Reputation
4,443
Next tag badge:
273/400 score
42/80 answers
Badges
11 39
Newest
 Nice Answer
Impact
~357k people reached

Nov
18
comment What is the ability Flash about?
You're a developer, are you honestly going to say you've never read documentation that spelled things out perfectly but you were still confused afterward? It happens sometimes. And honestly, a lot of people mentally tense up when they get to the CR. They assume it's so complicated they could never really understand it. In any case, it isn't prudent to downvote a question based on comments. Comments are second class citizens on Stack Exchange.
Nov
18
comment What is the ability Flash about?
@Rainbolt it's quite clear where his confusion is. You and I know flash means "you can play this card at instant speed", but he is reading it to mean "you can play any creature at instant speed while this card is on the battlefield", which is a not-completely-crazy interpretation of the wiki text.
Nov
17
comment Are activated abilities only abilities with mana costs?
The trick is... if it has a colon, it's an activated ability.
Nov
13
comment Can Skullcrack's damage be prevented?
I suspect his confusion is that if they all happen at the same time, the skullcrack damage might not "see" the game-defining characteristic of damage not being prevented. You and I know that's not the appropriate interpretation, but I suspect that's what's occurring.
Nov
6
comment Does the attack or defender decide the order of damage assignment to blockers?
Semantics aside, I tend to conceptualize the damage-assignment order as the blocking-order, just that the attacker chooses that order. I could be in the minority on this opinion.
Nov
5
comment If both players are killed at the same time, do they both die?
One other thought I had was that the title on this question isn't what's actually happening... they aren't at the same time. However, an effect could happen at the same time, such as "all players lose 1 life" when they're all at one life. That would cause a draw. It's not what the OP is actually asking in his question, but it IS what the title is asking.
Nov
5
comment If both players are killed at the same time, do they both die?
What made you put the line about "your draw step" - I don't see anything in the post that talks about that. Considering the question is about 'draws' in a completely different context, that line might be confusing.
Nov
4
comment Can Fog Bank be killed by combat damage?
Relevant is using Fog Bank to block something with lifelink causes no life to be gained, since the damage never happened. Same with deathtouch - no deathtouch damage is dealt. If Fog Bank blocks Sengir Vampire, and then you shock it later in the turn, Vampire does not get a +1/+1 counter. Stuff like that.
Nov
3
comment Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
So, outside the game, err, favors, totally permitted within the rules?
Oct
24
comment How many Diabolic Tutors is too many?
Diabolic Tutor is a classic example of a weeder card: a card that seems really good to a beginner, but much much less appealing to an experienced player.
Oct
9
comment Two Player Draft Formats
@bengoesboom seeing as many cards have 3 mana pips in them, you kind of need 3. Besides, you need 15 land in a 30 card deck if you reliable want 7 mana out on turn 7, which you usually do. the 40% rule breaks down on decks that small.
Oct
9
comment Predator's Rapport and counters
@Jefromi You do need to know about layers if the creature in question is an Ogre. Because Ogres are like onions: they have layers.
Sep
22
comment Can my opponent and I decide on a victory condition to avoid a draw?
I'm just saying that because the life totals are part of the game (while rock paper scissors are not) that opens the door for confusion among players who may consider life total to be a perfectly valid victory condition when they're actually committing a penalty. This confusion could easily arise even from the July 2014 edition of the IPG.
Sep
22
comment Can my opponent and I decide on a victory condition to avoid a draw?
As I read the player's guide (that I found here: blogs.magicjudges.org/whatsupdocs/mipg/4-unsporting-conduct/… ) I'm not sure this answer is supported. The four examples they mention as against this rule are: coin flipping, dice rolling, arm wrestling, and rock-paper-scissors, and the phrase "outside-the-game" is mentioned multiple times. In fact, in single-elimination tournaments, life total is the tie-breaker.
Sep
19
comment Can I use tokens and basic lands from outside my format?
I've even seen token starved folks use dice for their tokens (sometimes a 6 means a 6/6, other times a 6 means 6 of whatever token it represents...), with their position representing tapped vs untapped vs summoning sickness. I don't recommend it because it forces you to remember so much more, but it does work in a pinch.
Sep
17
comment Can you destroy your own starbases?
Be me. See Eclipse tag. Almost flag to move to Stack Overflow. Realize I'm dumb. Post comment saying so.
Sep
15
comment Is older MTG Online client not supported any more?
@dnLL You seem surprised that complex software has bugs. For a company that isn't a software company, I'm surprised there aren't more bugs, honestly.
Sep
5
comment Why did Experiment One not get a counter when my Undying creature returned to play?
There's usually a couple glitches a year that I'm aware of. I don't know of any computer system with thousands of unique object families (each mechanic is essentially an object family) that interact with each other and somehow limits the number of bugs to "a couple a year". I have enterprise apps with a few dozen object families that would dream of having as few bugs as MTGO does.
Sep
3
comment In what order should I present the basics of Magic?
How long is your presentation? If it's 5 minutes, you might need a lot fewer sections.
Aug
28
comment Does Grindclock's counter reset when it's activated?
@StephenWinburn Actually, while the power 9 are certainly overpowered, the real reason they are not reprinted is due to their being on the reserved list. If you're looking for an example of a card that won't be reprinted --only-- for power level reasons, I would consider Jace the Mind Sculptor as your posterboy. To quote Mark Rosewater "Standard has never been at a power level where Jace, the Mind Sculptor was not over powered. (Well, maybe Standard with Urza’s Saga block.)"