Reputation
3,049
Next privilege 3,500 Rep.
Protect questions
Badges
10 21
Newest
 Student
Impact
~187k people reached

1d
comment Can a player redirect his attack if the defending player concedes?
Oh, and also it may or may not be worth mentioning that this seems to be a general principle in Magic: once you make a choice of any sort, the choice is locked in, and if it becomes invalid you don't get to change it.
1d
comment Can a player redirect his attack if the defending player concedes?
IIRC I've seen a couple of rules that cover situations which are either impossible or sufficiently obscure that I can't figure out how they could happen. (I don't remember which ones.) So I don't think it's a good idea to take the presence of a rule describing situation X as evidence that situation X can actually occur.
Mar
25
comment Brutal Hordechief & Bloodthrone Vampire
Two things, in the interest of not confusing new players: you left out any mention of activating Brutal Hordechief's second ability, which of course has to be done before the declare blockers step; and in step 6, technically it's 11 individual triggered abilities that each make the opponent lose 1 life and the player gain one life.
Mar
20
comment Can I use a nonbasic land that taps and gives me either a red or white mana if I only have red mana in my deck?
Kurtis, I would echo @RemcoGerlich's question: what do (or did) you think happens when you tap a land for mana? Did you think it allowed you to pull a land card from your deck and put it into play? That's a very common misconception (so don't feel bad), but that's not how it works. If you did have that impression, I think that's the reason your question is confusing many people.
Mar
15
comment Do counters go away when the creature that gave them dies
@Jefromi I suppose technically one should mention that there are other kinds of counters, like -1/-1 counters and charge counters. But of course the point you make, that an effect does not use counters unless it includes the word "counter", is a good one.
Mar
9
comment “Whenever you draw a card” - does that include the beginning of each turn?
Hendrik, the point @JoeW wants to make (I think), which is a very good point, is that Magic cards are meant to be interpreted quite literally. If there were an exception, it would typically say so on the card. (There are a fair number of "exceptions" that are built into the rules of the game, and thus are not printed on cards, but generally you will do quite well by not worrying about those.) P.S. A strategic tip: gaining life is usually not very useful, and thus Horizon Chimera is not a very strong card.
Mar
6
comment Resolving an ambiguous game state caused by mixing restricted mana
@HaoYe (4 comments up) well, even in that case if you had the {1} you couldn't actually use it to cast Firespout. So the alternatives are being able to cast Firespout dealing 3 damage to flying and non-flying creatures, or not being able to cast it at all, and I think having the choice is strictly better. Of course this is getting off topic, so maybe something to take up in Board & Card Games Chat if anyone wanted to do so.
Feb
17
comment Why are MUD decks called MUD?
I think I've seen the same acronym (mis?)used for Mono-Blue Devotion.
Jan
27
comment Will a creature cast with Dash still return to your hand if it dies in combat?
@chiliNUT Rule 400.7: "An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence."
Jan
21
comment Can you counter a spell with indestructible?
Indestructibility has never been a characteristic, or alternatively, indestructible has never been a characteristic-defining ability. Characteristics are color, subtypes, power, and toughness [CR 604.3a(1)], at least in the current rules, but I don't think that has been changed for a long time, if ever.
Jan
3
comment Does reduced casting cost affect casting of cards with variable casting cost?
@player3 for future reference, if you have a question which is marked as a duplicate but you really don't think it is, the best way to handle that is to edit your question to make it explicitly clear what it is that you're asking which is not covered by the other question. Once you edit it, it goes into a queue to be reviewed for reopening. But it sounds like you got your answer in this case, which is good. Welcome to B&CG Stack Exchange!
Dec
31
comment Dealing Damage to Creature soulbonded to Deadeye Navigator
One way is that you sacrifice enough tokens to Bombard your opponent's life total down to zero, then Deadeye Navigator and Nevermaker both cease to exist by virtue of the fact that your opponent has lost the game. (Though they technically don't die.) But that kind of sidesteps the underlying rules question.
Dec
28
comment How much mana can I tap per turn?
Given the OP's newness to the game, I would emphasize that casting Arbor Colossus and activating his Monstrous ability are two entirely separate actions. This is obvious to experienced players, but I could imagine a new player might be confused about that from your wording.
Dec
14
comment Why am I unable to draw cards in Magic 2014?
Uh... wait, what? I can't figure out what you're asking here. The way you draw a card in Magic is that you pick it up from the top of the deck and put it in your hand. Or are you asking about Duels of the Planeswalkers instead?
Dec
9
comment Are (un)tapped permanents still legal targets for “(un)tap target permanent” effects?
@Chairforce the reason "cost/resolving" plays a role in this is that in the question, you gave two examples of costs that require tapping a permanent, and used them to formulate a hypothesis about effects that entail tapping a permanent, which suggests there's something pretty significant that you don't understand about the difference between cost and effect. It actually doesn't matter for the question you want to ask, but explaining that it doesn't matter is part of answering your question as asked.
Dec
7
comment Double Hardened Scales
So to clarify what @HaoYe said, in the situation you described neither Hoplite should have had any counters at all.
Dec
5
comment Can creatures with summoning sickness be tapped for convoke?
@Pow-Ian though summoning the tokens often costs at least as much as you save by using them for convoke! Still, it is possible and legal.
Nov
30
comment If Nighthowler is attached as an Enchantment to a Creature, what different things can it do?
It might be worth mentioning that the reason you add +X/+X to the enchanted creature's P/T is because Nighthowler says so right on the card: "Enchanted creature gets +X/+X," and has nothing to do with the fact that Nighthowler would have power and toughness X/X if it were a creature.
Nov
29
comment What happens in this infinite damage/infect loop?
"Crashes" is very appropriate wording (not sure if that's what you were referencing).
Nov
29
comment When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?
@corsiKa (3 comments up) well, I don't really think it's worth noting here ;-) The sub-stacks have little to no relevance in Magic.