4,031 reputation
1137
bio website none
location Calgary, AB, Canada
age 27
visits member for 3 years, 5 months
seen 1 hour ago

profile for corsiKa on Stack Exchange, a network of free, community-driven Q&A sites

Moderator on sqa.stackexchange - we welcome your QA questions!

Are you a part-time or freelance graphic designer looking for a lightweight project? I'm looking for some sprites :) hit me up at racket.game@gmail.com

Formally known as "glowcoder".

Seasonally known as "corsiKlause Ho Ho Ho".


Jan
15
comment Is it practical for the visually-impaired to play in casinos?
@Pow-Ian That's actually a written rule. "Players may refer to Oracle text, either electronically or in paper form, at any time. They must do so publicly and in a format (such as gatherer.wizards.com, other official Wizards of the Coast sources, or printouts of their sources) which contains no other strategic information. If a player wishes to view Oracle text in private, he or she must ask a judge." I know you were referring to kitchen-table magic, not tournament magic, but still the spirit applies.
Jan
9
comment Do I use the original start tile when playing The River?
So what do you start with? And what are the ramifications of starting with the original tile verses the accepted alternative? And what should happen to the original tile?
Jan
3
comment How quickly does a player have to say “Uno” to avoid drawing exta cards?
Being that she's your fiancée, she is correct in that she makes the rules. If it wasn't for that rule, gaming amongst significant others wouldn't happen. =)
Jan
3
comment In Magic: the Gathering, what is being gathered?
That lawyer also was probably not in today's legal world, where "Scrolls" is not too broad of a word to trademark, and Facebook has a trade mark on both "face" and "book".
Jan
3
comment Put twice as many tokens/counters
Doing all its counters at once will cause it to kill itself between when you activate the ability and when it resolves, as it will temporarily be 0 toughness and die to state based effects. However, if you activate it once for 1 and let it resolve, and repeat this process for as many times as you would have done it before, you'll be just fine. You can do this as many times as you have mana for, because it doesn't require a tap. Also, if someone countered your activated ability, or destroyed the creature, you'd only waste one mana on it instead of three or more. =)
Jan
2
comment Are gates too slow for constructed play?
Minor nitpick: Lands are played, not cast. Spells are cast. :-)
Dec
24
comment When does “Targeting” happen in MTG?
Reader's Digest condensed version: the spell checks for "targetability" both when it is cast and when it resolves.
Dec
18
comment What card game is popular today, fun for kids, and is a worthy investment at a reasonable cost to my wallet?
Magic cards will by far be the better investment, but beware - Magic is always trying to reprint old cards. Thoughtseize was printed in a recent expansion: its median price was around $60 for the version printed in the Lorwyn expansion. That same card is only worth $40, and the version printed most recently is around $15 to $20.
Dec
18
comment What card game is popular today, fun for kids, and is a worthy investment at a reasonable cost to my wallet?
Magic expansions occur 4 times a year, in addition to their supplemental products. I also have to disagree with the 'can't touch this' philosophy - virtually all serious Magic players sleeve their cards, and it's even mandated in many tournaments that your cards be sleeved. A properly sleeved card will retain its condition for a very long time, probably longer than you will play the card in standard formats (2 years).
Dec
13
comment Are there more cards like Boseiju, Who Shelters All for non-mana costs?
Searching for "spend this mana" would be another avenue with very similar templating, however that too yields only Cavern of Soul style effects: they decide what you can spend the mana on, but they do not confer any bonuses to what you spend the mana on like Boseiju and Hall do.
Dec
6
comment Double strike and Regeneration: Can the blocker die from combat after regeneration?
@BrianS Of course it will. It's already assigned lethal damage but still has damage to deal. My comment was merely that the flavor of double strike would be better if the second strike got through even without trample if the first strike damage was sufficient to cause lethal damage.
Dec
6
comment How would first strike and deathtouch interact with multiple blockers in this scenario?
You have a creature with first strike and death touch and two auras on it? You don't have to worry about its mechanics. It's about to get doom bladed.
Dec
5
comment Doubt about Hissing Miasma
The number of triggers can matter, too. Consider Exquisite Blood and Archangel of Thune. If your opponent attacks with 4 creatures, you get 4 +1/+1 counters since you gained 1 life 4 times. If your opponent lost 4 life for the attackers all in one shot, you'd gain 4 life 1 time, which would mean you'd only get 1 +1/+1 counter. Swinging into some 1/1's that just turned into 5/5's would be devastating! :-O
Dec
5
comment Double strike and Regeneration: Can the blocker die from combat after regeneration?
This remains true even for double strike. Double strike simply gives you an additional round of damage to deal, it does not alter it's blocked status. I personally think the flavor would be better if its regular combat damage step damage made it through if the blocker was killed in the first strike damage step, but in terms of game mechanics, I think it's better for it to remain as written: blocked is blocked is blocked.
Nov
19
comment Is this a split pot?
I'm assuming neither player has a flush? There could be AQ987 flush for your opponent or QJ987 for you.
Nov
18
comment Is this a split pot?
The 'side' cards are also known as 'kickers'
Nov
3
comment How much time do I get to read a card before I counter it?
@BlueRaja When I play MTGO, I can spend as much time as I want to decide to counter something or not. If I want to spend all 30 minutes of my time deciding to counter his opening mystic druid (even if I have no land out yet or anything) I can do that!
Oct
23
comment How many illusions will Lightning Bolt and Wild Ricochet to get rid of?
Ah, so we're looking at... Bolt, Bear A's trigger, Ricochet, pass priority with no shenanigans on any account, Bolt redirect (B's trigger) and Bolt copy (C's trigger), B and C sac, copy fizzles because C is gone, A sac, bolt fizzles because B is gone. Is that right?
Oct
23
comment How many illusions will Lightning Bolt and Wild Ricochet to get rid of?
Allow me to rephrase my followup question then: Do you have a citation for Bear A being sacrificed after Bears B and C, and not being sacrificed immediately after the original Bolt is announced, paid for, cast and goes on the stack?
Oct
23
comment How many illusions will Lightning Bolt and Wild Ricochet to get rid of?
Two things: 1) you could change the order by targeting bear A with something else, which according to your answer would cause it to be sacrificed first. 2) Do you have a citation for them being sacrificed as the spell tries to resolve and not when the spell is announced?