4,203 reputation
1138
bio website none
location Calgary, AB, Canada
age 28
visits member for 3 years, 8 months
seen 2 days ago

profile for corsiKa on Stack Exchange, a network of free, community-driven Q&A sites

Moderator on sqa.stackexchange - we welcome your QA questions!

Are you a part-time or freelance graphic designer looking for a lightweight project? I'm looking for some sprites :) hit me up at racket.game@gmail.com

Formally known as "glowcoder".

Seasonally known as "corsiKlause Ho Ho Ho".


Nov
28
comment When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?
There is only ever one Stack, but the concept of a stack is not unique to Magic. If OP is familiar with the properties of a stack, he may assume (incorrectly) all of those properties apply to "the Stack".
Nov
28
comment When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?
It's worth noting that technically, every element in a stack is the root of another stack entirely contained within its parent stack. So every stack is parent to n-1 substacks where n is the size of the original stack.
Nov
26
comment Mishra's Factory - Rarity and Peasant/Pauper Legality
@ikegami you mean prompts the question =) begs the question would mean the answer assumes it is allowed as an uncommon as an accepted fact for the answer, and then proceeds to prove that it is allowed as an uncommon (which would be rather silly, of course).
Nov
18
comment What is the ability Flash about?
You're right, I don't get to decide what you can and can't downvote. But that doesn't mean that your arguments for why you chose to downvote are logically sound (not that they need to be, granted) and actually you could construct a reasoned argument why given your stated reasons your downvote is actually unethical. Strange, but true. It is far beyond the scope of this comment, so we'll have to agree to disagree, but I really think you should do some soulsearching on it. Or not. I'm not a cop.
Nov
18
comment What is the ability Flash about?
You're a developer, are you honestly going to say you've never read documentation that spelled things out perfectly but you were still confused afterward? It happens sometimes. And honestly, a lot of people mentally tense up when they get to the CR. They assume it's so complicated they could never really understand it. In any case, it isn't prudent to downvote a question based on comments. Comments are second class citizens on Stack Exchange.
Nov
18
comment What is the ability Flash about?
@Rainbolt it's quite clear where his confusion is. You and I know flash means "you can play this card at instant speed", but he is reading it to mean "you can play any creature at instant speed while this card is on the battlefield", which is a not-completely-crazy interpretation of the wiki text.
Nov
17
comment Are activated abilities only abilities with mana costs?
The trick is... if it has a colon, it's an activated ability.
Nov
13
comment Can Skullcrack's damage be prevented?
I suspect his confusion is that if they all happen at the same time, the skullcrack damage might not "see" the game-defining characteristic of damage not being prevented. You and I know that's not the appropriate interpretation, but I suspect that's what's occurring.
Nov
6
comment Does the attack or defender decide the order of damage assignment to blockers?
Semantics aside, I tend to conceptualize the damage-assignment order as the blocking-order, just that the attacker chooses that order. I could be in the minority on this opinion.
Nov
5
comment If both players are killed at the same time, do they both die?
One other thought I had was that the title on this question isn't what's actually happening... they aren't at the same time. However, an effect could happen at the same time, such as "all players lose 1 life" when they're all at one life. That would cause a draw. It's not what the OP is actually asking in his question, but it IS what the title is asking.
Nov
5
comment If both players are killed at the same time, do they both die?
What made you put the line about "your draw step" - I don't see anything in the post that talks about that. Considering the question is about 'draws' in a completely different context, that line might be confusing.
Nov
4
comment Can Fog Bank be killed by combat damage?
Relevant is using Fog Bank to block something with lifelink causes no life to be gained, since the damage never happened. Same with deathtouch - no deathtouch damage is dealt. If Fog Bank blocks Sengir Vampire, and then you shock it later in the turn, Vampire does not get a +1/+1 counter. Stuff like that.
Nov
3
comment Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
So, outside the game, err, favors, totally permitted within the rules?
Oct
24
comment How many Diabolic Tutors is too many?
Diabolic Tutor is a classic example of a weeder card: a card that seems really good to a beginner, but much much less appealing to an experienced player.
Oct
9
comment Two Player Draft Formats
@bengoesboom seeing as many cards have 3 mana pips in them, you kind of need 3. Besides, you need 15 land in a 30 card deck if you reliable want 7 mana out on turn 7, which you usually do. the 40% rule breaks down on decks that small.
Oct
9
comment Predator's Rapport and counters
@Jefromi You do need to know about layers if the creature in question is an Ogre. Because Ogres are like onions: they have layers.
Sep
22
comment Can my opponent and I decide on a victory condition to avoid a draw?
I'm just saying that because the life totals are part of the game (while rock paper scissors are not) that opens the door for confusion among players who may consider life total to be a perfectly valid victory condition when they're actually committing a penalty. This confusion could easily arise even from the July 2014 edition of the IPG.
Sep
22
comment Can my opponent and I decide on a victory condition to avoid a draw?
As I read the player's guide (that I found here: blogs.magicjudges.org/whatsupdocs/mipg/4-unsporting-conduct/… ) I'm not sure this answer is supported. The four examples they mention as against this rule are: coin flipping, dice rolling, arm wrestling, and rock-paper-scissors, and the phrase "outside-the-game" is mentioned multiple times. In fact, in single-elimination tournaments, life total is the tie-breaker.
Sep
19
comment Can I use tokens and basic lands from outside my format?
I've even seen token starved folks use dice for their tokens (sometimes a 6 means a 6/6, other times a 6 means 6 of whatever token it represents...), with their position representing tapped vs untapped vs summoning sickness. I don't recommend it because it forces you to remember so much more, but it does work in a pinch.
Sep
17
comment Can you destroy your own starbases?
Be me. See Eclipse tag. Almost flag to move to Stack Overflow. Realize I'm dumb. Post comment saying so.