Reputation
4,483
Next tag badge:
276/400 score
43/80 answers
Badges
12 40
Impact
~375k people reached

2d
comment How Specific Does Card Naming Have to Be
If you have a reviewable decklist to show you only have one flavor of Jace in your deck, is just saying "Jace" specific enough, even if you can't remember its name?
Jul
30
comment Have I missed a trigger if I announce it but then forget to resolve it?
Nathan did make the physical choice of putting the one card in the graveyard that should have as opposed to both, though. How does that play into the mix?
Jul
30
comment Have I missed a trigger if I announce it but then forget to resolve it?
So Alice is the Active player and Nathan is the Nonactive player? I like the convention.
Jul
29
comment Can I Stifle Heritage Druid's ability?
I think a better counter example would be stifling Arbor Elf's ability. Arbor Elf remains tapped, but the forest doesn't uptap.
Jul
23
comment How can you distinguish a “Standard” Card fro a “Modern” Card?
What format a card is in being printed on the card doesn't make much sense: cards in standard now won't be in standard two years from now (unless they're reprinted). You just have to know what sets are in standard at the moment.
Jul
21
comment Do creatures put on the battlefield via a sorcery have summoning sickness?
Ah yes, equipment would definitely do it, and in the same vein so would auras.
Jul
21
comment Do creatures put on the battlefield via a sorcery have summoning sickness?
Can you lose haste? I guess you can lose "all abilities"
Jul
16
comment Gustcloak's ability vs. creatures with Vigilance
That's the one I quoted, but I meant there was one that differentiated between attempting to untap an untapped permanent and actually untapping an untapped permanent. It must have been a blog that was using 701.17 and 609.3 as supporting evidence and combining the two or something, because I read the damn thing three times this evening and didn't find it lol.
Jul
15
comment Gustcloak's ability vs. creatures with Vigilance
That's a generic rule, but I seem to recall there is rule that specifically mentions the tapping of tapped permanents and untapping of untapped permanents, I just couldn't find it.
Jul
15
answered Gustcloak's ability vs. creatures with Vigilance
Jul
13
comment How can creatures with indestructible end up in the graveyard?
Since the question calls out ending up in the graveyard, not just dying, it may be worth adding things like mill, self-mill, and discard.
Jul
12
awarded  Popular Question
Jul
10
comment Do blocking creatures heal back to full between phases?
I'd rather avoid a drawn out comment thread here. If you want to discuss that position, I made a room for us to do so.
Jul
10
comment Do blocking creatures heal back to full between phases?
Phases? No. Turns? Yes. Creatures heal at the end of every turn (regardless of whose turn it is).
Jul
9
comment “If a creature would enter the battlefield and it wasn't cast…”
Obviously the best usecase for this is gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?name=CHEATYFACE
Jul
8
comment Do you have to choose a target for a spell, or can you just cast it with no target and let it fizzle?
If you're playing lightning bolt and your opponent opens with a Leyline of Sanctity, you might as well scoop anyway.
Jul
7
comment What board game does this die belong to?
What's more concerning is that you just found them in your pocket.
Jul
6
comment Do you always need to keep track of what cards have been drawn in a turn?
General rule of magic: "If you can't prove you're not cheating, you can't do it."
Jul
5
awarded  Yearling
Jul
5
comment How does the double strike mechanic interact with other mechanics like lifelink or trample?
@Pacerier That's correct. From the comp rules, 702.19b The controller of an attacking creature with trample first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it. Once all those blocking creatures are assigned lethal damage, any remaining damage is assigned as its controller chooses among those blocking creatures and the player or planeswalker the creature is attacking. Now it doesn't usually make much sense to do so, since at this point in time it can't be responded to, but sometimes it does for example preventing your opponent from entering Fateful Hour or something weird like that?