get to that... I see that user1873 has already done the legwork to show it ;-)
Feb
14
comment What happens if Genesis Wave puts Fists of Ironwood onto a battlefield with no creatures?
(cont.) I can't think of anything offhand that would cause an Aura to enter the battlefield attached to a permanent without it becoming attached to that permanent, though. I guess you would need to have a card that puts a creature on the battlefield with an Aura enchanting it. The card would need to contain wording that specifically mentions both the creature (or other permanent) and the Aura to make that happen.
Feb
14
comment What happens if Genesis Wave puts Fists of Ironwood onto a battlefield with no creatures?
@thesunneversets: Phasing doesn't actually cause a permanent to enter or leave the battlefield, even though it is treated as not being on the battlefield while it's phased out (rule 702.24d). Further evidence that that is one seriously messed up ability ;-) There are cards that specifically allow for putting an Aura on the battlefield attached to a permanent, like Sovereigns of Lost Alara. (cont.)
Feb
13
comment What happens if Genesis Wave puts Fists of Ironwood onto a battlefield with no creatures?
I found a reference on the Wizards forums so I edited it in, and took the opportunity to clarify the rest of the answer.