3,781 reputation
1035
bio website none
location Calgary, AB, Canada
age 27
visits member for 3 years
seen 1 hour ago

profile for corsiKa on Stack Exchange, a network of free, community-driven Q&A sites

Moderator on sqa.stackexchange - we welcome your QA questions!

Are you a part-time or freelance graphic designer looking for a lightweight project? I'm looking for some sprites :) hit me up at racket.game@gmail.com

Formally known as "glowcoder".

Seasonally known as "corsiKlause Ho Ho Ho".


Jul
16
comment If you block an attack, can the blocker be killed with an instant before you can sacrifice it?
Yes, Rusher, but imagine if someone said "If I enchant it, can my opponent respond before I enchant it?" and the answer would be yes they can. It's poorly worded (what OP actually means is "kill it before it is sacrificed") granted, but it's a completely legit question.
Jul
15
comment Is this a good LEONIN DECK “mission statement”?
You've got the cart before the horse. The failing card, and replacement card, exist because of a set of guidelines and restrictions that they fail and meet, respectively. The process of evaluating those restrictions should be of reasonable length to not drown the reader in trivia, while still having a core to prevent it from being overly broad. And that process will not ever be irrelevant, only the cards selected as a result of the process.
Jul
15
comment Is this a good LEONIN DECK “mission statement”?
I have to agree with murgatroid here - a great question would be "I've been following the 'five steps' (link). My mission statement is _____. [blah blah more background] When I've been playing, I've been finding ____ to be a weak card. Given ______ (constraints) what would be a better replacement and why?" It would be a subjective question, but it would be what's know as "good subjective"
Jul
14
comment What color are Nissa, Worldwaker's lands?
If a land had a mana cost, you wouldn't have to pay it as per 202.1b. That doesn't mean that they could not decide to color a land again, like they did with Dryad Arbor. If you Nissa a Dryad Arbor, it's a green elemental.
Jul
8
comment Are Magic: the Gathering Conspiracy cards colorless?
It seems very picky to say that you're considering Conspiracies, a card legal in a tiny sliver of Magic games, but won't also consider an Unhinged card, which is also legal in a tiny sliver of Magic games. Kind of a double standard. You're talking about two of the only "draft-only" sets in existence. It doesn't make sense to start drawing arbitrary lines.
Jul
8
comment Are Magic: the Gathering Conspiracy cards colorless?
I don't know about only existing in the Command Zone. You could open a Conspiracy pack with a Booster Tutor to put it into your hand, where it could interact with any number of cards that interact with the hand.
Jul
8
comment What's the technical term for the period of time between when an opponent concludes their turn and mine begins?
Interesting. After reading the article, I've found the confusion. You weren't oversimplifying. I was overcomplicated. I would have considered the one "Go" shortcut to be what you consider two different shortcuts. One by player A who passes priority until B gets priority in the end step, and then a shortcut initiated by B to pass any cleanup and untap-deferred triggers and proceed with the upkeep step. I would have considered those two different, but it appears I'm in the minority.
Jul
8
comment What's the technical term for the period of time between when an opponent concludes their turn and mine begins?
@Rusher passing the end step passes to the cleanup step where players can get priority to respond to events occuring as a result of the cleanup step (for example "when this card enters the graveyard" triggering from discarding down to 7. After the cleanup is the untap step where no priority is given ("when this uptaps" and other such triggers are deferred to the beginning of the upkeep step). I think you (and murgatroid) are oversimplifying exactly how complex the 'go' shortcut really is and what it entails, which I suppose is okay given mugatroid's link to the shortcut rules.
Jul
8
comment What's the technical term for the period of time between when an opponent concludes their turn and mine begins?
I believe your last paragraph is misleading. Untapping your lands and creatures would be the same as saying "I accept your shortcut." If you say "During your end step..." that would be the same as saying "I decline your shortcut." and the game actually goes as it is supposed to without shortcuts.
Jun
25
comment When a card asks you to flip a coin is it against the rules to use a two headed coin?
They might buy it if you called tails. =)
Jun
25
comment When a card asks you to flip a coin is it against the rules to use a two headed coin?
That depends - do you let your opponent examine the coin and then call it in the air? =)
Jun
25
comment What's the name of the theory that the player with the most options has the advantage?
If this player gets shot once, he's going straight to the hospital. I probably shouldn't play games where I can get shot.
Jun
24
comment Do MTG Core sets contain new (never before seen) cards? How does this compare with expansion sets?
You might want to reword your opening statements. It's very confusing, and makes it sound like there won't be many reprints when there are. Also, your statements are geared towards "current standard cards won't be reprinted as much" but that isn't want the OP appears to be asking about.
Jun
17
comment Will Yixlid Jailer negate Snapcaster Mage's flashback-giving ability?
Is there a scenario (barring split second shenanigans) where someone could give their jailer flash to hose my snapcaster? How would it work?
Jun
16
comment Could Cemetery Puca copy a Primordial Hydra?
@Kevin, I disagree with that - in this case, the "new" hydra never enters the battlefield. The Puca is already on the battlefield, and is merely changing its characteristics. So it will gain the "enters the battlefield" ability, but it will never trigger. I agree with your statement if it were cloned with Clone or Vesuvan Doppelganger's enter the battlefield trigger. (Obviously Doppelganger's triggered ability has the same pitfall Puca does.)
Jun
14
comment Could Cemetery Puca copy a Primordial Hydra?
Just realized how awkward it would be if you had actually chosen green for your caged sun in a blue-black control deck... but ya know, I'm not judging!
Jun
12
comment Why does a run of 4 in Cribbage score only 4?
@thesunneversets I don't know if you have kids, but I can tell you from experience cribbage is a great way to get them to learn 1) numbers and counting 2) strategy and analysis 3) politics and 4) an appreciation for games! Bonus points for being easy to play in a car =0
Jun
6
comment Can I activate the tap ability of a creature summoned last turn before I have to remove it to my hand?
Sounds like he's using a combo to get a Javelin every turn, and it's perfectly reasonable and legal.
Jun
5
comment Wall of Frost vs a cyphered Hidden Strings
@Cruncher - David is correct, as per 502.3. No player receives priority during the untap step, so no spells can be cast or resolve and no abilities can be activated or resolve. Any ability that triggers during this step will be held until the next time a player would receive priority, which is usually during the upkeep step. (See rule 503, "Upkeep Step.")
May
28
comment Pharika's Mender, Gray Merchant of Asphodel, Rescue From The Underworld
Also, why wouldn't you put GMOA's trigger on first, and then PM's trigger? This way, you could bring back a Black permanent for a higher devotion count for GMOA's trigger.