3,104 reputation
21643
bio website jsbangs.com
location United States
age 32
visits member for 4 years
seen Oct 27 at 18:14

I have a degree in Linguistics, but I work as a programmer. Most of my expertise about English is self-taught, plus lots of random trivia I've acquired here and there.

This is my favorite EL&U comment ever:

This isn't really a question about English so much as a question about hugs. Source


Sep
19
awarded  Notable Question
Aug
6
accepted Will Elesh Norn kill creatures if I don't pay the extra cost for Flash?
Aug
5
asked Will Elesh Norn kill creatures if I don't pay the extra cost for Flash?
Jul
28
awarded  Famous Question
Jul
26
awarded  Citizen Patrol
Jul
22
accepted Factory bonus when some supply piles are exhausted
Jul
22
comment Factory bonus when some supply piles are exhausted
That is pretty darn clear. The person holding the rulebook in our game didn't notice the example for some reason, and so we ruled that I got the bonus anyway.
Jul
22
comment In Texas Hold'em, who is awarded second and third place in this scenario?
Only moderators can migrate questions, but you can simply re-ask the question over there and then delete this one.
Jul
22
comment In Texas Hold'em, who is awarded second and third place in this scenario?
This could, in principle, go here, but I think it will be much better served at poker.stackexchange.com
Jul
21
asked Factory bonus when some supply piles are exhausted
Jul
17
revised Does an activated ability resolve if the card with the ability is returned to its owner's hand?
added 25 characters in body
Jul
17
answered Does an activated ability resolve if the card with the ability is returned to its owner's hand?
Jul
11
awarded  Popular Question
Jul
9
comment How do you pronounce Agricola?
@BlueRaja-DannyPflughoeft, right, and those are the vowel in "greed", not the vowel in "grid".
Jul
9
comment How do you pronounce Agricola?
Actually, Eric is right about the IPA and you are wrong. The symbol /i/ is EE, not IH, as the very Wikipedia link you gave points out.
Jun
13
awarded  Nice Question
Jun
9
comment How does Infinite Reflection work with Commander and commander damage?
In the second game, all of the protagonist's creatures immediately go into the graveyard after you cast Infinite Reflection on the commander, due to the legend rule.
May
25
revised Hexproof on an opponent's creature
corrected grammar, added clarification
May
25
awarded  Nice Answer
May
2
comment Why play Land Grant?
#4 amuses me. I don't know of a Storm deck that has ever needed G, but of course that wouldn't stop you, would it? You just reveal this card, search for a Forest (and fail to find it), then go about your business.