Reputation
5,639
Next tag badge:
357/400 score
54/80 answers
Badges
17 41
Newest
 Enthusiast
Impact
~525k people reached

Jan
10
comment Are players permitted to resolve errors between themselves, without involving a judge?
Also, repeat offenders will not be noted, so they can feel free to "oops, let's just take that back" in round after round.
Jan
8
comment Is there any way to stop someone from sacrificing a Golden Urn?
Your third sentence holds true in spite of the ruling on Urn, "As Golden Urn's last ability resolves, its last existence on the battlefield is checked to determine how many charge counters were on it." So even if someone tried to use something like Vampire Hexmage to remove its counters, the Urn is gone by the time could even target it, even if you responded to the activation.
Dec
31
comment How does drawing then discarding work with a full hand?
If this weren't the case, being the second player would really suck, since you wouldn't be able to draw up to 8 cards on your first turn!
Dec
24
comment Trading Property to settle a debt in Monopoly
I think it's pretty clear that this is a duplicate. If you can trade with a third party, you definitely can trade with your debtor. The idea that you might not be able to trade with your debtor but could trade with someone OTHER than your debtor is a very weak argument.
Dec
24
comment Trading Property to settle a debt in Monopoly
An asset of $1? Or simple no debts. You aren't bankrupt if you have $0 but also owe $0.
Dec
22
comment Does Doubling Cube's ability affect the mana used to activate it?
@NathanTaylor I would expect to see it used in a degenerate combo with dark ritual, high tide, and friends.
Dec
17
comment How does Elemental Resonance convert a Mana Cost to a Mana Source?
While this answer is purely conjecture, I think it's rooted in sound logic and has a high probability of being spot on when official rulings are released.
Dec
10
comment Can an opponent bolt a mana-generating creature to stop me from generating mana?
@DanStaley A bit pedantic, but sure, I've updated to reflect that.
Dec
10
comment Can an opponent bolt a mana-generating creature to stop me from generating mana?
@murgatroid99 You're absolutely right. I've clarified this because ambiguous opening sentences piss me off too. :-)
Dec
10
comment Can an opponent bolt a mana-generating creature to stop me from generating mana?
@doppelgreener This question deals with mana abilities, which is a special case of activated abilities.
Dec
8
comment Annotating “brilliant moves” and “blunders” in chess games
You could just as easily rephrase this as "is there a way to objectively determine an annotation for a chess move" and remove software. It shouldn't be closed, but reworded to be more within the realm of the site. Even if the question is inspired by software, if the question is about the algorithm it's totally legit.
Dec
7
comment Can you sacrifice Animate Dead AND the creature it enchants?
But don't worry, you're attacking with Emrakul. You're probably going to win anyway.
Dec
6
comment What can I sacrifice for Champion of Stray Souls' ability?
@DavidZ that's because there's nothing specific about the card. It lets you sacrifice creatures. This rule tells you what you can sacrifice.
Dec
4
comment Can't find the rules for Game of Life 1991 UK version
Excellent, that was going to be my next suggestion. I was surfing EBay trying to find a good version to do just that, but it was like 4am my time so I had to get to bed. :)
Dec
4
comment Can King Macar the Gold-Cursed be tapped without attacking?
@IvoBeckers Which is nice, because you get the golem for an extra mana. :-D
Nov
28
comment How to tell rarity of old magic cards?
archive.wizards.com/Magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/mm/… - specifically, the 8th footnote.
Nov
28
comment How to tell rarity of old magic cards?
If your answer is literally a link to another answer, it's not an answer - the question is a duplicate.
Nov
24
comment If Ink-Eyes brings a creature back and then her owner loses in a multiplayer game, does the rezzed creature go to graveyard?
The second player could bring it back with something like Ruin Processor, right? Since it's exiled and owned by OP?
Nov
21
comment Why would anyone use Necromancer's Assistant?
My thought is he means "Even dies to Geistflame" or "Dies to an Eldrazi Scion" instead of "You need Stonefury to kill it". I'd be happy to trade just about any of my opponent's card to kill the body of Necromancer's Assistant, honestly. I already got what I wanted out of it, filling up the graveyard.
Nov
18
comment When are players obligated to tell their opponent that the storm count is wrong?
"The number of any type of objects present in any game zone." and, more generally, " information to which all players are entitled access, but opponents are not obliged to assist in determining and may require some skill or calculation to determine." So if whether or not a creature is on the battlefield is free information, but the number of creatures is not, it stands to reason that the listing of spells cast this turn is free, but the number is not.