Reputation
4,473
Next tag badge:
276/400 score
43/80 answers
Badges
12 40
Impact
~372k people reached

Jul
23
comment How can you distinguish a “Standard” Card fro a “Modern” Card?
What format a card is in being printed on the card doesn't make much sense: cards in standard now won't be in standard two years from now (unless they're reprinted). You just have to know what sets are in standard at the moment.
Jul
21
comment Do creatures put on the battlefield via a sorcery have summoning sickness?
Ah yes, equipment would definitely do it, and in the same vein so would auras.
Jul
21
comment Do creatures put on the battlefield via a sorcery have summoning sickness?
Can you lose haste? I guess you can lose "all abilities"
Jul
16
comment Gustcloak's ability vs. creatures with Vigilance
That's the one I quoted, but I meant there was one that differentiated between attempting to untap an untapped permanent and actually untapping an untapped permanent. It must have been a blog that was using 701.17 and 609.3 as supporting evidence and combining the two or something, because I read the damn thing three times this evening and didn't find it lol.
Jul
15
comment Gustcloak's ability vs. creatures with Vigilance
That's a generic rule, but I seem to recall there is rule that specifically mentions the tapping of tapped permanents and untapping of untapped permanents, I just couldn't find it.
Jul
15
answered Gustcloak's ability vs. creatures with Vigilance
Jul
13
comment How can creatures with indestructible end up in the graveyard?
Since the question calls out ending up in the graveyard, not just dying, it may be worth adding things like mill, self-mill, and discard.
Jul
12
awarded  Popular Question
Jul
10
comment Do blocking creatures heal back to full between phases?
I'd rather avoid a drawn out comment thread here. If you want to discuss that position, I made a room for us to do so.
Jul
10
comment Do blocking creatures heal back to full between phases?
Phases? No. Turns? Yes. Creatures heal at the end of every turn (regardless of whose turn it is).
Jul
9
comment “If a creature would enter the battlefield and it wasn't cast…”
Obviously the best usecase for this is gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=CHEATYFACE
Jul
8
comment Do you have to choose a target for a spell, or can you just cast it with no target and let it fizzle?
If you're playing lightning bolt and your opponent opens with a Leyline of Sanctity, you might as well scoop anyway.
Jul
7
comment What board game does this die belong to?
What's more concerning is that you just found them in your pocket.
Jul
6
comment Do you always need to keep track of what cards have been drawn in a turn?
General rule of magic: "If you can't prove you're not cheating, you can't do it."
Jul
5
awarded  Yearling
Jul
5
comment How does the double strike mechanic interact with other mechanics like lifelink or trample?
@Pacerier That's correct. From the comp rules, 702.19b The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking. Now it doesn't usually make much sense to do so, since at this point in time it can't be responded to, but sometimes it does for example preventing your opponent from entering Fateful Hour or something weird like that?
Jun
29
comment Dividing up Hexagonal Board Tiles
It would appear trapezoids seem to do the job well enough.
Jun
18
comment Does killing a creature mana source that's being tapped for mana to pay for a spell counter that spell?
Ooo yes you're absolutely right! I missed that part. You betchya. If you've announced a spell, no one is doing anything until you cast it.
Jun
18
comment Does killing a creature mana source that's being tapped for mana to pay for a spell counter that spell?
@Jefromi that isn't true - they may float mana in their pool and do many things before using that mana, if they want to. We just usually don't.
Jun
5
comment Do creatures that enter the battlefield at the same time see each other enter?
I don't think this topic is a good candidate for a canonical question. So many times, you end up with questions that have very intricate interactions, which render a canonical answer pointless.